We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended restaurant”

Duo Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Having a great passion for the kitchen and service, brother and sister have teamed up together as your hosts, putting together some dazzling and tasty combinations, in a relaxed, simple and friendly atmosphere.The concept behind ’Duo’ is quite simple ….. to offer its patrons an overall magical experience.
1 review
“Recommended restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Helpful & kind staff,very delicious food and very nice atmosphere.great service of course.will visit again for sure.we really enjoyed it.recommended 10/10

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    98
    23
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best on the island”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Discovered this jewel with two nights to go on our holiday so we were able to go back and have two meals there. Great attention to detail in all that the restaurant does great value. If you are in the NW of the island you must go there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanB56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“DUO - our new "place to be" when in Malta”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Since I discovered "Duo" being on holiday in St. Pauls Bay/Qawra two years ago, I already came back twice - every time when I've been to Malta. The restaurant offers really fresh and "special" food - not the usual "British style" with fish 'n chips... We really enjoyed sitting outside at the small "lounge" with kind of a private atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Claudia28477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
220 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“creativity has to be treasured”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor at Duo's for years.

The passion and attention for the food is always a joy to experience. Presentationwise the food is creative as well as the choice of ingredients. Refreshing choices on an otherwise so safe island ;)

I applaud the offer of many vegetable dishes. The potatoes are the best in its sort that i have ever eaten.

Sometimes the portions are simply too big as a starter. But if THAT is my only critisism... let's wave that one away.

Service is always very friendly. I will come back on my next visits..... of course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank elcorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A gem of a discovery”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were holidaying in Qawra, and walked passed the restaurant which although on the main road was shielded from outside view by a conservatory type informal seating area and outdoor bar/eating area.
The restaurant is really clean and full of quirky ornaments which make good conversation starters.

The serving staff are pleasant without being over attentive, which is really nice. The kitchen can be observed from the restaurant through a partially glazed window, which enables you to see the staff working but doesn't distract you from talking to the people you are out with.

The food is really good - well cooked, well presented and really tasty. We went there twice in our weeks stay in Qwara, and whilst on the second visit, I could have repeated my original order, was really glad I tried something different. The menu is not extensive which I feel keeps the quality good and the portions are a really nice size which leaves you feeling nicely fed at the end and not offer stuffed if that makes sense!

I would have no hesitation in recommending the restaurant to anyone. Price wise, it is definitely good value for money. We were a couple and had three courses and a bottle of wine and we spent about 45 - 50 euros. Affordable posh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank lesley i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Duo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing