We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant and Bar with atmosphere and character”

The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Restaurant and Bar with atmosphere and character”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It would be difficult to find any fault with this restaurant, on our first visit we were immediately made to feel welcome which of course encouraged us to adopt it as our local. The menu was varied and all the meals were excellently presented and deliciously tasting and all at very attractive prices.
John who is the owner/chef is deserving of UK tv series and Joan his wife makes any evening complete.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    158
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“first class consistancy.....”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff? Always smiling and soooo welcoming. I live locally, and have been quite a few times, and it never fails to please. We went in a couple of nights back, Joan the owner was at the table, I said "my wife Carolyn has lost her voice with her cold" she said without missing a beat, "you must be a very happy man then". That is a reflection of the ambiance and relaxed atmosphere.

The food? Never had to question a meal. Steaks generous in size, and always cooked a proper medium rare, and the sauces, so delicious. It's a kind of consistency of quality that makes it a pleasure to visit, without any doubts about the food, service or smiles.

We have booked for Valentines tomorrow evening, and again, expecting a perfect evening with John and Joan as hosts. Thank you for all your hard work, truly appreciated

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishop auckland
1 review
“great place for something to eat and a good laugh”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

very friendly people who work hard and try their best to make you feel welcome. You find you often wind up there of an evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stinkerdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Friendly, helpful and good value. Nice food too! We arrived quite late, but we were made very welcome.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Briliant place”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very cozy, restful place.The staff was cheerfull, after dinner we got the extra shot of homemade herbal drink. Meal was very delicious. The Chief was walking around the tables and asks everyone about the meal, holidays ant etc. Lovely place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edvinukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing