We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“same as usual”

The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“same as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

back in qawra again and a must visit again to see john and joan at the plum tree this time with our granddaughters the food again was excelent as usual we were meant to be half board but had to eat there most nights john ,joan and their staff were so attentive as usual, our granddaughters really wanted us to back every as they had so much fun with joan , oh john jaz still raves about he chicken nug nugs the best she has tasted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    153
    35
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were in Qawra for two weeks during which The Plum Tree was closed because the owners had been in the UK for their daughter's graduation (congratulations!). However they reopened on our very last night and I have to say that the food, service, cleanliness, good value and general ambience brought home the fact that we had been accepting high-priced mediocrity for 13 days.
Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Family-operated, great good and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

While many of our experiences in Malta were lacking in terms of customer service, dinner at The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant was definitely an exception. It was only after our meal that we learned the restaurant was family-owned and operated by a husband and wife team. For the last 19 years he has been the Chef and she manages front-of-house operations. Not only was the food prepared with care and very tasty (we very much enjoyed the Avocado salad and tuna steak daily special), but the service was wonderful. This restaurant will provide you with a Maltese dining experience that doesn't leave you feeling like an unappreciated tourist. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A true gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Based on Tripavdisors reviews, we decided to give this place a try. It was well worth it. Friendly atmosphere, and really really good food. We all had their maltese specialities. The ravioli was good, the stewed octopus was amazing.

For desert, a maltese speciality and an italizian cream & almound desert, both amazingly good. And their coffee, one of the best cups!

Our problem now is that we really want to eat at different restaurants in Malta, but this gem is situated only 3 minutes walk from our restaurant, and have several dishes we would love to try again. They most definitely deserve a visit! Come early, or book. The fill up...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteinarE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“PLUM TREE MAGIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The best resturant in that part of the island without a doubt. We have been regular visitors to Malta for over 15 years and would not eat anywhere else, it's simply fantastic and the Maltese specials are a must. Great service, great prices, truly wonderful staff and two fantastic hosts, John & Joan. If you are going to Qawra or Buggibba, don's miss out on a very special place and go to the Plum Tree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h0lidayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing