We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”

The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $58
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Easily the best food i had out there. My steak was cooked to perfection and the meat was of good quality. Nice atmospher, friendly staff. My family all enjoyed their meals as well and there is a great range on the menu so there is most definitely something for everyone. If possible i would have eaten here every night, however, it is a little pricey so large families on a strict budget may want to avoid. Although, to miss out on a restaurant of this quality, that cooks well using fresh and, at times, imaginative, ingredients, would be a great shame.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    159
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bugibba, null, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It could not be better!!! A must to try.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We where four togehter, we felt like doing something unusual that night and refiused the menu. Instead we spoke with the chef John and told him to serve us some of his specialities. He brought several finger lickin dishes and for a good value for money. He met our expectations. Well done and KEEP IT UP!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just back from out first trip to Malta. Dined in the first five restaurants rated in Trip Advisor. All were excellent, but The Plum Tree certainly deserves the gold star. Fish cooked to perfection and steaks so tender. We only ate there twice but if we had been staying longer than a week we would have been there every night. The staff were as other reviewers say are warm friendly, very likeable people. Make this a must during your stay in Qawra

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureen52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have been eating in this restaurant for a number of years and cannot praise it enough. No matter what I choose from the pretty extensive menu it is cooked to perfection and always tastes delicious. The atmosphere is friendly yet unobtrusive, staff are friendly and helpful and the service is excellent. The menu has more than enough choices for even the fussiest of eaters, with all food cooked fresh when ordered and is very competitively priced.
Whether it's brunch, lunch, dinner, snack or a special occasion the Plumtree will not disappoint you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“we eat their every week”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Joan and John are friendly, warm, inviting, good food, great steaks. good prices, we live here and do eat ther all the time,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing