We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“malta october 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clover Holiday Complex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clover Holiday Complex
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“malta october 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

booked 2 bed superior and found this good value, appartment was spacious and clean and same was cleaned every day except sunday, towels etc were changed on a regular basis,overall very satisfied.
Pool was tiny so not many sunbeds but not a problem as went to beaches most days.
Staff were friendly and helpful on reception, bar was dead most of the time probably because aircon was not on so it was like an oven.
In short would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buckr0dgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    78
    51
    27
    35
See reviews for
50
123
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Returned for second time in three years and not much had changed.We were in room 3102
which was a large one bedroom apartment and the only downside was no air con but ceiling fan in the bedroom and portable fan in the living area.This was our fault as we should have booked room with air con. It must cost the hotel more in electricity running the fans than installing air con especially has we had our fans on all day and night.
Even though the room was hot during the night do not leave your windows open as this will attract mosies,
If you are looking for a peacful hotel at a good price this is the one for you.

John & Sue in Torquay

Room Tip: Book a room with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suej0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from Malta. I was very unsure about booking these apartments because of some of the comments. I can not believe they had been to the same place. OK, it is true that they need updating but they are spotlessly clean, linen and towels changed regularly and we had a sea view - what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank POLLYDYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forfar, scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice hotel, stayed in studio room, no air con, but did have fan & fridge, studio in need of refurb, but ideal as a base(only 250m from Buggiba bus terminal) Stayed with friends celebrating a birthday and thouroughly enjoyed our stay - I will be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrewandybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Returned from 1st october from our 7 day trip and a wonderful relaxing week. Were worried after reading reviews before we left but were pleasantly suprised. We booked a superior room with air con which we needed it worked fine. Room spotless and maid in everyday with fresh towels and beds changed twice. At side of hotel but ok. Staff friendly and busy keeping the place clean. Yes it was dated but what do you expect for the money. Near to sea and shops, bus station with plenty of places to eat. .

Room Tip: air con and higher floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronald j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist, he was elderly and was very pleasant. He joked lots and always had a smile on his face even when we woke him up at all hours of the night during our stay. He was like the silence before the storm. After we had checked in we were shown to our room, 2007.

As we walked into the room we were hit by a musky smell that reminded me of mould. The room was fairly basic and a bit out dated, there wasnt alot of sockets in the room but the 3 pin sockets saved the hassle of finding a converter adapter. I had requested a non smoking room with sea views. The room we were given was on the ground floor and was smoking and the views of a back wall weren't exactly what id hoped for. We went to reception to complain and asked if it was possible to move rooms, the receptionist said that the woman that dealt with the bookings would be there the following morning but that he wasn't authorised to change bookings. We accepted this and went back to the room.

The following morning we went back to reception where we were met by the rudest, most arrogant receptionist you are ever likely to encounter. We asked that we be allowed to change rooms because we had requested sea views, non smoking. The receptionist called us liars, she said that she had got no requests for sea views because if she had got it we would have sea views. I continued to explain to her that i had made the booking and i knew what id booked, she was defiant and even when i produced a print out to show that the requests had been made she refused to accept that she was wrong. she said no rooms were available anyway (and was very smug in saying so) so we had to stay where we were.

The pool area was reasonably small although most of the sun loungers were always free and the sun deck had more loungers to accommodate people. The hotel was in a quiet area not far from town and was a short walk to the bus station and sea front and this was a bonus, although the hotel itself wasnt very lively as nobody really stayed around, probably due to a mixture of poor entertainment and questionable staff.

The hotels bar "The Cornish Arms" can only be described as "diabolical". There was a dog tied up behind the bar, the one drink i did buy there (an orange juice) was months out of date and when we brought it to the bar mans attention he apologised before giving us another orange juice... which was also out of date.

It rained really heavily one day of our trip and due to lack of options we decided we would try the cornish arms for a meal. We entered the bar where we were left standing for approx 5 mins while the barman played "World of Warcraft" on his laptop despite seeing us enter the bar and despite the fact that we were just the opposite side of the counter. When we asked for a menu at the bar we were told "there is no food today because im on my own and I cant work the bar and the kitchen"... we were the only ones in the bar.

The cleaners at the hotel were very good and the beds and towels were changed daily.

I tried to think of more positives to put in here before i went on another rant but unfortunately I couldnt so here we go again - on the 2nd or 3rd day of our stay we discovered ants in the apartment which I suppose is sort of to be expected in a ground floor apartment in a hot country, however when we found a cockroach in a shoe it was the final straw.

In summing up the experience I would say "If you pay peanuts, You get monkeys" because yes the clover complex is very cheap and if you are planning a short trip on a budget and are not too fussed about your accommodation by all means go to the clover. However, if you are planning a romantic trip or a relaxing break this probably isnt the place for you.

Loved the island and all it had to offer but would probably not go back to the clover for future trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank O K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony X, Owner at Clover Holiday Complex, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We have to assume that you, according to our records, arrived on the 30th August and left on the 7th September, 2012 and stayed in unit 2007. You have booking not direct with us but through an Agency. They have made a reservation on your behalf (booking number 360534), requesting a superior studio unit for two adults. That is all we had and that is what we confirmed to your booking agency.
1) We were not advised that you requested a sea view unit or that you wished a non-smoking unit. To start with all hotels in Malta are non-smoking by LAW in public areas but not in the units. We do not have units in a non-smoking environment. If your booking agency did make such requests on your behalf, we would have advised of this to them. Here again, if your booking agency requested a sea-view, we would have implemented your request. Should you wish a copy of the booking reservations, we would be happy to provide you with a copy.
2) I think your description of our receptionist is far from the truth by miles. She has been working with us for 16 years and NEVER and we mean NEVER has any client of what every age or standing, has ever pictured her as you have done. We believe that this uncalled for! In any case, she did show you the reservation booking we hold that was made by your booking agency on your behalf and you still refused to accept it. You also had the right to contact your booking agency and whether this was done by you, you have not stated in your report. It is IMPERATIVE to know that a) if it was an error on our part, this would have been rectified immediately and b) if we had a sea-view studio unit available (this is our peak season), rest assured that our VERY HELPFUL receptionist would have changed your unit, to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
3) As regards to the ants and the one cockroach, we wish to advise you that every six months the hotel is sprayed and disinfected as required by the local Tourist Authority (they do check this, we assure you). Unfortunately what comes from outside the complex is not what we wish for and hopefully you did not leave your ground floor door opened at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

WGC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Horrible, horrible hotel. The interior and exterior are very dated and we were overwhelmed by the musty, fusty smell in the general areas of the hotel. Our room was awful - one plug socket in the entire room, bottom of bed and wardrobe held together with tape, massive tears in bedding and curtains, brown stained pillow with cigarette burns, dripping tap & terribly equipped "kitchen". You have to pay 2E a day for TV - and you only get one English channel. The room, furniture and hotel generally are very tired and dated. We paid 7E a day for air-con but the mobile machine was so loud it kept us awake at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Holiday Complex

Property: Clover Holiday Complex
Address: Triq It Tartarun, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Qawra
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Clover Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Clover Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing