We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clover Holiday Complex
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just got back from The Clover Apartments. We had a lovely holiday in Malta. The people are so friendly, the staff are always happy and are willing to help with anything. We arrived late at night but the receptionist made us feel welcome straight away, Yes the rooms are basic and the hotel could do with a good renovation, but all in all you get exactly what you pay for. All we wanted was a stress free week away in the sun and thats exactly what we got, Tommy is lovely from The Cornish Arms (Pub atached to the hotel) and its nice to have someone to chat on with. Only thing is, we booked half board (only as it came up cheapest deal) but i wouldnt recommend it as there is so many wonderful restaurants with great prices close by and we only ate in the hotel twice. The location for the hotel is fantastic, five min walk into Bugibba, and a five min walk into Qawra. The views are fantastic! Weather was el scorchio so I would recommend a room with aircon, we only had a basic room so had a fan instead but it was fine for us! pool is lovely and refreshing, some days it was so quiet there was only us laid around it. All in all we had a fab holiday and I would go back in a heartbeat. The weather and people make it such a lovely place to go. Enjoy x

Room Tip: I would book a superior room if at all possible. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Get aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keely P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    78
    51
    27
    35
See reviews for
51
123
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

So this looks like a 1960s-1970s building that has never seen a brush of paint since the doors opened. However, the building is clean and kept in a good manner but is badly in need of a makeover. The pool is fine but the bar is franchised and the owner is an obnoxious individual and should be avoided at all costs, much better bars near bye. The location for me was awful and depressing, if you like endless apartment blocks then you will like it. If I ever came back to Malta again I would stay in Valletta or on west coast in Golden bay(where there is an actual beach)...oh and avoid room 4006... the smell in there is not good...cold not put my finger on it but I would say very very bad damp.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After seeing mixed reviews we were a little nervous of our late booking into the Clover Complex for our first tript o Malta. However our 2 bedroom superior apartment was very spacious & had everything we could possibly need for the 3 of us considering the good deal we got.
The location is very good - only 5 mins walk from the bars but just far enough away to avoid the noise.
The rooms were spotless with laundry changed every day bar Sunday.
The pool was also very clean and well maintained although there are no cushions on the sun beds - so take plenty towels.The only gripe we had was the lack of AC in the bedrooms & the weather was scorching! - As a result we slept in the lounge where the AC was a great relief. would definitely go to the Clover again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

When you arrive at the clover after a long and tiring journey, the last thing you want to hear is “ I’m sorry but you’re not booked in”…. don’t worry it’s only the receptionist attempt at humour which I have heard for several years.
This is what I like about the clover… nothing changes … the rooms are still tired and are in a desperate need to be dragged into the twentieth century … in fact nothing has changed in the years we have stayed here.
Why do we still keep returning … its probably the best located hotel in the St Pauls area.. Quiet at night, but only minuet’s away from all the amenities.. The staff are the best. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is also cleaned to the highest standards … the rooms are done daily, which when you are self-catering is unusual.
I may be doing the clover an injustice as since our visit last year they have repainted the front of the building , but to be honest to honest I won’t hold my breath in expecting a major refit,
The clover is our kind of hotel… it’s kind of laid back...a bit like Malta in general. But it’s not the bricks and mortar that makes it a great place t, it’s the people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keredNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were placed in this aparthotel by RCI we were not allowed to see the room before we signed in now we know why!! We have never stayed in any hotel in any country as bad as this. It was dirty, smelly and completely unhygenic. In fact we only stayed there for 2 nights anymore would have been unbearable, we then found another hotel totally different, clean tidy and very acceptable. I have taken 20 photographs of the state of the room we were given and it has been reported to RCI in an extensive letter.

Room Tip: Cannot think of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We last visited the Clover 4 years ago so were suprised to find all the same staff same as when we left..Thay are still smart,efficient and at all times helpfull at all times. The inside of the hotel is spotlessly clean and presentable;But sadly the exterior is sadly drab and neglected especially
the sun-deck.Also sun-loungers without cushions are a waste of time so were rarely used.
Finally---The biggest PR disaster of the century so far is the demise of the Malta Bus. Maltas biggest attraction replaced by soulless,boring Arriva----absolutely crazy.

Room Tip: superior roomsworth the extra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Ideal place to stay for exploring the island. Not the ritz but as you can see by reviews you get what you pay for and although dated very clean. We stayed for 2wks from 3rd-17th May. Clean towels daily except Sundays+clean sheets twice a wk,rooms basic but sufficient,we had air con, microwave,huge fridge+adequate cooker. All staff very nice + helpful especially Joseph the nightshift receptionist who works 7pm till 7am and didnt mind getting anything or letting us in after 12mn when they lock the doors. Lovely gentleman !! Definately visit Tommy in his bar which is part of the complex. Its called the Cornish Arms and his prices for food and drink are excellent !Again not the ritz but nice food+same alchohol as anywhere else just cheaper ! We arrived10pm our 1st night and altho food was finished made us ham,eggs+chips as we were starving. He is good company aswell once he's finished cooking+we had 3or4 late nights having good laughs with other residents - he closes when last people go to bed 1 of which was 6 of us at 4.30am !! Was good night 6 residents not very well next day ! All in all we enjoyed our first trip to Malta and may return again next yr. if we do would stay at Clover again.

Room Tip: book superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynKdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qawra Point Holiday Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Holiday Complex

Property: Clover Holiday Complex
Address: Triq It Tartarun, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clover Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Clover Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing