We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THERE IS PLENTY OF HOT WATER”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“THERE IS PLENTY OF HOT WATER”
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This hotel is in urgent need of upgrading, the rooms are dirty and in need of a good clean. The bar area is uncomfortable and tired. The rooms originally shown are not what you get.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Texas52Music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    134
    105
    77
    56
See reviews for
159
188
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malinska, Croatia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Wery heavy humid air in the apartment. Low water pressure. Ugly view. All kinda ewwy. Tho it was rather clean. People were lets say ok. TV is small and so high that u should climb the kitchen counter to watch it normally.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank malomorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Came back last week from staying at Club Salina Wharf. We have been an owner here for 12 years and have always enjoyed being here. I think it is one of the nicest timeshares in Malta.
We arrived at 1am and the staff at the reception were very nice and David the guy who does a lot of cleaning around the complex and carrys your bags for you is very pleasant and never passes you when he sees you during the day.
We hired the taxi from the airport through Salina Wharf which cost 55 euros return, which we later found out would have been cheaper doing it ourselves at the airport, but arriving at 1am I just wanted to get to the complex and knowing someone was waiting at the airport for you made it a bit more easier.
The weather was really good with temperatures between 19 and 21 and people were in the pool at all different times of the day. The indoor pool is a big plus for this resort.
Our room which we had upgraded to 3 years ago was very nice, the only criticism is no balcony. The maid was in every day except Sunday. The food in the Owl and Pussycat was very good and reasonably priced. We only ate there once as we tend to go out for choice. Would highly recommend La Stalla - not too far from resort. Steaks and pizzas are excellent!
Entertainment not too bad, Martin (Elvis) and karaoke were quite good.
Will definitely be back especially in October - lovely and quite.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les2647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Unless you are 70 or over and like English-type bars, non healthy English food, and inescapable noise and traffic don't go ~ you can get similar in Southend on sea without travelling abroad.

We had a cool welcome and it went downhill from there. A miserable room with paper thin walls which enabled us to hear actual conversations in the adjacent rooms. (We felt we had to inform the people staying there that we could hear all they were saying) our view was very tall blocks of flats with peeling paint and balconies draped in washing.

Except for two people, the staff were disinterested and eye contact minimal, each time we collected or left our key at Reception, or asked for information, the food they were eating or whatever they were reading was obviously far more interesting than any contact from guests. We were not given any information on the facilities, nor on local shops, buses etc., at all, but as these were minimal, tired and drab, we soon realised that this was no loss.

There is only street parking if, like us, you hire a car. We were NOT warned not to use our car at weekend evenings as all the surrounding pubs, clubs and bars are full and cars parked everywhere. We returned at 10.00 pm after going out to dinner (eating on site is definitely not recommended unless you like a small, dark, noisy pub, atmosphere and limited menu) after circling the miriad of small streets all around for 30 minutes searching for a space, we parked ONE MILE (truly ~ one mile) away and walked back. Then of course sleep was impossible with the noise emanating from the hotel bar's entertainment ~ a singer who favoured old songs of Tom Jones, competing with the many bars around, to be heard, which even the noisy air conditioning failed to shut out.

It is a densely populated island with a disproportionate number of cars and driving around is no pleasure, as everyone drives in an aggressive and manic manner. The roads are in an appalling state, with many deep potholes and signage is poor. Even the hire car from Avis was dirty (inside) and battered.

The landscape is barren and rocky with no rivers, hills and few trees, and 90% of beaches are rocky and inaccessible, the few sandy ones cannot be seen for bodies.. There is a glaring lack of wildlife particularly birds, as a big sport is shooting, and birds large and tiny, even migratory birds such as eagles are shot with little regulation. There are many hides on the landscape and as there are few trees birds are very vulnerable.

Apart from the capital, Valetta, (definitely worth a long weekend visit) St Julian's and Sliema, and of course, the sun, Malta has little to offer unless you favour inferior food, noise, traffic, and the worst type of English culture.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lookglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We arrived after dark and were shown to an apartment on the ground floor facing outwards. Althrough the apartment was well equipped it smelt damp and had no views. Out of one bedroom window two enormous tanks about 3m high could be seen and the other bedroom had high windows with frosted glass. We requested another apartment and the following day were given a much more acceptable one. Like the first it was well equipped but had a very awkward arrangement with the kitchen sink having an inaccessible draining board and an unpleasant smell eminating from the plughole. One of the two terraces was surrounded by pipes reminiscent of an oil refinery .The resort itself was pleasant enough and the staff friendly. The bar was old fashioned, like a public bar in old pubs, dark, dingy and unwelcoming with wooden flooring. The bar staff were invariably pleasant. We did not use the restaurant. The pool was pleasant and the entertainment fun and quirky.
The hotel is close to the bus station and we used the buses on most days. We could recommend Salina Wharf if you do not have to stay in one of the ground floor apartments faing outwards.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyDSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed at the club salina wharf in January 2009, this was a very wet month and it rained half of our holiday. Despite this we were able to ensure we still had a compact holiday.
The hotel is RCI affiliated we were able to purchase weeks at the resort and upgrade our current status by a well presented knowledgable member of staff.

The rooms come well furnished with Satelite TVs, phones, cookers, fridge, microwaves, and well equipt bathrooms. Cleaning is done on a rotor basis by the maid and the rooms are very spacious depending on what area of the hotel you stay.

The complex has facilities for long stay winter breaks, on our visit we met couples who were staying at the resort from Nov to march so their presence for this long period is testimonial recommendation in itself .

The local bus stop to the main areas of the island is about 10 minutes slow walk. The sea is about 5 minutes walk away. The area is locally central to many bars and short walking distances to other hotels and clubs.

The club is in the process of being upgraded with plans to expand its facilities. There is no computer wifi however computers are available in the reception should the need be to send and receive mail etc.

The club has a indoor bar come restaurant which serves well presented food, snacks and meals at very reasonable prices.
We have found some members criticise some of the facilities and complaining all the time about rooms etc and we had our moans as well but the issues were addressed, maybe had others taken the time to present their views to the staff then their matters may well of been addressed also instead of complaining to other members.

Some facilities like outside swimming pool were closed due to the season and for cleaning.

HOT WATER , yes well it would of been nice if we had it all the time but we didnt, most rooms never had problems but we did, we complained and were advised they were aware of the problem, unusually enough the problem was soon resolved but it still came and went during our visit but this was probably because it was new accomodation.

The entertainment was limited during our visit but may of been due to us arriving out of season but what was on was found to be exciting.

Would we stay there again, well the answer is yes. we found the staff all very helpfull and can clearly see why people stay a long time, although our visit was brief compared with others we felt that we could easily of stayed longer.

We are well travelled and can rate this place high in our ratings and would recommend it.

  • Liked — Well presented clean modern spacious apartment
  • Disliked — variable hot water
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Delboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Stayed here in Sept 08 6 sharing an apartment on the ground floor But it went OK. the accomadation was roomy clean and pretty new. didnt spend much time round the pool. the only downside if any was eating at the resort it was dear and average. Far better deals out and about and good quality

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing