We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable week in Malta”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just returned from a week in the Salina Wharf and bearing in mind some earlier reviews must say we were very pleasantly surprised.
The apartment was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and regularly cleaned with clean towels provided (towels for the swimming pool available free (deposit) from reception).
All of the Staff very pleasant and helpful.
On site facilities good with an outdoor pool for daytime plus an indoor pool for evenings (up to 22:00) both have plenty of sun beds to lounge about on.
Did not use the bar or dining facilities as we either ate out or ate in apartment. but others that we spoke to had no complaints.
Bugibba/Quarra is a good area to use as a base to see all the sights in Malta and there are plenty of good places to eat locally also good supermarkets locally to buy any food or drink that you need (all within easy walking distance), there are the usual touts but no worse than any other resort annoying thing is that the expats are the worst as they do not seem able to understand the words not interested (on more than one occasion I almost resorted to other words) this does not apply to the local Maltese who ask once and accept a polite no thank you.
It should be noted that while we were staying construction works are being undertaken on a building opposite the complex and this can be a bit noisy occasionally, also there are road widening works being undertaken on the opposite side of the bay where large rock breakers are being used and if the wind is in the wrong direction they do create quite a lot of noise from 08:00 onwards but this is completely outside of the control of the complex and did not cause us to much of a problem.
The best way to get around Malta is by the local bus service and even better is the 7 day ticket price has dropped from 13 to 6.50 Euro since last September be aware though the the buses can be very busy at certain times of the day, my tip is where possible try and use the various bus stations (one within reasonable walk of the complex) around the island that way you are usually first on the bus so get a seat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanCachia14, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear JoHaz,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you correctly pointed out, our Housekeeping Department are very efficient and hard working in ensuring that the complex is always clean and ensuring the apartments are spotless. Our staff at Club Salina Wharf are trained in hospitality and understand the importance of always providing excellent customer service. In view of the minor disturbance that you experienced from the works across the other side of the road, we are pleased to hear that it did not affect your holiday. In actual fact, we have been informed that the work will stop in a just a few weeks time. I would like to thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will return to see us in the near future. Thanks, Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Club Salina Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 471 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hotel is suited for the older generation or with young families. My children are aged 4 and 7 and we went with a family with children aged 2,5,8, if we went alone then my children would have been bored.
The hotel bar/restaurant serves really delicious food and at reasonable prices. The kids particularly loved Malcolm, the bar tender. Entertainment was poor but we were at the end of the winter season so things may look up.
Rooms were cleaned daily and towels/linen changed frequently. Rooms are adequate, bathroom could do with an upgrade. Had to leave towels on the floor as they get completely soaked when taking a shower.
Outside pool was clean although the indoor one could do with a good clean and shower area to be finished.
Overall a good little hotel if you like the quiet life.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donwoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest


We thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Club Salina wharf on Trip advisor

We are happy to note that our Bar and Restaurant met your high expextations and will certainly be passing on your good comments to the Bar Staff.

Club Salina wharf as you said is ideal for the older generation and families, even though in summer we are packed with pool acitvites and entertainment every night,

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to book at Club Salina Wharf again on my email ; marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Well we stayed at Salina Wharf last week the accodation wasn't to bad but we did an exchange from are timeshare in New York we never ever get as good as standards as we expect on arrival when we checked in there was a young blonde on the reception who really didn't have a clue she was rude and when we told her about are first apartment had dirty running water and there was a bad damp she just said well there all the same the apartments thank god for the other staff that where very helpful will not come back here again

Room Tip: Corner suites large
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest


We thank you for your review regarding our hotel.
I am very sorry to hear that you were not served professionally by our reception staff and will check and speak to the person that checked you in on your arrival.

Please accept my sincere apologies for this behavior,
Should you wish to explain to me what went exactly wrong with your expectations of the apartment allocated to you, please contact me on my email marilynn@clubsalina.com.

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo
Reservation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is very lovely and on a good location. The self catering apartment was very well equipped. We had a little terrace with a private pool :). My husband, children and I were very satisfied and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alba52220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest


We thank you for visitng Club Salina Wharf and for taking time to post about your stay here.
We are pleased to note that you were satisfied with your apartment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need to book with us again on my email marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have just returned from staying at Salina wharf. The Hotel was lovely. The self catering apartment was clean and very well equipped.
All staff were very friendly and I am happy to say that Myself and my adult daughter would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jk4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest


We thank for your lovely comments, and are extremely glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Club Salina Wharf.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to return to Club Slaina Wharf in Future, my email address is marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ok so.... negatives first.

The bed. We're a married couple. We've been married a fair few years now. There were only the two of us on the trip. It was a romantic getaway for a week.

So why why why would you give us a room with two single beds pushed together, and with separate covers so that there was no way to even get near each other?? And then, when we complain about it, claim to be changing it via placing a top matress over the two, and in actual fact, just put a double sheet over the two of them? That doesn't constitute a double bed. The great big ridge running between the two people kinda ruins the romance.

Rather than complain again, we changed the mattresses to lengthways, which absolutely solved the problem, but, that was not the issue. The issue was, that we'd been given two singles, and when we complained about it, rather than sort it out, the effort put into fixing the issue was derisory in the extreme.

So... that's the bad covered.

Location was fine, buses leave from almost directly outside. not an issue. The apartment we had, was fine. Grill, oven, toaster, kettle etc etc. Place was clean, had a TV with multi language broadcasts, and was basically not unlike our own flat at home. It even had a bath, something we don;t have here.

We never used the pool, or the bar, so cannot comment on those, however, the room was also reasonably quiet at night meaning we were never kept awake by noise. Average age of the people there was probably 10 years older than ourselves, so about 50, and thus, you'd not expect noise either. The wifi in the lobby was decent enough, and the booking said there was no wifi in the rooms, so why anyone would complain about it is beyond me. You know when you're booking what you're getting.

In truth, having read the reviews and taken the risk in booking here, I really cannot see why anyone complains about the hotel/rooms. There was no harassment by timeshare people, in fact, we never saw one, or even the word, mentioned in the 7 days we were there. A lady in the hotel lobby booked our excursions for us with no problems. When we ambled in at 4am, there was no issue. No spiders, lizards, or other bitey things in the room, because the apartment was simply clean.

Asides from the bed issue, which we negotiated ourselves, I can only recommend this place as a good base to travel around the various sites on Malta. I'd stay in something similar anywhere else in the world, and would happily if I returned, stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guests

We thank you for your comments and feedback of your stay, only that way we can always change for the better.

I am very sorry to hear about the mattresses, as our mattresses can be zipped up together in order not to have the slot in between, I do apologize for the inconvenience of having to turn them around yourselves.

Please do not hestitate to contact me directly should you wish to come to Club Slaina Wharf again. My email address is marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thank You
Marilynn Frendo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a terrible hotel. The staff is nice, friendly, and accommodating. The facilities however are terrible. The main door had holes in it, the paint was peeling off, the floors were filthy, there were ants in the room, there was no coffee maker, there was internet in the room, and when you went to the lobby to use the internet it was slow, there was poop marks in our toilet when we checked in, the bathrooms in the indoor pool were not finished and one had a poop still in them, the restaurant's food was discussing and it smelled like mildew, the water pressure was so poor on the 3rd floor I could hardly take a shower and could not wash my hair.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guests,

Could you kindly state in which apartment you were staying and during what dates so I can check the issue myself.

Can you please contact me on marilynn@clubsalina.com

Regards,

Marilynn Frendo
Reservations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,772 reviews
3.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $51 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing