We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactely what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Labin, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactely what we needed”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is very lovely and on a good location. The self catering apartment was very well equipped. We had a little terrace with a private pool :). My husband, children and I were very satisfied and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alba52220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest


We thank you for visitng Club Salina Wharf and for taking time to post about your stay here.
We are pleased to note that you were satisfied with your apartment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need to book with us again on my email marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo
Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    130
    103
    75
    56
See reviews for
156
184
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have just returned from staying at Salina wharf. The Hotel was lovely. The self catering apartment was clean and very well equipped.
All staff were very friendly and I am happy to say that Myself and my adult daughter would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jk4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest


We thank for your lovely comments, and are extremely glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Club Salina Wharf.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to return to Club Slaina Wharf in Future, my email address is marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ok so.... negatives first.

The bed. We're a married couple. We've been married a fair few years now. There were only the two of us on the trip. It was a romantic getaway for a week.

So why why why would you give us a room with two single beds pushed together, and with separate covers so that there was no way to even get near each other?? And then, when we complain about it, claim to be changing it via placing a top matress over the two, and in actual fact, just put a double sheet over the two of them? That doesn't constitute a double bed. The great big ridge running between the two people kinda ruins the romance.

Rather than complain again, we changed the mattresses to lengthways, which absolutely solved the problem, but, that was not the issue. The issue was, that we'd been given two singles, and when we complained about it, rather than sort it out, the effort put into fixing the issue was derisory in the extreme.

So... that's the bad covered.

Location was fine, buses leave from almost directly outside. not an issue. The apartment we had, was fine. Grill, oven, toaster, kettle etc etc. Place was clean, had a TV with multi language broadcasts, and was basically not unlike our own flat at home. It even had a bath, something we don;t have here.

We never used the pool, or the bar, so cannot comment on those, however, the room was also reasonably quiet at night meaning we were never kept awake by noise. Average age of the people there was probably 10 years older than ourselves, so about 50, and thus, you'd not expect noise either. The wifi in the lobby was decent enough, and the booking said there was no wifi in the rooms, so why anyone would complain about it is beyond me. You know when you're booking what you're getting.

In truth, having read the reviews and taken the risk in booking here, I really cannot see why anyone complains about the hotel/rooms. There was no harassment by timeshare people, in fact, we never saw one, or even the word, mentioned in the 7 days we were there. A lady in the hotel lobby booked our excursions for us with no problems. When we ambled in at 4am, there was no issue. No spiders, lizards, or other bitey things in the room, because the apartment was simply clean.

Asides from the bed issue, which we negotiated ourselves, I can only recommend this place as a good base to travel around the various sites on Malta. I'd stay in something similar anywhere else in the world, and would happily if I returned, stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guests

We thank you for your comments and feedback of your stay, only that way we can always change for the better.

I am very sorry to hear about the mattresses, as our mattresses can be zipped up together in order not to have the slot in between, I do apologize for the inconvenience of having to turn them around yourselves.

Please do not hestitate to contact me directly should you wish to come to Club Slaina Wharf again. My email address is marilynn@clubsalina.com

Thank You
Marilynn Frendo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a terrible hotel. The staff is nice, friendly, and accommodating. The facilities however are terrible. The main door had holes in it, the paint was peeling off, the floors were filthy, there were ants in the room, there was no coffee maker, there was internet in the room, and when you went to the lobby to use the internet it was slow, there was poop marks in our toilet when we checked in, the bathrooms in the indoor pool were not finished and one had a poop still in them, the restaurant's food was discussing and it smelled like mildew, the water pressure was so poor on the 3rd floor I could hardly take a shower and could not wash my hair.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

Could you kindly state in which apartment you were staying and during what dates so I can check the issue myself.

Can you please contact me on marilynn@clubsalina.com

Regards,

Marilynn Frendo
Reservations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

we have just got back a week ago the Club Salina Wharf ,has improved from last year , Aldo operations manager has done a great job since he took over last year ,pool looked lovely apartments are very clean and comfortable as usual we as owners always stay in gold apartments so very good ,staff very helpfull and friendly and staff on reception are very helpfull especially paul . My husband had a heart attack while on this stay and paul arranged for my husband to go to hospital ,the resturant has new people running it now great improvement ,,lovely food cooked by Rita and served by Sandra and entertainment 6 nights a week ,well done everyone we are coming back next year thankyou gloria and gordon street [dave as everyone calls him ]

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glossyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Mr & Mrs Street

Thank you for your positive feedback towards our hotel!!

Club Salina Wharf's Staff always strives to give a better and friendly service to our guest, and any positive comments are always greatly appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you again in February next year

Thanks and Regards
Marilynn Frendo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 12 March to 16 March. What a great find!
The apartment was spacious, very clean and really well presented, with a great view over the pool and sea from our balcony. The bedroom featured two single beds, combined to make a double, a dressing table & chair, and a walk-in-wardrobe which included an iron and ironing board. The kitchenette was well equppied with a kettle, toaster, microwave, oven/grill and hob, as well as enough utensils and cutlery. Perfect for the one night we decided to eat in. The apartment also had a TV which featured English channels including BBC World and Sky News. We also enjoyed full access to the indoor and outdoor pool facilities, which we pretty much had to ourselves as we were staying outside of the busier Summer season.
The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating, and were available 24 hours. The rooms were cleaned on a rota basis and were done on most days.
It was, however, a bit of a walk from the main Bugibba bus station. Nonetheless, many buses stop at the nearby Qawra bus stop including the number 45 bus which runs evry 20 minutes to Valletta. Qawra/Bugibba was a nice and quiet resort that certainly caters for European tourists.
Overall, I would definitely recommend Club Salina Wharf to couples, families or solo travellers. It was a nice place to stay in Malta and offered excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room which offers a pool and seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would thank you for staying at the Club Salina Wharf for your stay from the 12th March to the 16th March 2014.

It is with great pleasure that our hotel met your expectation and that the customer service offered by our reception team was friendly and always accommodating. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in comfortable décor finishes of our Standard One Bedroom Apartment.

Thank You for taking your time to share your views about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely glad to note that all you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to visit Malta again so that I can make the necessary arrangements for your next stay. My email is aldo@clubsalina.com

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited here 6 years ago and decided the location and the current website descriptions meant it would be ideal for a return. We were wrong. We booked a superior 1 bedroom apartment and were given a less-than-standard studio. When we complained we were given keys for 3 apartments to choose which we wanted. Only one was suitable as the other two smelt stronlgy of damp and none were anything like the website pictures. The one we chose was spacious enough and clean, beds were comfortable and there were plenty of bedding and towels. But this was a self catering apartment which had no microwave or kettle. We were given a kettle when we asked for one, and eventually got an inventory which showed we were missing quite a few bits and pieces. The stairwell in the block we were in was dark and dreary, with leaking pipes dripping into an overflowing bucket which meant the floor was wet all the time. The pool area is pleasant and the gardens well kept. But overall this hotel is tired and jaded. And stay away from the restaurant - it's truly dreadful. I was served still-frozen veg one night and the service is snail-pace. It's a pity it's all declined because it could be really nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for travelling back to Malta and considered once again the Club Salina Wharf for your stay in March 2013.

Having read carefully your booking comments, it would be highly appreciated that you contact me direct in order to investigate it further to get back you.

We are very sorry that during your stay we encountered a pipe leak from the third floor of the hotel. Management did the very possible to recover the situation immediately thus even bring over a professional company to replace more than thirty meters of pipe.

It is also recording that on one night only, our waiter served your vegetables not at the correct temperature whilst she apologized and wanted the change it for you. On the night is a also noted that sufficient team members were on duty.

Meanwhile, I am also very pleased that you enjoyed our pool area, garden and the spacious apartment of your choice.

I thank you for your comments and please you may contact me on aldo@clubsalina.com

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 16 in Qawra
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing