We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Was so excited to go, bargain price. The price was a bit too expensive for what we got. Warn out is a better definition. The people working there were wonderful. Helpful polite, totally obliging couldn't ask for more. Shame the place didn't match. Had we paid the normal rate we would have been devastated. Overall rating is on the bargain price we paid. One would've been too kind on the full price.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarchSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you sharing your accommodation experience.

I am very happy to read that you were happy with our guest services and that our service team members are polite and helpful.

Management will be continuing to upgrade the product to reach a good level of customer satisfaction. We will also be performing the apartment upgrading maintenance program started in January 2013.

I thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Malta.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 489 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I booked a long weekend in this hotel with my 2 friends from Friday to Monday. We arrived at 11.30am only to be told our room wasnt ready til 4pm?. When we finally got key they had put us on 3rd floor with 3flights of stairs and im asthmatic. My friends viewed room and said it smelled of damp. We asked reception for a different room as I couldnt climb all those stairs and because of the smell.they said I never requested room on ground floor , they never had any free rooms and to open windows for the smell. Manager came in at 4pm and offered us a ground floor room . We viewed it and it absolutely stunk of damp and mould which is bad for my asthma. He told us to open windows too. He also said we would be charged an extra 20euro per night as it slept 6 and there were 3 of us. We took room as we had wasted 1st day of our break trying to get a room. When we opened the walk in wardrobe we found out where the smell was coming from.. black mould all up the walls and ceiling. All around the bath too and kitchen sink. Mould mould everywhere. Ruined my holiday as my asthma was so bad for the 3 nights. Air conditioning was clogged up with dust and fluff so couldnt put it on. We were fed up complaining and getting nowhere so we just made the most of what time we had left there and stayed out of the hotel as much as we could. Food was awful too. Nothing like the pictures on the hotel website. in fact nothing on the hotel website is true to life ... full stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sueyfooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are very sorry that we could not meet your accommodation request on arrival as it was not received from the travel agent.

In order to assist and meet your requirement, we offered the only two bedroom apartment available on the day which was confirmed by yourselves before moving into. Please accept our sincere apology for not having more apartments to show you during your three night stay.

I am also very sorry that you did not enjoy your satisfaction and please do not hesitate to contact me direct on aldo@clubsalina.com

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

On the 16th august we checked in at the Salina Wharf, the room that we had reserved was the 303 but, when we got there, the receptionist sent us to the 102. This room was in some kind of basement, the view from the window was a wall, the smell was also a bit strange. When we brought this to the atention of the staff, the BALD GUY that was there, was arrogant and not very polite. He even told us to find other hotel and turned his back on us. After some calls to our travel agency, and more than one hour later, another member of the staff finally got us another room. They also charge 50 euros for the air conditioner and 15 euros for cable TV, even though we never asked for cable TV.

Room Tip: Never accept the first floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RitaFernandes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for travelling to Malta and choosing the Club Salina Wharf for your stay.

We are very sorry that the apartment allocated on arrival was not to your satisfaction, however after getting all the information, our uniformed reception team member reacted immediately and found an alternative apartment which was accepted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked this hotel through a third party for our honeymoon. Unfortunately this third party had only paid for one night's stay (which would not have happened had they booked directly through the hotel's website)! The hotel staff were incredibly patient and hospitable while the situation was resolved. They recognised that my husband and I were on our honeymoon and were extremely accommodating in every aspect! Staff were very helpful and always greeted us with a smile... for the hospitality alone we will go back! The hotel itself is in a great location, we never had to walk far to find anything yet were shielded from the noise of the main street. The apartment we stayed in was a silver one bedroom, and was spacious, clean and welcoming with a lovely contemporary feel to the design! Very highly recommended by me and my husband!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethImo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our guests service, our location, our apartments and the friendliness of our staff.

I am glad to read that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

4th visit and everytime my family and I enjoy the place even more.From the moment we enter the hotel we feel very welcome.
This time the swimming pool had been totally renewed and looked good . everywhere looked fresher with a new pool bar and childrens play area.
We ate breakfast every day in the restaurant and several times in the evening which were very enjoyable.
We stay in a superb 2 bed silver apartment which we love.
Our only negatives are the lack of quality entertainmentboth daytime and evening
I dont believe it would cost too much to have saysomeone to do things with children during the dayand the odd evening.ALthough they all get on welland play great a bit of variety would help everyone.
In the evening martin elvis is great with everyone but if the children were kept busy around evening time, families would stay in the hotel to eat and drink.
Other than those suggestions we will be back at next easter and summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for considering the Club Salina Wharf once again for your stay in Malta.

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay.I am pleased that you really liked your apartment, pool area, our two bar facilities and as well as our children play area.

It is also great to hear that you found our staff to be very welcoming.

We will be planning to have a different entertainment program for the next season as introducing Folklor Nights whilst offering entertainment for adults and their small ones.

I am happy to read that on your forth visit, we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice welcoming, perfect service.
Spacious accommodations, very quiet with a perfect sea-view.
The food is about quality, the breakfast is variable, large and heavy. This is surprising because it is half buffet and half to order, but finally very nice thanks to the relationships with the guests. . Only one negative point: the breakfast starts beginning a little late that is not practical for those who wake up earlier.
The central pool is very large, comfortable and quiet.
The accommodations are clean and well maintained (bedrooms, bathrooms, pool…)
This is a family environment both inside and outside. The environment is very good for a family and quiet as the hotel that outside and the walk along the sea with its restaurants are an interesting asset.
We recommend this hotel for good Maltese holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmLiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for travelling to Malta and considered to stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am very happy to read that you were very satisfied with the service offered and that you enjoyed your accommodation, food quality, pool areas and overall cleanliness of the hotel.

We will also be looking into the service times for breakfast and extending the service in the coming days.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked the hotel via English school. The pictures sent to us suggested a two-bedroom self-catering apartment, quite modern and nice. In reality it turned out to be a one-bedroom apartment for a family of 5, dusty and shabby. The hotel manager told they could't change it due to the high season although it didn't stop them from reconstruction and constant hammering beginning at 8 in the morning. In general the hotel is not bad - clean pools, nice staff, music every evening but it's a kind of a lottery - a lot depends on which room you'll get. Unfortunately, we were not lucky enough, and which is more, the hotel manager was very kind and smiling but nothing changed - the dust on the air-conditioner and the panels is still there(( WiFi is available at 3Euro per Hour.

Room Tip: In the central building the rooms seem to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Club Salina Wharf.

My reservations team did investigate the booking details with the Travel Agent and it is confirmed that a one bedroom apartment was booked instead of a two bedroom one. The matter was communicated to the Agent.

The Manager on Duty tried to offer another apartment during stay which was also communicated to the agent doing the booking. It is recorded that another apartment was offered during stay.

I am very sorry that the maintenance works taking place in the apartment close to yours created disturbance.

I once again apologise for any inconvenience caused. and look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
2.3 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,390 reviews
0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $44 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing