We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2013 Club Salina Wharf”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“May 2013 Club Salina Wharf”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A pleasant change this time of the year with plenty of sun and the resort benefitting from some upgrades to the pool, public areas and more entertainment on site. Very helpful staff always willing to help you should you have a problem. Cleaning facilities fine. Staff changes have been a breath of fresh air, Very warm welcome by reception staff a great start to the holiday. My holiday went without too much of a glitch and looking forward to a re visit annualy or when ever i feel inclined to return.

Room Tip: Bronze silver or gold rooms available however you have to be a owner at the resort to be placed in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your holiday experience at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the improvements happening in the Hotel and that you were satisfied with the warm welcome received by our Reception Team.

I thank you for your loyalty and looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    146
    107
    78
    58
See reviews for
167
192
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived to be greated by friendly reception staff who quickly booked us in to our room. Room was large and kitchen had oven fridge toaster and microwave. Liked location of hotel and there were plenty of bars nearby. Bus stops were 5 mins away which took you to all parts of Island. I like the cheerful bar staff (please pass this on). Prices were very reasonable and the restaurant was excellent.
The outdoor pool was a little cold but this was may but to compensate their was an indoor heated pool.
I liked the relaxed feel of the hotel and cleanliness of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony and ensure your room doesn't overlook reception as you may hear coache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for sharing your accommodation experience at Club Salina Wharf.

I am very pleased that you were happy with our welcome check in experience and that you enjoyed our hotel cleanliness, the friendliness of our staff and the standard of service provided by the Food and Beverage Team.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, so we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided not to use CSW this year following our vacation in July 2012. Our "gold" standard apartment had atrocious mattresses which were not replaced as none were in stock so extra mattresses were simply put on top of the existing ones meaning that it was extremely uncomfortable and the bedding (which had seen better days) was ill fitting and made it awkward getting in/out of bed.
The toilet didn't flush/fill properly and it took 3 or 4 visits from maintenance to rectify. I wrote a letter to the head of CSW onsite and delivered it to reception and the apartment was inspected by her with the head of maintenance. Although it was agreed that our complaints were valid nothing was done about the bed and we were not offered an alternative apartment as it was supposedly full. Linda tried to help but it was really out of her remit. The only positive was that it was a pool view apartment!
All in all the resort is going downhill and we wish we had never purchased timeshare here as the resort is not what it was when we purchased our timeshare...possibly it has expanded too much without any real check on costings and quality.
Emails seem to take weeks to be answered except the standard automated reply.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HuttoftDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your customer feedback about your stay at the Club Salina Wharf in July 2012.

May I kindly invite you to share your experience direct with me on aldo@clubsalina.com in order to make sure that we will live up to your expectations on your next visit.

On a positive note, I would like to thank you for your comments to the guests services offer by Linda.

Please keep me at your service should you wish to reserve your accommodation in the future.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

newmarket
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

visited AGAIN with my family for the easter hols.once again a warm welcome from the reception staff.

When last popped in in january i was told about the physical changes that were planned.And yes they were all evident.New coffee/snack lounge,tour desk,new outside areas,and the rooms have ahad a good makeover.
The outdoor pool was closed as it was undergoing major refurbishment due to the evil EU telling all hotels to make pools shallower.the sooner we get out of the EU the better.i witnesed this being done at many other hotels in malta.however the indoor pool was fine.
As usual we had great time,caught up with people we hadmet before and with its friendly and inviting atmosphere we will be back for 2 weeks in the summer hols.

club salina wharf really is a nice place to enjoy a lovely holiday

thankyou everyone.

Room Tip: just what you would prefer and if they can help they always do.REMEMBER. BE NICE
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

We are pleased to hear that the improvements happening in the hotel were to your expectation and you enjoyed the overall services offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After visiting Club Salina yet again we were pleasantly surprised to see the changes as soon as we entered, there now is a snack/coffee bar very chic adjacent to the reception and over looking the pool.The hotel has needed updating for a long number of years,but it needed Aldo [ new manager ] to make a huge difference,with his ideas and expertise the changes are fantastic.The re-furbed pool will be finished by the end of April,but of course there is also an indoor pool which is great.It will take some time for Aldo to improve the Hotel environment and retrain any staff who require it,with up-grading rooms and coping with the lovely gardens he has a major task ahead,so we must all be patient as things can only get better.The restaurant is lovely,tables set out beautifully with the food,drinks and prices being good, even for us Yorkshire folk.First impressions count and walking into the reception with staff smiling,helpful and friendly
really lifted our spirits,for the start of our 2 weeks hol,the weather was great [no snow ].Club Salina is 5 mins walk to the sea,so is a nice quiet and peaceful.Full marks to all the staff,who are proud and happy people.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

I am very happy to read your positive feedback and it is very rewarding to hear that due to our friendly staff, our views, service, location, food and recreational areas you had an enjoyable stay.

It is also very much appreciated that the works happening are to your satisfaction and definately would benefit in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the warmer months so that you will be able to enjoy our amazing outdoor recreational areas.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned from our owner’s week at Salina Wharf, we normally go in the height of season but thought we would try it earlier this year. The hotel is undergoing a lot of refurbishment, which is lovely to see, as it was starting to look a bit shabby.

When we booked we asked for a sea view, which they gave us. The apartment was clean and tidy, but in need of refurbishment, which I assume will be in the next programme of improvements.

The staff were very friendly and helpful as always, but this year they were excellent because on the Monday of our holiday my husband slipped getting out of the shower and cut his foot badly, reception responded very quickly by sending a first aided to our apartment, she dressed my husband’s injury then arranged for us to be taken to a local clinic. Hence he had to have stitches.

Even with this mishap we had a lovely week and the weather was fantastic.

.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 908DavidP908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

It is appreciated to note that the refurbishment works happening are aimed towards to improve our guest satisfaction and exceed expectations.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Housekeeping team and the refurbishment taking place in the apartments. We have now completed thirty apartments.

I am very happy to hear that our reception team responded immediately to your husband's injury.

I thank you for choosing the Club Salina Wharf and hope that will host you back in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from our owners week at the resort and as usual had a great time, weather was great and we were well looked after. The outdoor pool was undergoing a major refurbishment but will be great when it is due to be finished in mid April. We were also glad to see that a programme of improvements had been put in place to improve the resort and the new operations manager was communicating these changes which had not happened in the past. Although there was a bit of moaning it does take time to bed changes in but staff are being stretched at peak times. Overall enjoyable for us and we look forward to going back in 2014 to see the improved site.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, services and satisfied with the works happening in the Hotel to upgrade more our product.

Whilst thanking you once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,682 reviews
3.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing