We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downhill”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided not to use CSW this year following our vacation in July 2012. Our "gold" standard apartment had atrocious mattresses which were not replaced as none were in stock so extra mattresses were simply put on top of the existing ones meaning that it was extremely uncomfortable and the bedding (which had seen better days) was ill fitting and made it awkward getting in/out of bed.
The toilet didn't flush/fill properly and it took 3 or 4 visits from maintenance to rectify. I wrote a letter to the head of CSW onsite and delivered it to reception and the apartment was inspected by her with the head of maintenance. Although it was agreed that our complaints were valid nothing was done about the bed and we were not offered an alternative apartment as it was supposedly full. Linda tried to help but it was really out of her remit. The only positive was that it was a pool view apartment!
All in all the resort is going downhill and we wish we had never purchased timeshare here as the resort is not what it was when we purchased our timeshare...possibly it has expanded too much without any real check on costings and quality.
Emails seem to take weeks to be answered except the standard automated reply.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HuttoftDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your customer feedback about your stay at the Club Salina Wharf in July 2012.

May I kindly invite you to share your experience direct with me on aldo@clubsalina.com in order to make sure that we will live up to your expectations on your next visit.

On a positive note, I would like to thank you for your comments to the guests services offer by Linda.

Please keep me at your service should you wish to reserve your accommodation in the future.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Club Salina Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 473 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

visited AGAIN with my family for the easter hols.once again a warm welcome from the reception staff.

When last popped in in january i was told about the physical changes that were planned.And yes they were all evident.New coffee/snack lounge,tour desk,new outside areas,and the rooms have ahad a good makeover.
The outdoor pool was closed as it was undergoing major refurbishment due to the evil EU telling all hotels to make pools shallower.the sooner we get out of the EU the better.i witnesed this being done at many other hotels in malta.however the indoor pool was fine.
As usual we had great time,caught up with people we hadmet before and with its friendly and inviting atmosphere we will be back for 2 weeks in the summer hols.

club salina wharf really is a nice place to enjoy a lovely holiday

thankyou everyone.

Room Tip: just what you would prefer and if they can help they always do.REMEMBER. BE NICE
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

We are pleased to hear that the improvements happening in the hotel were to your expectation and you enjoyed the overall services offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After visiting Club Salina yet again we were pleasantly surprised to see the changes as soon as we entered, there now is a snack/coffee bar very chic adjacent to the reception and over looking the pool.The hotel has needed updating for a long number of years,but it needed Aldo [ new manager ] to make a huge difference,with his ideas and expertise the changes are fantastic.The re-furbed pool will be finished by the end of April,but of course there is also an indoor pool which is great.It will take some time for Aldo to improve the Hotel environment and retrain any staff who require it,with up-grading rooms and coping with the lovely gardens he has a major task ahead,so we must all be patient as things can only get better.The restaurant is lovely,tables set out beautifully with the food,drinks and prices being good, even for us Yorkshire folk.First impressions count and walking into the reception with staff smiling,helpful and friendly
really lifted our spirits,for the start of our 2 weeks hol,the weather was great [no snow ].Club Salina is 5 mins walk to the sea,so is a nice quiet and peaceful.Full marks to all the staff,who are proud and happy people.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

I am very happy to read your positive feedback and it is very rewarding to hear that due to our friendly staff, our views, service, location, food and recreational areas you had an enjoyable stay.

It is also very much appreciated that the works happening are to your satisfaction and definately would benefit in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the warmer months so that you will be able to enjoy our amazing outdoor recreational areas.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned from our owner’s week at Salina Wharf, we normally go in the height of season but thought we would try it earlier this year. The hotel is undergoing a lot of refurbishment, which is lovely to see, as it was starting to look a bit shabby.

When we booked we asked for a sea view, which they gave us. The apartment was clean and tidy, but in need of refurbishment, which I assume will be in the next programme of improvements.

The staff were very friendly and helpful as always, but this year they were excellent because on the Monday of our holiday my husband slipped getting out of the shower and cut his foot badly, reception responded very quickly by sending a first aided to our apartment, she dressed my husband’s injury then arranged for us to be taken to a local clinic. Hence he had to have stitches.

Even with this mishap we had a lovely week and the weather was fantastic.

.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 908DavidP908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

It is appreciated to note that the refurbishment works happening are aimed towards to improve our guest satisfaction and exceed expectations.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Housekeeping team and the refurbishment taking place in the apartments. We have now completed thirty apartments.

I am very happy to hear that our reception team responded immediately to your husband's injury.

I thank you for choosing the Club Salina Wharf and hope that will host you back in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just come back from our owners week at the resort and as usual had a great time, weather was great and we were well looked after. The outdoor pool was undergoing a major refurbishment but will be great when it is due to be finished in mid April. We were also glad to see that a programme of improvements had been put in place to improve the resort and the new operations manager was communicating these changes which had not happened in the past. Although there was a bit of moaning it does take time to bed changes in but staff are being stretched at peak times. Overall enjoyable for us and we look forward to going back in 2014 to see the improved site.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, services and satisfied with the works happening in the Hotel to upgrade more our product.

Whilst thanking you once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Salina Wharf and can understand and appreciate the concerns voiced by other visitors as the complex is undergoing major redevelopments. However, we feel that as we visited ‘out of season’ some allowances must be made for such changes. As ‘out of season’ travellers we appreciated that maintenance would be ongoing in order to update services and can say that this did not distract from our visit. We had a minor issue about not having hot water, when in fact we did but had to let it run ( 1st occasion only) for a lengthy time. The maintenance guy, Paul, we believe, was most helpful and explained the situation to us. Like other visitors we have had concerns in the past but have brought these to the attention of the management who have rectified the situation to our advantage every time. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful if given the opportunity. There is one big negative for us in that Wi-Fi is not available. We would like to see guests being offered Wi-Fi, preferably free, in line with many cafes, restaurants and Hotels in the area, hopefully before our return visit in August.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkm1593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

We really appreciate to receive your views about our outdoor refurbishment program happening in the last three months. Definately, management is engaged to find the best possible ways not to create disturbance to our guests when works are taking place.

We have opened a new Lobby Bar and Cafe, an Outdoor Restaurant Terrace which will be open for the Summer Season. The paving area around the pool garden is now almost complete.

Management will also be looking into the possibility to offer free internet in the hotel Lobby and to perform further upgrades to the outdoor pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have beenassociated with this timeshare resort for a number of years and apart from the first year, when most of the amenties were available, we have experienced a steady decline in all aspects of Salina Wharf. We have stayed for several weeks over the last five years and have never had a single holiday that was problem free. This year was the final straw. The Bar/Restaurant has been closed Mon, Tues, Wednes for over 6 weeks and then Thursdays was added, along with one of the only two nights proper entertainment. I say proper, because Sunday night a karaoke has been added, but not in the Bar, but of all places, the Reception Lobby, which is ill equipped, uncomfortable and with absolutely no atmosphere. We have since been told that Sunday lunch as well as all breakfasts are now being served in Reception. This involves all food being carried up a flight of stairs, on cold plates and to add to the problems the staff have been cut back to the point that on a Saturday evening (The only night you can get your choice of food) there is often only two staff on duty to cover the waitressing, the Bar and the washing up. On Friday evening all the restaurant has to offer is a 'Fish and Chip shop' night,
with often only one member of staff to cover the Bar and the Restaurant. Just imagine the service offered. The staff are great, but cannot possibly do their job under these circumstances.

The last room we stayed in had darned sheets with spots of blood on them, skirting boards not attached to the wall, water dripping through the ceiling after rain, a toilet that took 20 minutes to refill and the cupboards that contained the cooking utensils were so tainted with mould that we never used anything from them. All this had been reported on several occasions, but unless you really 'put yourself out' and ask for a change (which is likely to be no better) nothing happens. This is not the way we wish to start our holiday and I had come to dread arriving to another horrible apartment. This year I had rung to confirm our reservation some 8 weeks before arrival only to be told they did not have a booking for us, despite us having made the reservation with Reception direct before we left last year.

All amenties are still being offered via timeshate reps and internet booking, including both swimming pools, neither of which have been available for several weeks.

Many people have complained on site and are being told that the Bar/Restaurant is in the process of being furbished, both swimming pools are being repaired (Why both empty at once?) and the entertainers have failed to turn up. Most of this is not true, but if you are only here for a short time you will not be aware that this is just a cover up. I do have pictorial evidence to substantiate all of our claims, but am so very sorry that it has got to a state where we no longer wish to be part of what we had thought would be a lovely holiday resort for the next ten years .
If you are thinking of booking a holiday at Salina Wharf, please satisfy yourself that everything is as advertised, or your holiday could turn out to be very different to the one you expect .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time to share your comments to us which we have picked up through Trip Advisor following your stay with us in March 2013.

I note that you did not appreciate that our Sports / Event Bar was closed Monday to Thursday as during your stay we have opened a Lobby Bar which is open daily from 08:30 hours to 23:30 hours.

We have also evaluated our guest feedback in the past months and we are now offering a natural light cafe / restaurant for breakfast, afternoon coffees and evening drinks enjoying the view of our resort. Moreover, we would like to apologize if, in any way, you were not offered to choose from our menu. The Fish and Chip is an extra item to the menu offered on Fridays. We also offer room service dinner delivery every night.

We have now also finalised the refurbishment of the outdoor paving and will be starting the refurbishment of the outdoor swimming pool. At no time during the last months, the indoor pool was closed.

We have also accommodation inspection services from our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to make sure that quality standards are prepared to our guest prior to check in. Would you also be so kind to contact me direct as we do not have register guest Chris on our guest profile system in order to investigate the accommodations comments.

Whilst we are truly pleased to note your kind feedback about our staff, we are very sorry to hear that the entertainment offered on Saturday and Sunday was not to your expectations. We try to promote a nice atmosphere in our two different Bar venues by offering two different entertainment themes.

It is regretful that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and would greatly appreciate it if you could send me your contact details by email on aldo@xarapalace.com.mt

Pease email me directly so that I will personally make sure that all necessary arrangements are done to your entire satisfaction on you next stay with us.

In meantime, thank you once again!

Aldo Calleja
OperationsManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,776 reviews
3.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $51 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing