We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jmmaltq”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“jmmaltq”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel is a family oriented hotel which has an outdoor and indoor pool, jacuzzi and restaurant. Restaurant is satisfactory with reasonable prices and nightly entertainment. Rooms are satisfactory and have kitchen facilities - STOVE, OVEN, REFRIGERATOR. Good air conditioning system. HOTEL CHARGES 70 EURO ELECTRICITY FEE PER WEEK FOR ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT. PROPERTY ,INCLUDING LOCATION ADJACENT TO OUR APARTMENT, UNDERGOING REPAIRS - PLASTER AND PAINTING OF OUTSIDE WALLS. Front desk and maintenance staff helpful. INTERNET SERVICE AT COST OF ONE EURO FOR 20 MINUTES. Within walking distance of hotel are restaurants, supermarkets, shops, sightseeing companies, rock beaches, evening entertainment and bus stop where you can get buses and make transfers to anywhere on malta. NOT A LUXURIOUS HOTEL BUT QUITE SATISFACTORY.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMMAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    138
    105
    77
    57
See reviews for
163
189
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked this holiday on a promotion deal and upon booking I made it quite clear that we had no intentions of buying a Time Share we just wanted to return to Malta and this seemed a good way to do it, we knew we had to sit through the talk that was ok worth the 2 hours for the bargain price. Was told that we are under no obligation to buy they just wanted people to try and if not buy then to recommend. (On our experience no way)
I was told that we would be given a Silver apartment and hopefully a pool or sea view. Well we had a pool view it was of two empty plunge pools that seemed to have been thrown away.
But all was not lost the Time Share Rep and his Boss said we had been given the wrong apartment and would be moved that day even if we did not buy, we had been given a Bronze apt. which though very clean was very tired with burn holes in the sofa and the cane chairs were coming apart and the toilet seat was chipped and so on.
We were shown a lovely apt. with views over the sea and pool, that was to be ours later that day and the talk carried on we still had no intention of buying and when the rep finally realised that he was not going to get a sale he gave up. Told us to come back after 2pm for the new key. We arrived back and GUESS WHAT like magic the lovely apt. was no longer available (as we had not signed up though of course the Boss denied this and came up with some excuse), we were then offered another apt. which was worse than the one we were in so in the end we stayed put. So please if any of you are thinking of trying this offer be aware that you will only get a basic apartment.
Apart from the apartment I also found the rest of the complex tired and in need of updating and never saw anyone in the restaurant the only time we saw people eating there was on BBQ night. The only food I tried I had to send back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hstammers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Ghajnsielem, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in Salina Wharf from November 2011 to March 2012 had Quiet a few complaints as you will see if you read my earlier review on here . Came back as we love Malta so much we decided to live here Stayed at Salina Wharf while we looked for a long term apartment as we used our week we have in the summer . We was a lot happy with the place did notice a lot of changes and did not have any complaints this time at all ..Might have been because we had complained so much in Winter that it was good but would certainly recommend it now and as we are still members even though we live in Malta i would tell all our family and friends to use the club Salina Wharf seen a lot of the other places as i said now living in Malta and it is far in front of a lot of the other ones i have seen and been in And now done apartments for disabled

Room Tip: A pool view or sea view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeleysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed for 1 week in the Salina with 3 other Familys the receptionist GAVIN was so helpful talked though all what Qawra has to offer and how to get around the Island HE WAS FATASTIC!!!!! The apartments are great! around the corner from the beach! they have all you needs for cooking,AC was great, very good furnishing,beds very clean and Maids cleaning Fantastic,pool fine( we like the sea) BUT the Manager!!!!!! OMG We had one of the young men that was staying in Salina (we didnt know him) had a bit to much to drink!!! Tip YES Tip!!! my bro-inlaw ( 53 YEARS OLD) while he was a sleep on his sunbed in to the pool with his Mobile in his pocket!!! we all was very upset we thought it was best for the MANAGER to talk to this young man her response was this was nothing to do with them!!!! so we think it best to SACK the manager if they want familys to go to the Salina!!!!

Room Tip: pool area!!! not at the front of Apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amenab-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just returned this week from Malta and I must say we will go back i found malta a lovely place all be it a bit hot, The resort Club Salina was just ok but certinly not a 4 star as advertised,
the pool was ok and the indoor pool was nice and cool.
the management however we found to be rather abrupt and unhelpful. on check out they tried to charge an extra 70 euros for a stained bath mat and for leaving some towels with makeup on them(washing machine must have been broken) I have stayed in Hotels all over the world and have never been charged extra for leaving dirty towells.
i also had an incident where i fell asleep on a sun lounger by the pool and was tipped into the pool by a young man who we had met breifly in the bar earlier, i had my £450 phone in my pocket at the time which needless to say no longer works when my wife went to the managment to complain she was told they would'nt get involved ,I wonder if i had hit my head on the poolside and been knocked out would they have the same attitude, So don't fall asleep by the pool.
Malta was nice and would defenatly go back but not to the4 star Club Salina Warf

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

second stay at club salina and still i dont understand the critics.was there at easter 2012 and in a 2 bedoom goundfloor silver room FANTASTIC.which was a relief having signed up in january and read some reviews.I just cant see what thy are saying.This time i was in a gold 2 bedroom apartment and once again superb.swimming pools and sunbathing areas are great.bar and restaurant very friendly.Breakfast was included and was lovely.I made a point of seeing the salesman who signed us up and thanked him,my wife and i plus our 11 and 5 year old had a great time again.stayed 24th -31st july 2012.great weather great time.
i checked out a number of other timeshare hotels and still will come back to club salina,infact will probably buy another week.
Lots of families and couples love it there,if not why do they buy 2nd weeks and upgrade as there is so much competition in malta?because it fine.

Room Tip: they are all different so read reviews or call the hotel and give them your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My partner an i have just returned from our holiday July 17th to 31st 2012 at Club Salina Wharf, this was to complete a package which we purchased last summer which was due to expire end of August.
After my last review (wild life of malta)we were heading to Club Salina Warf with some trepidation, and of course things had not changed much. We where placed in room 130 which is on ground floor on the right side of the complex.In general the room was of a fair standard however on closer inspection i noticed broken tiles along the sink front, also several items were missing from the room which were mentioned on the room check list, would we have been billed on leaving for the said items had i not checked? who knows, so check. Also a very uncomfortable fold out bed, but over all the room was not bad.
Our problems started at 07.30 the next morning when we were awoken by the noise of loud banging, scraping and talking by workmen right out side the bedroom window. Had this been an olympic sport these guys would have been gold medal winners,the vigour with which they layed into the wall with the sledge beggered belief,Having brought this matter to a hotel rep i was informed that the work needed done and it was all part of the improvements. "seriously" this work was of a cosmetic nature namely removeing old plaster and replaceing it with new and was not urgent and could have be done in the quiet months, not peak season with guests in situe. Yet this noise continued for the whole of our stay. We were also woken at 08.00 on sunday by cleaners preping the room for the next guests, moving furniture etc. Taking into consideration the nature of there business this hotel is in, have they completely lost the concept of rest and relaxation?.
Yes the vultures are still there namely time share reps, there approach is still the same and yes they still do not know what NO means, be advised keep walking we saw a steady stream of people still going in for the time share talk , on your own head be it.
I find it hard to believe that anybody can find anything good to say about this place yet we still see it in reviews , ok you may think i am being biased if so go stay there, have a wonderfull time if you can but if it turns into a nitemare you were warned.
Overall nothing much has changed from our last visit and i dought it will any time soon, we wont be back and we our so glad we our not tied into this place for ANY duration,attention to detail seems to be smothered by the drive to sell time share which is a pity as it would be so easy to fix, and not as costly to remedy as we were led to believe.

Room Tip: Off the ground floor would be an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,428 reviews
3.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing