We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Pizza in Malta”
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best Pizza in Malta”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Went there last night and enjoyed great food as usual. Excellent service and the pizza was made in Sicilian style in a wood burning oven. There is a reasonable selection of pizzas on the menu, at very good prices.
We have been 6 times now and not had a bad experience.
My only criticism is the outdoor cheap plastic chairs, but the excellent sea views make up for it.
Thank you Portobello!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    58
    19
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing view- perfect for couples”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My fiance and I went here right before the sunset and we really enjoyed the view, we had a table right next to the window and we could admire the golf and the beautiful promenade. The food was ok,a few options for vegetarians - I choose parmigiano-stuffed mushrooms as a starter and a salad as a main. The menu that you can find on the internet is not the one that we had at the restaurant. As I've noticed the restaurant is separated into two sides: the one on the entrance which is more like a pub, where people can order pizza and the other one, which is more fancy and the menu gives you just a few options consisting in some fish/seafood dishes and some salads. We choose the second one because it was quieter and more elegant. I didn't find it expensive and I think it totally worth coming here for the view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Synthia_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food , good service not too expensive”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

For of us went for dinner with two kids - we all have a pizza.I got what i expect lovely pizza with very fresh toppings.With two bottles of house wine and local beer bill come up around 70 euros so is very good for the quality and amount of food we got. One of best meals i have in Malta .Highly recomended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crispy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, lovely food and excellent view”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal here on the last night of our holiday in June. Wish we had found this place earlier as we would definitely have gone back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazy_lady_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and views”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Enjoyed seriously good food and wine at this lovely restaurant with great views over St Paul's Bay at sunset. Get a table on the veranda if you can as this is best for view over the bay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing