We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked couple of rooms between friends for the new years eve occasion and I can say that it was one of the best. Rooms were clean, warm and big. Good priced also. Alexis helped us with the booking and we were very satisfied with what she offered. Hotel was in good location also rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10RuthS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    476
    301
    146
    113
See reviews for
255
632
101
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

my wife and i had a great time over christmas and new year 2013/14 met by alexis again it was our second visit to the hotel we liked it that much last year we went again for 29 days this part of st pauls bay is very good for walkers . the staff at the hotel are very nice and easy to get on with we went self catering in a apartment that was very good

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank roy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

A bit late with the review-sorry Alexis

Another lovely time at Porto Azzurro. Staff as welcoming as always. Alexis once again allocated our favourate room(no hints or everyone will want it). Never tire of spending time here at the apartment as no one pushes you to do or buy anything or join in .
DH

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

5th floor apartment overlooking pool spacious and basic kitchen equipment enough for our needs.As always(we have been here regulary) Alexis is helpful to sort out any problems .The catering was poorly managed during our stay of 10 days and the food in the restrauant on offer was a poor choice so we ate out all the time,this needs looking at.However,Malta itself is still a good place for a holiday and this hotel is what you would expect for the 3 star rating

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floors overlooking the pool are best as your view may be blocked if you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mintlaw, Peterhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a good time as usual in my timeshare apartment. Staff were helpful and as usual Alexis was on hand to welcome me. I unfortunately had a fall and everyone helped to make me comfortable till I was ready to leave. Will be back as soon as I am on my feet again.
Michael Morice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

not the poshest of hotels but I have been several times with my partner s/c and we love it, easy to get everywhere and the staff are so friendly and helpful especially Alexis Malaq, Rachel and Hannah . we are going again in march/april , I just wish the Jacuzzi was fixed , I went in nov 13 with my daughter this time and she loved Malta and is coming with us again in mar/apr

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westwardhoBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was very looking forward to my holiday in Malta but I was really disgusted with this hotel. There was a receptionist (woman) and she was swearing all the time even in front of us and always in a bad mood and was not helpful at all. We were given a room not as requested. The room was dirty, bed sheets included. Found a lot of hair on the bed upon arrival. 'jacuzzi' (because it didn't seem like one) didn't work! Told them a couple of times and said they would arrange it, but they didn't. They laughed at our faces and we had to pay full price. There was also a cockroach in the room. really disgusting. I really wish I haven't gone there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ms-r-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing