We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas getaway”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Mintlaw, Peterhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Christmas getaway”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a good time as usual in my timeshare apartment. Staff were helpful and as usual Alexis was on hand to welcome me. I unfortunately had a fall and everyone helped to make me comfortable till I was ready to leave. Will be back as soon as I am on my feet again.
Michael Morice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    488
    309
    150
    116
See reviews for
261
651
104
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

not the poshest of hotels but I have been several times with my partner s/c and we love it, easy to get everywhere and the staff are so friendly and helpful especially Alexis Malaq, Rachel and Hannah . we are going again in march/april , I just wish the Jacuzzi was fixed , I went in nov 13 with my daughter this time and she loved Malta and is coming with us again in mar/apr

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westwardhoBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was very looking forward to my holiday in Malta but I was really disgusted with this hotel. There was a receptionist (woman) and she was swearing all the time even in front of us and always in a bad mood and was not helpful at all. We were given a room not as requested. The room was dirty, bed sheets included. Found a lot of hair on the bed upon arrival. 'jacuzzi' (because it didn't seem like one) didn't work! Told them a couple of times and said they would arrange it, but they didn't. They laughed at our faces and we had to pay full price. There was also a cockroach in the room. really disgusting. I really wish I haven't gone there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ms-r-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

5 night stay thoroughly enjoyed in August 2013. Hotel situated away from the main touristy areas, but still plenty of facilties available locally. The room was spacious and came as a kitchenette with cooking amenities. The decor was a tad old-fashioned but the room was kept clean. The bathroom occasionally smelt a bit funny, possibly due to a problem with the pipes. Staff very friendly and happy to help at all times. We were able to rent bikes from the hotel's contacts and also arranged a morning of scuba diving through the company sitauted on the lower floor of the hotel. The breakfast was great, with cooked options available. On site shop really handy and well stocked. A really cool bit of shore nearby which was great for snorkelling. Buses really easy to use too, and not too far frm Gozo!! Thoroughly recommended and would return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chriscarter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Arrived here on Christmas Eve. Not happy at all. Food evening meals always cold. Well tried to eat but could nt . They were cold supposed to be hot. But cannot get any help. Waitresses do not understand English. And just ignore u.First meal cold sent it back twice and came back still cold. They are not interested.Decided to go self catering but weather bad and no where to actually eat hot meals.Supposed to be getting mercury direct to sort self catering but its actually a nightmare to eat locally. Got soaked 2 times in 1 day . In the middle of nowhere. Boring.Worse holiday in my life. Never again. Hate it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyanna267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Portto Azzuro is not the RITZ but it is clean and friendly and as good a place to relax as we found on our travels around the world . We all the stalf so helpfull especially Alexis who went out to sort out any problems .We have stayed at Portto Azzurro 4 tmes and have found it very easy to get to with a direct bus from the aitport to 70 metres from front door (X1)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the porto azzuro's penthouse and i can tell you that room was super clean and cosy.. Would like to thank alexis for the great hospitality and excellent service! Couldn't ask for better assistance.. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rais-far7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing