We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and chic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cheap and chic”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's a building a bit old but very cheap with a friendly staff and very good organization .
the best choice if you want to relax yourself, good bus connection to ferry to comino and gozo which i very recommend to visit .
if i will go again to malta for sure i will choice porto azzurro hotel
i value it in total with a 9.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 923vincenzol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    482
    303
    146
    114
See reviews for
256
640
102
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

we have been to porto azzurro 5 times now and Ihave to say each time it seems some alteration has been made.this time the pool bar was a delight and the mini market was so clean and inviting.the new people are still finding out what people require but a big improvement.we are always happy with our apartment it is always clean and inviting.any problems and alexis will sort them out along with rachel.the pool deserves a mention as shirley keeps the surroundings so clean and inviting

Room Tip: rooms ovrlooking the pool get the afternoon sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

St. Pauls Bay is a quiet, marina bay but as Malta is not a huge island and transport facilities are efficient everything is within a reasonable distance. We enjoyed a very pleasant apartment overlooking the bay although other quieter rooms overlook the uncrowded pool and pool bar.
All our arrangements for and during the holiday were made through Alexis Meylaq who along with the cleaning and reception staff was both pleasant and extremely efficient.
Malta is steeped in history, architecture and tradition and the Maltese people are generally very friendly.

Room Tip: Speak to Alexis Meylaq and explain what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrysJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buedingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and me visit Malta every year (August/September) and we prefer Porto Azzurro., a 3*hotel. to 4*-hotels in other places, we've been before.

Here a few reasons why:
1.PA isn't too large and loud and crowded, so we can relax soon.
2. The staff is busy to help. Especially Rachel (reception) and Alexis (guest relations) solved every problem and fulfilled every wish. Thanks!
3.We like ancient places, and Malta and Gozo have a lot of them.
Just a few steps up the hill or just a ride with a bus you can find temples, caves, ...
The bus-stop is nearby the hotel and the fares are low!
3. We like to swim in warm water.
The pool is nice but if you prefer sandy beaches it is just a ride with a bus to Mellieha Bay, Golden Bay, Gneijna Bay.
4. We are out very often and so we can't report very much about the restaurant.
The poolbar offers snacks, a bit too expensive.
But there are some restaurants or snackbars or a small supermarket near PA..
As we have plenty of room and a small kitchen in our apartment (for four persons) we havn't to go out, if we don't want to.
We liketo take our breakfast or dinner on our balcony and we enjoy the nice view over St.Pauls Bay and the valley.

Result: We've already booked for next year!

Room Tip: The time-share-apartments floor 4 and 5.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my fourth visit and I took my sister and brother in law this visit. we were made most welcome by the staff. We had as few maintenance/cleanliness problems on arrival but Alexis Meylaq very efficiently sorted them out in no time. Porto Azzurro is not the most luxurious hotel in Malta, but it is a very pleasant hotel with indoor and outdoor pools and bars, meals available in the restaurant and poolside bar. There are also numerous restaurants nearby. nice place for a quiet stay. The rooms are very comfortable and all rooms have a balcony with sea views For us the location could not be bettered. Many interesting places to visit nearby. It is on several useful bus routes including airport and ferry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A pleasant place to stay .. the staff are welcoming especially Alexis Meylaq.. Nice pool area too ! We have been twice already and will go again ... Ideal place to relax .. Not the Ritz but very good nevertheless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labiarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaluga, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The place was nice due to the location and close to all interesting places ans beaches. Apartments were good - all necessary things to keep and prepare food. The view is nice on the St.Pauls bay. Reception was very friendly and always willing to help and answer all your questions. Good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekaterina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,413 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing