We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 2013”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Porto Azzurro. The apartment was lovely very modern and comfortable. We stayed in 412. Although very noisy in the morning it was right beside the building site, that didn't really annoy us although if you wanted to sleep in that could be a problem. The staff were very helpful and pleasant especially Alexis Maylak who went out of her way to sort everything out for us. We took breakfast one morning and wern't very impressed with it. Everything including cups was in short supply and bananas were in halves but in truth if you wanted a whole banana there was nothing to stop you taking two halves. All in all we had a good time and would return again. Maura Doyle

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplemaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just got back from or third visit to this hotel and as always we really enjoyed our stay. Our studio was everything we expected and more, really clean and well equipped. Staff are really helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcome. We would like to thank Alexis Maylaq in particular for the help she gave us :-)
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Malta
Looking forward to seeing you again next year !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Once again a very, very warm welcome by Alexis and everyone at the hotel. It feels like coming home because everyone, and I mean everyone, remembers you from the previous visit and greets you like a friend.
A great base for anyone wanting to visit the North of the Island, sandy beaches within a 5 min. car drive and walking distance to the seafront promenade and 11 very good restaurants.
Already booked our stay for the end of April 2013!!!

Room Tip: Penthouses have wonderful views of both the bay and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just spent four nights at the Porto Azzuro hotel. we really enjoyed our stay and found our studio room great, it was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Porto Azzuro is a great option for a relaxing break, as it is away from the big resorts such as St Julian and Sliema.
I would recommend the Porto Azzuro for a great budget option - if you want five star pay for it!!! The Porto Azzuro is good value for money and does not deserve some of the reviews it has received. i would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A warm welcome, good domestic facilities, opportunities that cater for personnel (Health and Beauty saloon) and cultural interests (Bookings for excursions on site.) all held together by a friendly accommodating staff and the enthusiastic support of Alexis - what more can one ask for, for a relaxing, enjoyable holiday! Oh, and good value for money.

Room Tip: In the heat of the summer perhaps to consider a room on the north side of the hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13PippaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here H.B. for two weeks in Feb. The hotel was clean, the room we had was on the 6th floor, it was shabby in need of decorating,the beds and pillows had stains on the sheets and pillow cases were old and had holes in and the towels were a grey colour. The heating did not work for3 days even though we complained. As for the food, breakfast consisted of cheap quality items greasy and nearly always cold. The evening meal was salad or soup a choice 3 different meals all badly cooked again nearly always cold, followed by chefs cake usually stale or tin fruit. We ended up eating out a lot. The bar was in the basement did not open to 6pm . During the day there was no where to get a coffee or snack. Bar was dark. The prices were ok. The staff all work hard especially Katherine who works in the bar and hotel shop, she made the evenings a pleasure, and is full of information and very helpful. Beware of the time share scam who work from the pool area across the road,they will try to talk you in to buying into their so called "club " tell them you want to check them out on reviews on the Internet , they won't what you to. We would not go back to this hotel ,rather spend our money somewhere else, hope you will do the same.

Room Tip: Don't go find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bisciut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for finding the time to write regarding your experience at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our sincere apologies if you did not like our food. Recently, we have been having a good feedback regarding breakfasts and dinners and that they are value for money both with regards to quality and portions wise. We will try to track which room where you in so that we will change what is required. It is a normal procedure that we check the rooms.

In case that you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Sincerely,

Charlot Abela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The service of Maria and the male college were very good !
i liked the choice of items during the breakfast and the people who worked at the reception were also very good.
I think the night-worker should never allow any parties in the rooms, also not if it is their last evening. We experienced this 1 night.

Room Tip: bovenste verdieping het beste zodat je geen schuifgeluiden hoort van de uitschuifbedden.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ellabellaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,665 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $22 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing