We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley amazeballs!!”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutley amazeballs!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Love this hotel as a first time to malta. Porto fino bar is ABSOLUTELY wonderful! Very good prices. VERY lovely staff! Catherine is beautiful and very friendly. Made me feel very welcome and more at home than in scotland . If you visit malta, you MUST visit this lovely bar . Thank you for making me have such a great time! Lots of love Smudge from scotland xxx :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudge-from-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    488
    309
    150
    116
See reviews for
261
651
104
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A very satisfactory stay in Jan/Feb; the appartment was spcious and well appointed; the service was cheerful and efficient...towels & linen changed daily; therestaurant is much improved after being taken in house and Alexsis ( client contact) was always pleasant & helpful . So no complaints from us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from a winter break in Malta (10-17 Feb) and we stayed at the Porto Azzurro in Xemxija bay, we stayed on the half board option. i would describe it as a cheap and cheerful hotel. The room was clean and a good size (223) the decor is a little dated, the towels were changed daily and the beds changed twice a week, the food got better as the week progressed due to a change in the kitchen staff (we must say a special thank you to Maria who made meal times so cheerful) The bar had entertainment on 4 of the nights. The hotel has a small heated indoor pool and a well equipped gym. all in all a good hotel for the price we paid. If you are after a hotel close to the night life then this is not the hotel for you but if you want a quiet hotel in a nice location that is reasonably priced with indoor and outdoor swimming pools then why not give it a try. It is not the Ritz just a small friendly hotel with good bus connections to all the major sites at the bottom of the road

Room Tip: Hotel rooms at the rear of the building get the morning sun, rooms at the front overlook the outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here on a promotional offer and have to say i wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy! We arrived and although the receptionist was lovely and very helpful, they'd got our room booking wrong and tried to fit 3 people in a two person room on the 6th floor. The elevator is so small only 1 person and 1 suitcase can fit at any one time. If your a larger person, you have no chance! The first room we were put in was dirty and it stank of sewage. The second room was just as bad and eventually, after complaining numerous times, we were placed in a ground floor apartment that wasn't too bad. It had a little kitchenette, 3 beds, and a tv with a little dining table and chairs. The bathroom was ok, however, there was no shower curtain so the water went absolutely everywhere and after a few days, the drains started to really smell! The room wasn't cleaned very thoroughly and there were ants crawling all over the floor and i was being bitten in my bed at night so there was probably an issue with bed bugs. I wouldn't ever contemplate staying there ever again and as I said earlier, I wouldn't wish this place on my worst enemy!
The only good thing i can say is location was quite good as the bus stop was outside with lots of buses stopping there making access to the whole island very easy, and the restaurant Porto Del Sol which is very close by was amazing place to eat as the hotel food was abysmal!

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor as rooms are bigger and the elevators are terrible, but i guess highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicxMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to post this review.

We apologize if we did not meet your expectations. As I previously mentioned in previous responses, we are continuously working hard to upgrade the product and try to meet everyone's expectations.

As one can note, our hard work is giving good results and since November we have been having a very good feedback as posted on Trip Advisor.

In case that you would like to come back, please do contact me on charlot@portoazzurro.com.mt and we will make your stay a memorable one.

Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was at the porto azzurro from the 9-16 of this month it was horrible we got a small room had to pay 42 pound s to get a sofa bed then the cold water tap there was no cold water the food wasn't great we ended up eating out. it was cold the heater in rooms didn't work some of the staff were rude and to top it all they came on the day we were leaving to fix it all .we where not the only ones to camplain.

Room Tip: Don't go st Paul bay go valleta
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel and finding the time to give your opinion regarding your stay.

We truly regret that we did not meet your expectations. We have been working hard so that we will constantly upgrade the property and give a better service.

In case that you will be returning to Porto Azzurro, please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail on charlot@portoazzurro.com.mt, where we will ensure to provide you with our family service.

Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a self catering apartment that we were very pleased with, except for kitchen,no grill, no t-towels,two very blunt knives. Maid service every day, all staff very helpful. Maria who helps with breakfast and evening meals exceptionally good. RCI rep very helpful. We're already planning our next holiday and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

decided on a winter break in december,went to malta staying @porto azzurro in st pauls bay tel area.situated in aquiet part of the bay area,but within easy reach of most parts of malta due to bus stopping 2 mins from hotel.the hotzedel its self has most services available,indoor pool gym,outdoor lido area,shop excursion desk.the resturant serves good sized portions.drinks priced reasonable.very helpfull staff especially alexis melag,who would solve any problems,not that i had any.will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albieroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing