We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not one we booked” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel not one we booked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were booked to stay in another hotel (where there was more night life) a couple of days before we got a phone call to say it was fully booked. We enjoyed our stay, it was clean and staff really great. the down side pool bar not open while we were there no entertainment in hotel buses stop at eight o clock. Would visit Malta again but stay in more lively area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    476
    301
    146
    113
See reviews for
255
632
101
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you have booked or thinking of booking at the Porto Azzurro and have read other reviews you will be surprised what the Porto Azzurro has to offer.

BAD POINTS. No smoking in the bar area not enforced. Situated on a steep hill about 60 metre walk from the sea front, might not be suitable for some people with walking difficulties.

GOOD POINTS. Friendly atmosphere. Good room, read the information on arrival. Don't expect a Studio Apartment to be cleaned every day. Extra towels are available at reception.

Restaurant. Good breakfast selection (3.5 euro if you are not B&B}. Dinner, good selection from 6 euro upwards. Set menu 3 course 12 euro.

Public areas cleaned daily.

Pool area good but not supervised.

Value for money. Excellent if you book the accommodation and flight yourself. I did cost package holidays and saved between £300 and £500 on flights and 2 rooms. (Family of 3).

Excellent base to explore Malta. Be careful if you hire a car on the island as fuel can be charged on delivery at 1/2 tank £40+ for £20 of fuel, which I think is very excessive.

Would I return to the Porto Azzurro YES.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KenB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I don't understand what people are complaining about. Yes the location isn't fabulous, but the bus stop is just outside the front door from which you can get all over the island.
The staff were very helpful and moved us as soon as another room became available ( original room was right by reception and rather noisy). The rooms are basic and clean.
The facilities are adequate. Best bit about our stay, the bar man! Absolute hoot! Loved him, had very enjoyable evenings propping up the bar with him ( hope the funeral went ok).
Would recommend this hotel for a quiet break x

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachypoodum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I simply can't understand all the negative reviews. It's incredibly cheap. Location is not great yet the bus stop is right outside, from which you can get all over the island. We had a couple of problems with the room being right next to reception, but we were moved as soon as able. Receptionist is very helpful and knowledgeable. The batman is an absolute hoot, we had some very enjoyable evenings propping up the bar with him (hope the funeral went ok).
Would defiantly stay again for a quiet break x

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachypoodum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

There was only one person in the hotel worth her salt, Joyce the others were surly and almost agressive. The cleaning left a lot to be desired, shower tiles had escaped cleaning for a long time,the wardrobe had 4 hangers, 2 of which were broken, beds were comfortable but sheets wrong size for bed, no mattress covers, pillows were cut up foam and just a pillow case on them. Top blanket was stained. The fan produced more fluff and cobwebs than cool air. View from window was an unfinished apartment block, access for rubbish removal and an unfinished neighbouring balcony; the building work didn't wake us because it looked as if it had been abandoned years ago, so much so that sparrows had taken up residence in the vents. The layout of the hotel was awful, getting to the room was as what I imagine the trip to Hades must be like past the cleaners room, a toilet with an ever open door, the office, a shute for building materials, walking past or slipping if someone had been swimming, the indoor pool, an empty jacuzzi, the hideous smell of the gym, where correct clothing didn't seem necessary and a plant which had died months ago. Why wasn't it removed? The stairway to the rooms was tiny, banging the wall was almost inevitable, with a bag. The lift was too small, a family would have difficulty getting in especially with a case.
The breakfast was chaos, never enough plates or cups or cutlery even bread until the heated serving area was finally used, why the delay? First day the English waitress greeted us with"Full English" felt like saying no Mrs ........., Why was this asumed, only by looking at others plates were we aware that other things were on offer. Why no fresh fruit as there was a plethora for sale on the island? And I never want to see another portion of frozen mixed veg or fried potatoes in my life as if on half board this was what you had....... for 7 nights in our case, or would have but we defected to a lovely place round the corner from hotel.
The bar had "no smoking " signs but these weren't enforced and the outdoor area by the bar had more cigarette butts in the planters than live trees. Remove the dead plants, instantly makes things look better. Time share people are everywhere, take no notice of them if you can, the one we spoke to even admitted that the hotel was a sh....le, not very professional language but in this instance quite succinct. Travel is ok on the buses as 5 day pass is 11.65 euros and the buses are frequent. Gozo is lovely as are Medina, Rabatt. Olivio was another good eating venue. Great holiday for building inspector who is bored as plenty to inspect, some of which seem like a competitor to the Berlin Wall but much higher than it ever was. So relieved that the ash cloud didn't travel south

Room Tip: Take your own kettle and mugs, none in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumof3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

I am sorry to learn that our hotel and services did not match your expectations. I fully agree that our team should be at your service at any time and rest assure I have discussed this issue within my team to improve our presence.

We appreciate that you brought details about your experience to our attention and immediate action has been taken to improve upon our responses.

I hope that our actions as explained above can serve as reassurance that we take your feedback fully on board and should you wish to detail your experience any further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on info@portoazzurro.com.mt.

In closing I hope that we will have the opportunity to present an improved experience to you and I look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Malta.


Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Stowmarket, Suffolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Have just returned with my wife from a 10 day holiday at this establishment and whilst the actaul holiday was superb because Malta is such a lovely Country the hotel has much to improve on. We stayed in a self catering apartment on the 3rd floor. We asked for a sea view which we got albeit with a massive crane not 30 metres away from our balcony. There is a building programme very slowly progressing adjoining Port Azzurro which looks a long job so be warned that you could be woken in the mornings by workmen moving rubble and such on this massive crane. The actual view of St Pauls Bay is just a fraction of the actual bay so don't be fooled by pictures that suggest you will see the whole bay. In fact only about a dozen or so of the rooms have partial sea views. Whilst we were there renovation was also taking place at the outside pool bar. When we booked in the receptionist was not welcoming which was disappointing after a long day of travel but we did ask for a change of room as we had a rusty fridge with no freezer department and because the view was so disappointing. We were offered another room but it was a second floor room overlooking the road at the back of the property. Other guests we spoke to had rooms they were far from satisfied with with size and views the problems.Plus points bus service superb with stops either side of the road outside the complex. The location was OK for us as we walked the 3km to Bugibba but the less fit will need to catch a bus to go anywhere and you will need to do that, as there is very little to do in Xemxija. There is a nice little pool and fitness centre in the basement of the complex and an over priced mini market for essentials. We did our main food shopping at Trollees in Bugibba. Beaches are few and far between in Malta but bus rides to Golden Bay and Mellieh Bay are well worth it and would recommend you buy bus passes which are very cheap.Back to the apartments - I am sure Port Azzurro will get it right but at the moment there is room for improvement. Oh and beware of time share selling which is in abundance around Port Azzurro.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itfc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

couldn't fault friendly lovely meals for half board would recommend

Room Tip: get a sea view if available
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing