We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Dolphin Holiday Complex
Reviewed September 20, 2013

just back from a weeks stay at the white dolphin apartments, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was more then we expected for a 3*, if im ever back in malta this is where i will stay again, the bar staff were so nice and the food was excellent,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 441 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The staff here were very nice and we can't fault them - very helpful in getting taxis organised etc. However, the reception was barely available - only really open when you would typically be out and about enjoying the holiday! It was possible to go to the bar if reception wasn't open so all was not lost!
Our room was over the bar and so was quite noisy in the morning when chairs etc were being laid out.
Also, our room could do with an overhaul. The shower didn't turn off properly, the grouting needs to be cleaned/redone, and the plastic shelf needs to be replaced in the bathroom. The bed and pillow were incredibly uncomfortable which resulted in no sleep for a week! I had to clean the desk myself as it was still dusty and dirty from whoever had the room before us. Lastly, and most worryingly, there was a sign over the hob which read "Caution - please don't spill water on the hob as it may cause a power cut"!!!! Needless to say we didn't go anywhere near it after that!! The hob itself looked like it had been around in the 80s and so didn't trust it anyway.
The pool is only open between 10am and 6pm and could have done with being open a couple of hours longer, but when you could go in it, it was lovely.
Overall, I wouldn't stay here again... and I would definitely look for a 4* hotel next time, but it was cheap and cheerful - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazycatlady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Arrived home yesterday (10th September) Our first time staying at the White Dolphin & we enjoyed our stay there very much. The studio appartment overlooked the bay......amazing! We would like to thank all the staff there for helping us enjoy our stay, especially Jes, Lino, Richard & the chef (dont know his name) without a doubt they made us feel very welcome & nothing was to much trouble. Will definitley be staying there again next year, and hopefully be able to stay in the pent house if it is available. Gene & Noel (room 507)

Room Tip: We stayed here on a friends recommendation, plus I requested at the travel agents a 'top studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I would like to comment on the staff but unfortunately did not interact with them very much. Every time I tried to talk to someone about our disappointment of the hotel no one was available and even upon checking out, which we did a day early as we could not stay any longer, I was told that I did not need to tell anyone why. Even when trying to give them more money, to pay 7.50 a day extra for air conditioning, no one could be found.

The bathroom was a disgrace with moldy bath mats and curtain. The top bed sheet was stained.

We stayed here as it seemed a reasonable price, but by the time you have paid extra for the air conditioning etc it was the same price as some of the better hotels we had stayed in on our trip (5 in total)

The balcony was awful, overlooking a wall with a faded mural and two of us could not sit on it as the chairs were stuck together.

Upon checking in there was no welcome just a here is your key and your room is there- just someone pointing.

Very disappointing end to the holiday, so much so we checked out early to not end the holiday on a low point.

I would not have minded certain points, had i not paid the money to stay- it was definitely hostel standards for hotel prices.

I have attached some photos, but forgot to take any of the entrance way with its gray faded mats that were dirty, lift that looked like it was going to break at any moment and cigarette butts on top of bins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HannahPeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella B, General Manager at White Dolphin Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Your comments are always welcome as they help us to improve our services. We are very sorry that you did not have a good stay with us and that you did not manage to find anyone availalbe from our staff during your whole stay.

Our Complex is composed of self catering apartments and not hotel rooms, therefore, the reception hours operate differently from that of a hotel. We still provide the same basic services which however may appear odd to guests who are more used to hotels. Although the reception office is officially open from 9am till 2pm, the Complex is manned 24 hours and when the reception office is closed the Restaurant Management offers the same service as that of the reception and is responsible to process any requests or requirements from guests. When the restaurant closes at midnight, a night receptionist is available at the reception office until the morning.

Since you arrived on a Sunday, the Bar Manager would have given you an envelope with the key to your apartment and directed you to your room. Our Complex is not very big and is only composed of 2 identical blocks of apartments and the directions to the rooms are very easy. The staff at our bar / restaurant, who happen to be the managers of the restaurant, are usually very helpful and approachable. We are sorry if they did not make you feel welcome.

I was also present during reception hours on the days you were in-house but did not get the occasion to meet you.

We hope that at least you liked Malta and our islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

firstly this was our first holiday abroad as a family and we was not disappointed. the apartment was very clean and spacious, the towels and bedding was changed twice a week while we was there. the staff were very friendly and helpful too. the apartment was very close to the bay area and also to tourist street which was 5 minutes walk away and had every type of food restaurant you will ever need from fish and chips (best one is Sea Shell) to Chinese along with many gift shops all selling great gifts at very good prices. the whole holiday was great with much to see and the White Dolphin was a great base. my only grumble is the price of the Air conditioning at 10 Euro a day it is very very expensive so sleeping was hard. other then that a great place to say and I would love to stay there again. others have complained on here before about the pool being shaded in the afternoon but to be honest it is very welcome after a hot day. the sun hits the pool area at 7am and so if people got up earlier and sunbathed they would get 7 hours straight of sun. I would be up and down at the pool early and the pool itself is not too crowded and big enough. Thanks to Lino and Marchella for a great stay and your friendliness is valued.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonBoy196401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we have just spent a week at the white dolphin , this is a basic good base for a self catering holiday we didn't use the pool or loungers but they were available and were free. we had a ground floor room with a courtyard at the back ,it didn't get the sun and the smell from the kitchens made it we felt unusable but it didn't stop us enjoying our week away .the staff are friendly and helpful . we found a local bar across the road called images where mark and vannesa made us welcome well worth a visit I would say too avoid frattelles further along as the service is appalling we waited 50 mins for our meal and then the staff said we are having problems so we just left and went to chaplins round the corner which is still worth a visit and good value

Room Tip: try and avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just got back from a week’s stay at the White Dolphin, very happy.
Where to begin this was our 3th stay here in the last 15 years and the standard has always been good. We stayed bed & breakfast, which is served from 8am till 10.30am. Rooms are a good size clean and tidy, towels were changed mid week.
We had no problem get a sun loungers (but we did get up for breakfast every morning) no mad rush which was nice. The pool does lose the sun by 2.30pm but the beach if you want more is only 5-minute walk away.
The restaurant is of a good standard and well worth visiting. I was a bit concerned as previously the calconze pizza’s were very good and one off the things I was looking forward to but when I looked at the menu the one I wanted had olives in it. I mentioned this to Lino (top hard working waiter/barman) and he said no problem they would make it without them for me, so you no they are not pre made.
Also they now have a barbecue night on a Friday all you can eat for 16 euros well worth it with live entertainment.
Drinks are on par with most places on the island 2.50 Euros for a pint of Cisk beer.

This hotel is ideal for families with young children, or couples it only has 50 rooms which is a nice friendly size hotel they don’t attract large groups of student’s etc. and the music stops at 11pm.

To sum up clean friendly fair price what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,682 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Dolphin Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Dolphin Holiday Complex

Address: Triq Il-Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1904, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $25 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Dolphin Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Dolphin Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Dolphin Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
White Dolphin Holiday Complex Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing