We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean aparments in Qwara Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Dolphin Holiday Complex
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed there Oct 2012, two weeks and we asked for the studio apartment which over looks the pool. This is an accommodation of two halves. The front "studio" apartments were spacious clean and had plenty of amminites,The mattress's were brand new slightly hard but its what you are used to. Best self catering kitchen for some time. However if you elect for the 1 bedroomed apartments, they are spcious but they are all located to the rear of the porperty and look directly onto a wall some 15ft away. If you are unfortunate to be allocated ground floor or 1st floor the rooms are very dark at the height of the day. We emailed the apartments before we arrived and were given a 2nd floor front facing room. The email was replied to within an hour. That aside the towels are changed twice a week but the sheets only once, but they would give you new sheets on request. The staff are excellent (all English speaking of course as it is Malta), A number of couples arrived and were not happy with their rooms and downsized to a studio within 24hrs.
There restaurant on site, is about the best in Qwara, The chef really can cook and you pay only about 2 eu more but worth it. The pool when we were there was hardly used and it had plenty of sunbeds but due to the high walls and positioning of the apartments you only get direct sunshine for sunbathing until 1330hrs.
The bar at the complex is the same price for alcohol as it is out in Qwara and once a week they had a BBQ on. There is no live music at these apartments and they do request silence from 11pm, but most people are usually out in Brigiba so that was not a problem.. The location is good if you want peace and quiet and the livelier Brigiba is a 10min walk away, but there is an incline involved to get to it. Qwara itself has a number of eating places but is mainly Big Hotels, Brigiba is very English orientated and has lots of restaurants and some live entertainment . If you do go to Malta, dont treat this as a Spanish/Greek holiday and ly by the pool all day, The Island has lots of Historic sites within easy reach ie Mosta, Midna (The quiet city) and they are all easy to reach. All vehicles drive on the left as in our country and all the Buses are Green Arriva buses now. We paid 12Eu p.p. for a weekly pass and hopped on an off the buses all day long, fantastic value for money and we got to see all the sites at a fraction of what the Reps charge. Malta is not for everyone, and the majority of "Brits" there were previous visitors and generally elderly 60's+. But it is worth a visit.
These apartments are low cost, but very spacious and an excellent base for seeing the island, I will mention again the staff Love the English (and Scots etc) and very helpful .
There are 4 lovely apartments/penthouse suites on the 6th floor and if available you can ask to upgrade, the price was 125eu p/week but these have double bed and privet sunbating facilities

Room Tip: Chose studio not one bedroomed apartments, as these have a balcony which looks out towards Selina Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ewanmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 434 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Malta and stayed at the White Dolphin...and will definitely go back. People need to realize this is not a hotel....it provides low-cost, clean apartment-style accommodations so you can live and dine on your own schedule. The staff were friendly and helpful; the meals we ate in the restaurant (3) were very good. Yeah, the sun only shines on the pool area until around noon, but so what?...there are miles of coastline nearby to sunbathe if that's your thing. We were so busy travelling around the island on the public bus system (what a deal!) and exploring the pubs and restaurants and shops in the Qarwa and Bugibba area that we only managed to get to Golden Bay three times for snorkelling and sunning. There is no question that your opinion of the WD will depend on what room you get. As everyone has said, if you want a pool/ocean-view balcony, request a studio unit...but the manager told me that some agencies will book you a 1-bedroom unit if no studios are available (thinking it's an upgrade) but you will end up with a room-with-no-view. The staff will try to accommodate everyone's requests, but everyone is emailing and asking for balconies...so book early! And if you want all the services that go with a hotel, don't stay here...try the Radisson and pay five times as much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piscesman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Found the hotel to be ok. Staff very friendly. Food excellent the chef deserves a medal. At night all is quiet after 11pm. Thats fine for us we are not night clubbing at our age. However after our meal we were sitting chatting with a glass of wine with a lovely couple we met and looked up at 10pm and saw to our surprise that the bar was closed and the staff had fled. POOR SERVICE.
Anyone going be careful what rooms you book. We had a lovely studio apartment on the 5th floor overlooking the sea, however some of the apartments look straight out to a wall a few feet away.
Rooms are cleaned once a week, we had three changes of towels in a fortnight, and you take your own rubbish over to the bin accross the road.
However to round it all up the apartment was clean the food was good and it did not kill us to take our rubbish to the bin. I would have liked fresh sheets more often as it is hot and a fresh bed is nice. Air conditioning is extra, (we pulled our beds out and put them under the ceiling fan at night also the mosquitos dont like air movement so thats a bonus) hairdryer extra, as is your saftey deposit box in the room.
WARNING The buses are excellent but watchout !!!!!! my husband had his wallet taken by pickpockets as did other people. The number 12's are the worst as they are crowded (double bendy buses) we were like sardines and you need your hands to hold on with the manic drivers, leaving your pockets ungarded, an ideal ground for these theives. Better to go to the terminal and get a seat on the bus if not wait for the next one(10mins) do not stand in a crush. I do hasten to add its not just Malta that has pickpockets they are all over tourist places but the buses are prime spots.How many people can you get on a bus? Too many to count.
Dont let me put you off Malta lots of beauty, history and good food.
Just be careful I have pointed out thenegatives but the positives out way these.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alisonandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for the second time in Sept and really enjoyed it, We did ask for a high floor and had fantastic views. The rooms are clean and the balconies are great. The sea is just across the road and the staff are lovely. Would love to book again this year however Thomas cook and most of the other airlines are not flying from East Midlands and the flight they do have from Birmingham are really late so it looks like ill not be back until the flights are sorted, really silly as all the planes are chocka block so i don't see why they have done it. Will miss being in malta though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnahay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hi Everyone,
When we arrived at hotel we were made very welcome by all staff.
Everyone was very polite, friendly and brilliant sense of humours.
We had a lovely time here, lovely sized apartment, excerllent food :) we did have kitchen in our appartment, but when you smell the food in the restruant we just had to try it.
There is plently to do and see locally, we would defantly go again :)

Sam and Sammy :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxyladyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Sorry all you people who think White Dolphin Apartments are great but we can't agree. We have just returned from a dreadful holiday there. We were put in a ground floor room looking out onto the restaurant, with restaurant tables against our outside wall. Customers could look straight into the room and if they were smoking the smoke came in. The room was not particularly clean, was damp and smelly, had no natural light and the furniture extremely tired. We had no outside space other than the restaurant so nowhere to dry washing or sit in an evening with our own bottle of wine. We asked to be moved to a different room and our request was repeatedly refused. In fact, the receptionist was rude and accused us of being troublemakers because we weren't happy. We are a retired couple.

Room Tip: If you must go there, demand for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank annie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from the White Dolphin,we enjoyed the basic but clean studio apartment,a good size room with twin beds cooker fridge pots pans etc,allthough we only used the kettle and fridge everything else is there if you do want to cook, allthough the apartment resturant serves food ,the bathroom is a good size with walk in shower and plenty of hot water.
The plus point for us was the lovely view of the bay from our room and balcony and we overlooked the pool,which we used on a couple of days during our week at th White Dolphin,by 12-00 lunch time the sun had gone of the pool but the water was quite pleasant even in September.
Cant comment on food quality or prices in their resturant we never used it we prefered to go out to eat,full english breakfast at the Bell Pub 5 minutes walk away for £2 ,and plenty of eateries not far away all good value for food and drink.

Room Tip: Book a studio,we believe 1 bed room apartments dont have much of a view,we were on the 5th floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,643 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Dolphin Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Dolphin Holiday Complex

Address: Triq Il-Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1904, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $15 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Dolphin Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Dolphin Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Dolphin Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
White Dolphin Holiday Complex Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing