We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Villa five star”
other travelers have booked this property
SUUNY POOL TERRACE WITH COUNTRY VIEWS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SUUNY POOL TERRACE WITH COUNTRY VIEWS
BBQ AREA Swimming pool with country views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
SUUNY POOL TERRACE WITH COUNTRY VIEWS
BBQ AREA
Swimming pool with country views
I WANT TO DIVE IN NOW
RELAXED IN THE SHADE
GET A TAN!!
Villa Manikata WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE
BRIGHT UPSTAIRS HALLWAY
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN OPENING ONTO POOL TERRACE
HALLWAY DOWNSTAIRS OPENING ONTO COURTYARD
CENTRAL COURTYARD
Double bedroom WITH ENSUITE SHOWER
DOUBLE BEDROOM ENSUITE SHOWER
DOUBLE BEDROOM ENSUITE SHOWER
TWIN SINGLE BEDROOM
DINING ROOM
LOUNGE OVERLOOKING POOL TERRACE
RELAX
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Andrew L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Villa five star”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a two-week stay what a lovely place.
It has air con and ceiling fans in all the bedrooms all with on suite, kitchen has everything you need kettle, toaster, dishwasher microwave and gas cooker. There was also a washing machine for you to use while there and a BBQ outside.

The pool was great fun and we all could use it at the same time with no problems any time we wanted. Everything worked as it should, we even had hand soap in the bathrooms along with toilet paper, and the owner had even supplied Tea, coffee, water and milk for us upon our arrival, which was a very pleasant surprise.

We were left two keys, which was a great thing as we had two teenage girls that went out clubbing at night while we were out elsewhere.

Villa was lovely and clean, with towels left out for us as well as bath robs. We could not fault this place or the owner, maid, pool cleaner or transfer driver.

We did not hire a car this time and did find getting about not so easy as there is a problem with the buses at the moment. Apparently they are waiting for 100 new ones and the service is very hit and miss so be warned. Personally I would hire a car next time.

There is a shop around the corner, which is open 6 days a week and sells everything you could need. A little further around the corner is a restaurant which is only open on a Friday & Saturday night but well worth a visit (four courses with wine 15 Euro each) for traditional Maltese food. Golden bay was only a 20-minute walk away this is where you pick up most buses and the restaurant there is better than it looks we eat there a few times.

To sum up a great villa that ticks all the right boxes in a lovely part of Malta idle for family or friends nice friendly neighbours around you, would we go back of course we will.

This was our 5th visit to Malta but first time in a villa, it will not be our last visit here that’s for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private Pool
Liked least: Nothing apart from having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you for your positive feedback. It was our pleasure meeting you both and having you stay at our villa. It was a pity I didn't get to meet the rest of the family. Our main interest was that you were greatly satisfied and that we made you feel most comfortable with your stay.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerrynRob
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plenty of room, quiet and well equiped”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful, peaceful fortnight here and the kitchen etc. is very well equipped. We wanted for very little. There are many plants and some pictures to brighten the place up. The place was cleaned thoroughly and the bedding changed after the first week and the towels were changed twice a week.
There is plenty of room to entertain quite a few people (the lounge/diner is really large) and at one point we had six or eight people playing gently in the pool without being overcrowded.
It is in a quiet, remote village but we had no trouble getting around to many parts of the island in our little hire car.
There are a few decent restaurants not too far away on fairly quiet roads and a good value supermarket within about 15 minutes drive.
This villa would be OK for families with young children but, of course, they would have to be watched around the pool e.g.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's self contained - we were independant
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you for your kind review about your stay at our house. It is our main concern to make you feel comfortable and for you to have an enjoyable holiday. So I am glad that you found it relaxing and couldn't ask for more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen f
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very spacious villa with lovely pool”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Manikata is huge! Lovely old stone building with large rooms throughout. All bedrooms air-con (though we didn't use it as it was only 24C most of the week).
Small but very nice pool (very clean) on the rooftop terrace which our 5 year old spent much of the week in! Parents please be ware that your child should be able to swim - one end of the pool is 2m deep.
Most of the fittings & utensils etc are"up to scratch" - we found there were no BBQ tools, but this was resolved with the owners within 24 hours.
Local shop keeps a selection of essentials, but there isn't anything else in Manikata, to shop for decent fresh food you need to travel 10mins to Bugibba for supermarkets, fish shops, bakeries etc. Car is pretty essential.
Google maps shows a local "Manikata Heritage Trail" - this is a total fiction, no signposts, waymarking or anything.
Bakers van, Fish van, vegatable van call at random intervals - but they don't hang around long & if your up on the first floor by the pool you'll probably miss them, we mostly did!

Very enjoyable week & suited our odd mix of ages from daughter at 5 to her (fit!) grandad at 89 - you need to be aware that ceilings are high & hence long staircase from Ground to 1st floors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Malta and that you and your family were comfortable at our house in Manikata. It is our priority that you are made to feel at home and to ensure your stay is up to your expectations.

It is rather strange that you missed the Manikata heritage trail, down the hill always onto your right, close to Ghajn tuffieha. If you go into the unused scouts quarters, where there's a gate there's an exhibition on what you will find there. It is a pity as if you asked the people there would have given you a map with the trail.
Maybe you will be back next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigita320...
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful villa in a quiet small town”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent 9 days in the villa in the end of October 2014 - two adults and three children aged 1-6 years old.
Everything since the very first moment of communication with the owner was very smooth. We have arrived late at night (past midnight) and the villa was left for us with the dim lights on which felt very welcoming.
The size of the house is enormous and in fact it looks much better and more spacious than the pictures portray. The weather temperature in the house was just perfect for the time of the year, we did not need neither the aircon, nor the heaters. The pool was a bit too chilly but our children still enjoyed it a lot. The spaces are huge in the house, the kitchen is not very modern, but there are all the necessary utensils and equipment for your comfortable self-catering holidays.
The village itself is very small and quiet, but there is a shop for the grocery necessities and we rented a car and drove around the island to discover different beaches (Paradise Bay being our absolute favourite) and Valetta, Mdina, Marsaxlokk and Gozo.
Although some refreshments are necessary in the bathrooms and the kitchen (dishwasher), the owner confirmed they are planned during the winter season, and I highly recommend the villa to anyone looking for a quiet, authentic and comfortable stay very close to all main attraction sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: authenticity of the old Maltese house, lounge area around the swimming pool
Liked least: the house is very loud - you can hear every step you make downstairs or upstairs, but that was not a problem for us as we were spending evenings quiet
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2014
Thank you for your great remarks. Our intention is always to make you most comfortable and to have a lovely holiday, our house being part of it. We are very glad you enjoyed it and it was nice meeting you and your family.
This winter, as we do every year, we are planning some improvements.
Thank you once again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathair20...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely. spacious accommodation”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 6 and found the villa very spacious. The villa was clean and had all the essentials. The pool was clean and we used it most days. The location is rural and therefore only one shop but we preferred that to the busy towns and had no difficulty getting around Malta using the public transport system which is cheap. We ate out a lot but bought our groceries in the bigger towns. There is a lovely beach about quarter hour walk from the villa and a couple of good restaurants nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms were downstairs which meant they were cooler than the rooms upstairs
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2014
Thank you...the description of the house is as you found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryan100
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this apartment for our holiday this summer two adults and three children. It was as describe by the owner, very clean spacious and well equipped,
nice quiet relaxing location,
Air con was excellent, and pool was great

If we are back in the future we will try to get this again, and i absolutely recommand it to all people who want a nice spacious house in Malta

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool was great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thanks for your good comments. As always we try to ensure that You have a great time in our house by making you most comfortable and relaxed.
We hope to see you again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula1427
Ireland
1 review
“Exceptionally Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself and 5 friends, 3 lads and 3 lassies our ages raging from 19 to 30 stayed at this wonderful villa in September, we could not get over how big the Villa was when we first arrived, it was in priesting condition. With towels on our beds, robes in our wardrobes and as we arrived at night there was a light left on for us, we felt so welcome. We all had our own Rooms and Bathrooms with Air Conditioning this really helped as we are Irish :) The Villa is well built with lots of character and charm and beautiful decorated I loved the beams in the ceilings. The kitchen is well equipped with all the gadgets needed for cooking with stunning views. The villa was very peaceful with night life just a short taxi ride away. The Golden Bay beach was only a 10 min walk with a selection of bars and restaurants. We spent most of our time by the Pool which had loungers and seats for us all to relax. The owner was so helpful from the minute we booked the villa in May. We would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: The chickens accross the road making noise in the morning
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
Thank you so much for a really fantastic review...we do try to make our tenants as comfortable and at home as possible and I am glad that we succeeded in making your holiday a most enjoyable one. You truly described the house as it really is and it was a pleasure having your group of well behaved young people to stay and relax.
Thank you once again and hope to see you next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing