We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
glasgow scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel in the past, so I can tell you with all honesty standards have gone down. They used to pride themselves on how their guests were treated clearly this is not the case anymore. We arrived after dinner had finished, we asked if the bar served snacks, yes we were told but all inclusive does not cover it you will have too pay,apparently all inclusive covers next to nothing so watch out you find yourselves paying for all most anything.
We paid 140euros extra too upgrade to a suite what a laugh that was we found ourselves in a superior room with an arch, the suite bore no resemblance to the suite advertised in the lift. The food was mundane to say the least and as for the breakfast, because we arrived late the first evening we paid an extra 4 euros to have breakfast in our room the first morning this consisted of tea when we requested coffee,cold egg pie beans, burnt sausage and believe it or not chips all of which were stone cold. we never ate breakfast again.The Santana is probably a mediocre three star but certainly never a four star. TO regain there status they have too pull themselves up by the bootstraps and start giving value for money..................

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supersally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    531
    403
    153
    92
See reviews for
283
772
107
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Very tired and desperately in need of a refurbishment. Not a 4 star hotel as we know it

On the plus side, the staff are very helpful and work hard to make your stay enjoyable.

Don't be mislead by the pictures on the website, it shows a sea view from pool area, but as this is on the roof you can just see the sea, but not at all from any room in the hotel. No cold water could be obtained from the basin in the bathroom or the little kitchen area, only the bath/shower would give cold water (this makes cleaning your teeth a bit difficult). Did ask reception to attend to this, but not a noticeable difference after maintenance man had been.
There were 2 broken tiles as you enter the room (125) so beware of walking in bare feet, carpets have interesting stains, and the fridge door has rust and very dirty stickers advising you that its eco friendly!. Sheets were changed every 3 days, but unfortunately they do not reach all the way down the bed. Towels old and stiff, but again were changed regularly. Room did smell of stale cigarette smoke, and there was an ash tray in the room, so presumably previous occupant smoked in room. Not nice when you are a non-smoker !!

Food was tasty, but would have preferred fresh veg instead of the constant frozen variety,
This hotel is ok for a short 1 week stay, and compared to other holidays it was cheap and cheerful. There was no single supplement added which was very good. Wouldn't like to stay longer than 1 week though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank login53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax in england
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The wife and i stayed at the Hotel Santana from 30th October 2010 until 6th November 2010, on an all inclusive basis, and to be honest after reading some of the reviews were quite worried.We also had our mother and father in law stay in a upgraded room at extra cost, and they are still there as they went for two weeks.Anyway here goes;
Location
Situated near plenty of local bars,restaurants, the sea,and the local bus station, you also have the pleasure of having the hop on hop off double decker buses, that go around the island also stopping directly outside, making the location ideal for all ages.
The Hotel
Swimming pool and sunbathing area is on the roof, the pool is far too cold to use, and the weather we had was hot, but was bearable due to the pleasant breeze,i dont think i could handle sunbathing here in the summer months so beware.There is a heated pool and jacuzzi on the lower floor, and these were lovely to use, and quiet.
The Rooms
We stayed in 217, an adequate room, with limited view from the balcony of the front of the hotel.The room was of a decent size for the two of us, with a reasonable sized bathroom. The only negative was the fan, was not much use as a tool for air conditioning, and so you had to leave the balcony door open on a night time,i would imagine in the summer months, this would be a problem. My in laws paid for an upgraded room, which they tell me was a bit of a let down from previous visits over the past 10-12 years, in particular there is no kitchen facilities now, and they found the room cleaning very poor, as it hadnt been done for nearly a week while we were still there.I found however that our room was cleaned every day, and i have no complaints on the standard of cleaning.
Hotel staff and food
The hotel staff were lovely, very friendly and would do anything for you. In particular Scott and Matthew the bar staff. The food was superb, plenty of choice, hot,and presented well.
Bar
As an all inclusive resident, you are only allowed drinks from 1100-2300hrs. Also worthy of note is that you are only allowed this facility upto midday on departure day, which if you have a late flight, i feel is a bit of a con.Also the bar staff allowed you to get a couple in prior to last orders (as you do on holiday), but as always, you always get one member of staff who gets upset with this and this did leave a sour taste in my mouth at the way i was spoken to, however you cant allow one person spoil everything that the hotel and the staff had done throughout the previous week
Conclusion
I met some lovely people, ate some great food, had a few beers, and enjoyed the sun. What more can you ask for, and yes if you get the chance to go, then GO FOR IT..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xemxija, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on All Inclusive the very first summer it opened. I swore I would never go back! Fortunately, circumstances dictated that I needed a hotel in Qawra and the one I usually use was full, so I reluctantly booked. I contacted the hotel to request a room at the front on the 3rd floor or above and that’s exactly what I got.

The room was great for me, but would be a bit small if my husband had been with me. It was very clean and had everything I needed. I’m not a TV watcher but do like to have some background noise and to know what the news is. The TV does operate some free channels – Euro News and BBC Entertainment – the rest are Italian or Maltese etc. Personally I wouldn’t pay the €6.95 per day for pay to view to get other channels. I did read a review before I went that indicated you could be duped into paying for TV. If you read the instructions and use the remote as instructed this won't happen.

There is a safe in the room charge is around €1.25 per day.

The hotel restaurant is in the basement, but it has been updated since my first visit and I found breakfast a pleasant experience even though there’s no view. Breakfast offered everything I wanted, coffee was fairly good – juices looked a bit suspect but orange tasted OK.

I did not take the evening meal, but did notice that for B & B guests there are several evening meal packages which seemed very reasonable. Judging by the breakfast I would guess the evening meal would be good. I ate a few times at La Mentha – also owned by the hotel. The menu is a bit limited, and had I been with my husband we would not have gone more than once – but for me on my own it was fine. You also get a discount there if you are staying in the hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful and for the price I paid I thought it was very good value for money and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank x1Rach1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We were booked into another hotel but when we arrived in Malta it was overbooked so we got a place at the Santana. Well apart from the negatives below i thought it was very nice it was clean the staff was very well mannered and very helpful. I did enjoy my stay there. The food was EXCELLENT so many choices and it was just fantastic the food is 5 starts as far as I am concerned. I would not stay again if i was diving due to my negatives below. But if i was just going for a holiday i would stay again as it is very good.

The negtives are breakfast is served at 07.30 (when 5 times it was after 07.40!) which to me breakfast should be at 07.00. As all i was diving i could get a quick piece of toast and that was it then had to go which is not good you need food when diving. The breakfast pack I have to say are the WORST IN THE WORLD! i have skydived and scuba dived all over the world and never have i just been given a bottle of water and a muffin in a breakfast box! This is not acceptable so if your diving this hotel might not be for you. Many other normal holiday makers had buses etc to catch at 08.00 so breakfast should be earlier. Not sure how they justify 7 Euros a night to watch TV!!! As that is what you have to pay if you want to watch Sky! i did not watch TV but many made the point just nuts to pay that to watch TV every night Sadly for us we had a room were outside there was two cafes and all night long it is shouting nad loud music and not good to sleep. This is not the hotel faults but was a pain.

Overall if they changed the PATHETIC breakfast box and breakfast time it would be 5 stars!! You pay for a full meal not a muffin and a bottle of water!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Central hotel friendly staff nice bar great restaurant.. I had a small billing issue which was fixed quickly and professionally after I returned home.. Ethical and honest

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Santana has freindly helpful staff. It is central and only two minutes away from the bus station which supplies (cheap) buses to all parts of the island. The roof pool is smallish but didn't get too busy. we have been to Santana several times and cannot find any faults at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davenport4dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,004 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing