We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I returned yesterday from a weeks stay here. We stayed in what seemed to be one of the larger rooms, with 2 single beds. Room was clean and tidy when we arrived and hotel seemed of high quality. We were on the fourth floor so even though we didn't have a great view looking down we could see the sea in the distance! I enjoyed breakfast each morning and when returned to my room the room had been cleaned.
My only issue would be that the housekeepers seemed quite nosy and several things such as leaflets for attractions on the island and drinks bottles with drinks still in were taken from my room. This may not seem a huge deal but removal of any items from my room seemed quite inappropriate.

Apart from this, all of the other staff were friendly and more than happy to help. The wellness center and rooftop pool facilities we were more than happy with and took advantage of whenever we could.

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bek804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Bek804,

Thank you for your review and comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comments :
1. Hotel Santana is situated in the resort center just a few meters away from the Sea, a few rooms have distant sea views, some rooms have city view and some have country views.

2. We have passed on your comments regarding Housekeeping to our Executive Housekeeper who will be following up and taking action in order that we can offer a better in-house service to our Guests.

Regards,

John Bugeja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    512
    386
    144
    88
See reviews for
271
734
104
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Returned a couple of days ago from a weeks holiday in Malta. I booked with Mercury Direct, great company, very helpful, friendly & efficient. I was travelling alone & this company offer many 0ptions for solo traveller's not wanting to be stung financially with single supplements. I chose the Santana Hotel as it was just around the corner from the classic car museum that I wanted to visit. It was also a minutes walk from Buggiba bus station, and about a 3 min walk from the seafront. Perfect location! The hotel was rated 4 star & it was great! My room was lovely.....bed very comfy, a beautiful bathroom, all very clean. I had booked as half board and the food was amazing......so much choice & as much as you wanted......absolutely delicious! I looked forward to every mealtime! The staff were extremely efficient & welcoming! I intend to make a return visit to Malta & I will defo stay in the same hotel! All in all....totally happy with the trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Angela K.

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana on Tripadvisor, for your most favourable comments and for sharing your experience online.
Above all, we are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We hope that you will soon find the time to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise ou our availability to assist you with any future bookings.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

After a recent four day visit . I was very impressed by this hotel. The staff are all very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. My room was perfect, it was very modern in design. I had a large balcony. On which I had breakfast every morning in the sunshine. I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Diane A.,

I gladly read your review about your recent stay at Hotel Santana, noting that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We hope that you will soon find the time to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed 1 week half board in the Santana Hotel. It is great for exploring as it is so handy for the bus station. The staff and the fellow guests were very friendly, lots of regulars and long-stay guests spending the winter there. The food was fine, not great but plenty of choice so you can always find something to eat. I put on a few pounds anyway so must have found plenty to eat! I liked the porridge at breakfast, and the sausages are very good. Not much fruit but we bought some delicious grapes from a shop round the corner and took them to breakfast.
I found the indoor pool and the Jacuzzi a bit on the cool side, and the changing facilities by the pool were not good so I found myself going back to the room dripping water in the lift for a shower. I gave up after a few days. I had a massage with Esther the therapist at the spa and she was lovely, with magical hands which eased my aching shoulders. Prices very good for treatments so I recommend this. The roof top pool and sundecks look nice but closed in March, and anyway it wasn't really warm enough.
Travelled with mother in law, great if you want a child-free holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljennerhoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Ljennerhoyland,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and for your comments. I will share this review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime I do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having returned again from staying at the Santana I find some of the reviews strange.
We paid just under 30 pounds per day for half board.
A travel lodge or similar in the UK is at best 29.95 and if Im lucky I dont pay for continental breakfast.Santana breakfast has porridge, cereals, yoghurts, breads and cooked if you want it.
Added to that the evening meal has soup, salad bar, roast, fish at least 1 othe meat dish, pasta, dessserts and cheese and bicuits.
The food is excellent and plentiful.
The rooms are quite adequate, cleaned daily and no request is to much from the friendly staff.
I will rteccomend this hotel , so folks get real about some of the criticisms.
Look at the cost and is it good value.

Room Tip: Pick a landview sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathant621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jonathan 621,

I was very happy to read your review about your recent stay at Hotel Santana. I am happy to note that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning to Malta and our hotel in the near future.
Thank you for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
On our part we promise you our availability to assist you with any future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Friendly & helpful staff, rooms are spacious & clean, the views from the roof top pool are beautiful & the hotel is situated in a lovely quiet area with a bus station at the end of the road so it was easy to gain transport around the island (cheap & regular). I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Malta.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Rose H.,

I am pleased to note that you really enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Santana. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We look forward to having you again with us in Malta and at our hotel and promise you our availability to help you with future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just returned after a 12 day holiday at this very friendly,clean and ideally situated hotel
rooms are very comfortable, The food is excellent and service provided by all staff is very good, nothing is too much trouble always with a smile.We would recommend to all.

Room Tip: sun is on the front of the hotel if you like sitting on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sandra D.,

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel. Above all we are very pleased to note that you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return and promise you our availability to assist you with future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing