We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of even a two star”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worthy of even a two star”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week in this hotel
There were three of us my wife, grandson and myself
We had to pay full price for our grandson
We were given the key to our room 124 it was less than appealing the bathroom was dirty with mould on the walls the bath plug hole was rusty and the shower did not work
Our grandson was given what I can only describe as a cell off the bedroom which contained a put you up bed and a small table and a chair
I wouldn't have slept in there and we went to reception and asked for a room change but were told there weren't any so that night we all slept on top of the two single beds
The following morning we were told we could change rooms but into a suite which would cost a further 10 euros per person per night
We looked at the "suite" which again included a sofa bed (put you up) most uncomfortable
We had booked the holiday through mercury direct and we complained to the rep who asked the hotel to offer us another room but this was as bad as the first room
I think santana hotel offer the worst rooms possible to force guests to pay extra
We were booked on a half board basis
The evening meals were poor standard and cold and we only ate basic food for breakfast and evening but ate out in restaurants during the day
Public transport is excellent cheap always on time and run by good staff
Close to the hotel there is a new hotel being built I noted that they started work at 730 am and finished around 10 pm in fact I saw them off loading ready
Mixed concrete at 930pm they were real grafters not afraid to work
People in general in malta are very friendly and we enjoyed our holiday
We would not book again with mercury direct and certainly would not recommend hotel santana

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank 36MikeM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear 36Mike M36,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I regret to note that your stay with us did not fully meet your expectations and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced while with us.
However, concerning the payment for your grandchild, according to our records the booking was received from your agent for 3 adults. I also checked the registration card, according to which the person concerned is an adult.
With regards to the other comments, these will be shared with our management team in view of improving our product and services.
Once again my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    489
    365
    139
    83
See reviews for
262
701
95
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here with my best mate for a week early February. we could not fault it, the breakfast was substancial with a large choice. Room at rear of hotel was clean and could not fault it. The walk in shower was good and the water was always hot. Flat screen TV with numerous channels. I am going back 26th April with my fiance for a week and looking forward to getting on the roof to get some sun. This was my second time at the Santana after being in numerous other hotels in the area and would only go back to this one. Staff were spot on both in reception and the dining room. Only bumped into cleaner once but was cheerful with a happy hello. Looking forward to out return

Room Tip: Rooms at front get the sun but the roof gets the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefatcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Client,

I read with pleasure your recent review on TripAdvisor, noting that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you will soon be returning here.
Thank you for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We look forward to having you again with us on the 26th April. Do let us know if you have any particular request so that we will be able to action accordingly.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel, stayed 5 weeks and cant wait to return will have six weeks next time. The room was on the 5th floor and with two lifts my mobility problems were never an issue also ramp outside. The entire staff have to be praised for their politeness and always willing to help. We were on half board and the food was very good, the carvery is excellent. Clean towels every day if you want them, and sheets changed twice a week. The hotel is very clean a credit to all the housekeeping staff. Hope to return soon....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winifred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Winifred B.,

Having read your recent review on TripAdvisor I am happy to note that you really enjoyed your latest stay with us and that you plan to return soon.
Thank you for sharing your experience and for your most favourable comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and promise you our availability to assist you with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Let me begin by saying that this establishment is not 4 Star people...........the double room with balcony was poorly furnished and the carpets a tad threadbare in A FEW places plus stained with paint from I assume decoration( some furniture ditto). The saving grace was the bathroom which was OUTSTANDING! The fridge is not a fridge I was reliably informed by the staff was a cooler and therefore it kept food/drinks cool! Work that one out. The room was cold in the evening despite reception and the hotel maintence man advising me it was on a timer. Overall the staff were friendly and very courteous but listen up people....THIS IS A 3 STAR AT BEST and was an ok stay. The room overall was acceptable taking into account the above and the hotel has obviously seen better days....AND NEEDS SOME TLC to restore its former glory..............PS the breakfast was INCREDIBLY 5 STAR!!

PPS. My partner sat on a chair in the hallway while the very efficient staff made some final touches to our room and it collapsed! Now you would think that would have been reported to the management and a formal apology made........NO it wasn't.

Room Tip: Choose a suite at the front of the hotel and any floor from 3 to Ground.................
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venicefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Venice Fish,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your recent stay with us. I kindly ask you to contact me on carmen.zammit@sunroutehotels.com with more details of your stay, including date of arrival and room number, so that I would be able to check the various points raised in your review and answer you in more detail.
In the meantime I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced and remain

Yours sincerely
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel on three occasion & have just booked another 10 day stay on the 6th may, can't wait, good value for money, great location to.
Food very good, we always look forward to our breakfast, staff very helpful & friendly, we love the roof top pool to.see you soon mr&mrs pitter Hampshire uk

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Maria P.,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel in TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments. I am so happy to note that you will soon be back to Malta and to our hotel. So let me know if you need any assistance with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards from beautiful Malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location for your stay in Malta,Bus terminus 2 mins walk away,close to bars and resturaunts.However you could do with a bigger plate at breakfast the ones supplied only jiust bigger than a saucer,If you want a really good breakfast visit chaplins on the front next to the Sunny Coast can highly recommend.Room was nice with fridge and aircon/heating,bathroom had a walk in shower that flooded the floor evertime you used it and also the water was a murkey brown colour(which i heard other guests complianing about).Always had clean towels and bedding,The bed was very uncomfortouble with a split matress needed to be skipped.Staff were very friendly and always willing to help which is a big plus.i would stay here again due to the location.Idid visit in December at a reasoanble price.Was going to rebbok for July this year but think its priced itself out at over £50.00 per night so i think due to the price would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hotel bar cheaper than local bars and have very comfy chairs haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pilot044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Pilot 044,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I will share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.
In the meantime, concerning your booking in July, please e-mail me directly, with your dates of travel, so that I ca give you a price.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

One of the cheapest hotels to book. Very clean hotel and staff is helpful. Standard room is quite small. Breakfast and dinner buffet food is very delicious but no labels were present with dishes. A comprehensable good choice of food including desserts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Dorianne B.,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor and for your favourable comments. I will share your comments concerning the labelling of food with my colleagues in the kitchen and in the restaurant.

In the meantime I hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking you may have for this hotel.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,913 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing