We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location....”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just come back from a week staying at the Santana hotel, the service in general was pretty poor. the cleaners woke us up around 8am every morning and on more than one occasion knocked on the door loudly even with the do not disturb sign up. The jacuzzi was generally broken and indoor pool dirty and partly broken. The blue and white sun beds were mainly broken and extremely dangerous. One of the bar staff was more than happy too offer her unwanted opinions which were not apreciated! The hotel has a good location for seeing a very nice island. Would not stay here again..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Btnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Btnman,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I do apologise for any inconvenionce you experienced while with us and assure you that I will be discussing all the points you raised in your review with my colleagues on the management tea.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Sunroute Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nothing fancy and more than adequate to stay for a couple of days. The buffet food was delicious both for breakfast and dinner. Rooms needs some refurbishing but they are spacious. A little more attention to detail would help and adding more accessories in rooms, like a kettle, a safe with a key etc. Another improvement would be that one can get towels for the pool from the facility area itself because right now you have to go down to the reception to get towels and return them back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Silvio S.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I do hope that you will soon be able to return to our hotel. I would also recommend that you visit our website and our Facebook page for the latest offers.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Never been to Malta before. Arrived late on 10th September 2013
Hotel NOT 4 Star - noisy air con, shower basin always dirty, worn bedding, room never cleaned properly, meals were poor and food cold, Tuesdays quote of the week "no soup spoons left". Reception staff unhelpful, other staff a few complaining they were "so busy".
We ate out and even bought breakfast to have in our room.
The Maltese tourist board should seriously review this hotel.
We will return to Malta but Not to The Santana.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Anne H.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. i do regret to note that our hotel did not meet your expectations and I take this opportunity to apolgize, on behalf og the management team, for any inconvenience you experienced.
I will be sharing this review with my colleagues on the management team so that we would take the necessary measures to correct what you mentioned.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I emailed the hotel to request an upgraded room on a higher floor, it was of good size, with a fridge, everything worked and was clean, the bathroom was refurbished and had a walk in shower, no problem with air conditioning. As it was convenient for the lift we did hear staff and visitors from 7am onwards daily. Food in the restaurant was good quality and quantity, plenty of choice, homemade style, always hot. All of the staff were cheerful and friendly, mistakes were made a couple of times in calculating the amount owed for drinks taken with dinner so we chose to settle in cash,daily, there were three different male singers in the week, none if which were very good, but did add to the atmosphere outside the hotel. Rooftop pool was lovely, clean, bar, sunbeds, quiet-no music, well used, had a look at the indoor pool and area but did not use as weather was hot. Overall good impression and service from this hotel that did not look or feel like it was part of a large chain, Internet was €3for 300 minutes.

Room Tip: View is either of car park or wasteland plus rooftops with sea in distance, refurbished room 418 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyholsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear HappyholsWirral,

I was glad to read your review of Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor and note how you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your detailed review, your favourable comments and your recommendations.
I do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and that you will let us know if you require our assitance with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Love malta. But not this hotel. 2 things i ask of a holiday is a decent nite sleep and a good breakfast. This hotel provided neither . Food cold . Room not cold enough. Air con rubbish. No sleep at nite . Room too hot. Will return malta but not this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank luby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Luby 11,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and here take the opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.
I will also be sharing your review with the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. When we arrived early the reception staff were very accommodating and let us have our room, which was a superior double. Lots of space, 2 doubles (or 4 single beds), a fridge which in the heat was ideal for keeping our drinks/food cool. The bathroom required upgrading but overall the room was what we paid for. As some reviewers have pointed out the AC is noisy but you can switch this off if you are prepared to perspire! There is only one keycard which also operates the AC and lights.

There was a good selection of both continental and cooked breakfast though the quality was not of a 4 star hotel, though adequate. The cheese/meats would have been better covered and on a bowl of ice to stop the cheese from cloying.

The staff were polite and helpful when required. The roof top pool had great views all around Bugibba with a canopied area if you wished to sit out of the direct sunlight. The pool is not supervised and this is stated within the hotel. The bar/snack area is open 10am - 6pm each day. There is also an indoor pool, which we looked at but did not use and a resident beautician.

The hotel is only a minute or two from the 'bus station. We used the X3 service from Luqa airport, which took approximately 1 hour and 10 minutes. By using the 'bus service you get to see some other areas of Malta. This service runs every 30 minutes and is cheaper than a taxi if you are on a budget. Taxi fares are around 25 euros hotel to airport.

Room Tip: Go for a superior, check it has a fridge included. Some rooms have their own kitchen area which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timperley-trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Timperley Trotters,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I do hope that you wil soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel. Do let me know if you need assistance with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the Santana for 10 days during August 2013. We checked on Tripadvisor before booking and as it was marked as a four star hotel it seemed quite good. The hotel is three star at best. The air conditioning is poor - even though I asked for another key card and was able to leave the A/C on when we were out and the ceiling fan which we had to leave on at night was incredibly noisy. Having said that the room was kept really clean, fresh towels when requested and bed changed every two to three days. We booked room only so I can't comment on the food. The roof pool looked a little cramped but as the hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the coast we didn't use it. The hotel is situated in a nice area (close to the bus station) and there are several lovely restaurants within a few minutes walk. The staff are very helpful and very plesant. If, like us, you are on a late flight I would try to book your room for a late departure.The shower rooms that we used before travelling to the airport were terrible. They were basically a public tiolet with a shower in the corner. If you are looking for a 3 star hotel then the Santana is ok but don't book expecting a four star experience, you won't get it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Damien S66,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I will be sharing your comments with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,984 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $38 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing