We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Limerick Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel and staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I have recently had a great holiday in Malta. As we all know it is very important to have good accomadation while abroad so I would have no hesitation in recommending the Santana. It is great value for money, a buffet breakfast that is hard to beat and genuinely nice staff.
Make sure you get a room that has been refurbished, the higher up the better.[ 5 floors] Malta can be very hot so use the indoor pool to cool down. Also leave your balcony door closed while air con is on and ask staff to set to your liking.
The Santana is very central to all amenities including the Bugibba local bus station where you can get buses to take you all over the island. Yet it is quiet at night.

Room Tip: My top tip for Malta would be to use the local buses. 12 euro for a weekly pass and the buses bring...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Tony M.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor, for your favourable comments and for recommending Hotel Santana. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcoming you back to Malta and our hotel soon. Do let us know if we can help you with your next booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    512
    386
    144
    88
See reviews for
271
734
104
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 wk in buggibba and returned to the santana in my last review i mentioned the creaky worn out sunbeds they have been replaced by the comfiest sunbeds and there is a shaded canopy area to that wasnt there before there has been an upgrade throughout the hotels the lifts the carpets etc it looks fab will defo b booking for next yr

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Helen 54_12,

I am pleased to note that you returned again to our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments regarding our product and services.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and our hotel in the near future and remain at your service for any assistance you may require.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have been staying at the Santana Hotel since 1999 & can't fault it,the location & friendliness of the staff make it a great base to explore the beautiful island, would totally recommend

Lisa Durling x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeamerLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ms. Durling,

Thank you for your repeat custom to our hotel and for sharing your experience and favourable comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor.
Do let us know if you need assitance with future bookings to our hotel. We woudl gladly assist you.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this hotel following the decent reviews on trip adviser. On arrival Saturday evening, we arrived at the same time as 2 other couples. As we were all English we had to wait for everyone to complete the registration documents so the man on reception would tell us the details all together to save him explaining things 3 times! We booked separately, not a group booking so should be treated as individual passengers, so what if he had to explain more than once!
We were given room 514 slightly bigger than a cupboard facing the rubbish area. A big stain on the carpet ! We immediately returned to reception to request an upgrade for which we would pay extra. We were shown a superior room, but we opted for a suite, which the man on reception said would not be ready until the next morning, there was not one for us to see, so we went back to reception the next morning. After a stifling night in 514 with air conditioning that blew out warm air, we were advised that the suite had been ready the night before!
We paid an extra 120euro, the room was spacious and faced the front aspect. There were tea and coffee facilities, but no tea or coffee supplied. The bedding was threadbare and at times a grey colour, the towels were threadbare and the room was grubby. The bathroom was particularly shabby and not cleaned properly in the week we stayed there. I had to ask reception to request housekeeping vacuumed the carpet around the bed, it was covered in 'bits'. They did the next day, but there was not much evidence that it was done again.
Breakfast was adequate.
The bar staff were great, very helpful, the restaurant staff were hard working and friendly, the reception staff were unhelpful.
Finally we asked if we could pay for a room on our departure day as we weren't leaving until 6.25pm. We were refused an answer until our day of departure, which was no good to us. We checked out and weren't asked if we had enjoyed our stay.
We went to the Park Lane hotel down the street, they gave us a room for 20euros, it was a different world. Helpful staff, lovely room, tea and coffee, complimentary bottle of water and CLEAN.
I will return to Qwara, I will stay at the Park Lane Hotel, not the Santana!

Room Tip: Book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GWS796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear GWS796,

I was sad to note that while staying with us recently you found cause to be disappointed. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while with us.
I will be sharing your review with the management team so as to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.
In the meantime I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to stay with us. In that case please write to me personally so that I can take personal care of your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been returning to this hotel for around 10 years and visiting about 3 or 4 times a year, the booking we made this time was through a different website. The type of room we normally book wasn't an option through this company. I had a few problems on arrival as stated in my previous review and was so disappointed with the original response that I posted a review on tripadvisor straight away. The manager Mr Joe Grech had seen my review and contacted me wishing to resolve my issues. He was very helpful and wanted to ensure we were happy for the rest of our stay, he made arrangements for us to be moved to the usual type of room we book. I have to say that it is worth paying the small extra fee for the superior rooms as they are more up to date and clean. Special thanks to Mr Grech who went out of his way to help he recognised us and knew us from our previous visits. We will definitely be returning & it was nice to be made to feel like your custom was important to the manager and that he put himself out to put things right for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Dirty Roamer,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I am pleased to note that in the end you enjoyed your stay with us and that my colleague, Siofiane Ben Hassine, took personal care of your requirements in order to ensure that the rest of your stay with us would be a pleasant one.

In the meantime I hope that you will soon return to Malta and our hotel and would ask you to contact us when you plan to retuirn so that we would take care of your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was my first visit to Malta and wasn't sure what to expect, but I was very pleasantly surprised. If you like oldy worldy you'll love it hear as it's steaped in history. We stayed at the 4* Santana Hotel on an all inclusive basis, but I have to say there all inclusive isn't like any I've stayed on before, We didn't know until we got there that you only got Breakfast, lunch and dinner with no snacks in between or any other time. You couldn't get a drink until 11am even if you wanted tea or coffee and the all inclusive drinks finished at 11pm at night even though the bar stayed open until about 1am unless they decided to shut early but of course you had to pay then. I have never been anywhere you didn't get snacks unless you paid for them. Also on the last day of your holidays no matter what time you were leaving you had to be out your room for 11am but even worse than that your all inclusive was stopped at 2pm so when you weren't leaving until later that day you had to pay for everything you wanted. If this is there version of all inclusive they won't be getting many returning customers!!! We met another family in the hotel who had stayed several times before and they couldn't believe the difference this year as when they had been there previously the all inclusive drinks in particular had been 24hours. So they alone said they would be looking for different accommodation as we would also unless they change things. The hotel itself was still a bit tired looking in the rooms especially even though it said they had been updating it. It said there was tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but we didn't get any and we were told that was only in the upgrade rooms though they didn't state that on there web site. I must say one thing about the hotel I really did like and that was the staff the cleaners couldn't do enough for you even though they were kept short of towels!! also the staff in the bar- Tracey,Sarah,Shirley,Julie and not forgetting lovely Craig were all really friendly and very helpful, they were a credit to the hotel. The staff in the restaurant were very good aswell though I can't remember all there names. This could be a really great hotel if they get things put right but until then they are going to lose customers rather than get them. I would love to go back there but not while things are the way they are at the moment. If you want all inclusive I suggest you try somewhere else, if you want full board or less you'll really enjoy the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front otherwise you get a view of the rubbish at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfacenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear happyfacenow,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to note that you were disappointed with our All Inclusive package, especially since we always highlight the contents of such package with operators selling our hotel.
I have noted also that you would love to return to Malta. Should you wish to book Hotel Santana do write to us so that we would be able to advise you better.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in hotel on B&B basis via Travelzoo. I wouldn't rate it 4 star though; It's more 2-3. The room 410 is at back of hotel and doesn't have a nice view but at least it's more quiet than the front. Room is bit dated, although new bathroom. Think the indoor and outdoor pool and buffet breakfast saved the stay and location wise perfect (next to bus station take no12 to St Julian's and Silema, no 223 to Golden Bay beach).
My only remark was the 2nd last day of my visit at the breakfast buffet, they had a water leak on the floor, they knew about this as they had towel down. I had a plate in my hand and slipped and cut my hand and bruised my legs. The staff was quick to react to pick me up but I had to approach them to get me first aid kit and I had to tell them what to do as I myself am a first aider. Think they should invest in some of their staff on 1st aid course. Also if there is a wet floor, please put a hazard sign up next time. It could have been an elderly or a pregnant lady!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_syl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Travelling_Syl,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor. I will be sharing your comments with our Management Team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing