We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been before and would go again”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Been before and would go again”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I love Malta and for me you cannot beat this Hotel for price and location.
I have been to Hotel Santana now 5 times, and loved it here every time !
The bathrooms have been upgraded - which is wonderful....
The pool now has a shaded area - which is a welcome relief from the hot hot hot days.
Breakfast is always in plentiful supply and the staff courteous as always.
AC and fan in rooms - which gives you the best of both worlds.....

Room Tip: Most rooms have balcony - but to be fair no spectaular views, but good for watching the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jo W.,

I am so pleased to read that this was your fifth visit to our hotel and that our product and services again met your expectations. Thank you for reviewing or hotel on TripAdvisor, for sharing your experience and for yourfavourable comments.

We look forward to your sixth visit to our hotel and are at your disposal to assist you with any future booking.

In the meantime we remain
yours sincerley
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    533
    405
    154
    92
See reviews for
283
776
107
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a good hotel in an ideal location, one minute from the bus station and 5 mins from the seafront and the centre of Buggiba. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The food is good quality but could be so much better with just a little more effort. It is cooked too far in advance meaning that items come out of the kitchen cold because they have been stood too long. On several occasions at breakfast fried eggs and tomatoes were delivered to the bain-maries cold, yuk. There was always a wide choice at both breakfast and evening dinner but time between cooking and consumption does affect the taste. I suppose its one of the problems of mass catering. Smaller batches topped up more regularly might help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billandann100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear billandann 100,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel and for your positive comments. I will be discussing your review in detail with our management team, especially with our executive chef, in view of improving our product and services.

In the meantime, should you be returning to Malta and our hotel, do let me know if you need assistance with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked in on 1/7 till 11/7. Upgraded to a suite. Hotel was nice and clean friendly staff. Had a few problems our aircon unit started to drip water through ceiling so at midnight my wife and baby was moved to another room as manager Robert was concerned about safety for our baby. We was put in room 539 top floor corner room which was terribly hot and aircon was useless no way as good as our room. Baby couldn't sleep that night as it was too hot an we ended up sittin on balcony till 6am
When baby finally went asleep we got woke up at 745 am because jacuzzi was leaking and they need to fix it. Next day was put bk in to our original room was told all fixed however the very next night leak again all they done was put a tray above ceiling to stop drippin on to our floor was told they would fix again. Which they did they put a bigger tray this time above ceiling which caused a larger leak and caused me to slip over and hurt my self thankfully I wasn't holding my baby. When I reported the problem again at 1am as the leak seemed to happen in middle of night I was offered another room when I asked reception for some one to help me move cot I was told no one was around to help me so I should just stay in room which I was concerned about as our ceiling was very wet so another sleepiness night as I was worried if anything happened through the night I need to be able to react quickly to problem for my baby The next day maintenance was bk and to be fair to them they really worked on sorting out our problem and even come bk a few times to ensure we was ok. So out of 10 nights we had 3 sleepless nights when I spoke to joe another manager as compensation we could have our last 2 nights with free evening meals which I found a insult as we paid €76 per night and had 3 sleepiness nights but I really didn't have much energy to have a moan up and I felt that was a joke but we didn't go down for a free meals as juggling dinner times with baby was too hard and they obviously didn't take that In to consideration. However the air con leak was not there fault but they could have repaired the problem from my first complaint rather than bodge it over. cleaners also was very slow at 3pm our room was just started to be cleaned and that was not nice after going out for day to come bk to a room
That had not been cleaned. However the hotel was nice and it hasn't put me off returning there as it is a nice hotel nice views from rooftop pool and Robert manager was very helpful he did do his best for us. All in all was a good holiday jus a shame we had a few sleep less nights there

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttttttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to note that you encountered difficulties while staying with us and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.
In your e-mail you mentioned that you will return to Malta and the hotel. I would be very happy to assist you with your bookings and take personal care of it. Please do contact me when you plan to re-visit.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Antrim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from this lovely hotel, B&B basis was good for us,friendly and helpful staff, food fresh at breakfast. Locale was unusual depending on which street you used to get to the beach.
We were close to the bus terminal and used the buses regularly...we took the hop on hop off to see Valletta and the Temples of Hagar Qim...do not miss.
We missed oppurtunity to visit Medina and if returned would do so.
Our favorite seafront eating place was Oblicio in Buggiba and Rafeals in San Giljan.

Room Tip: make use of the day pass for buses to see the Island 2.60 euro for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Clann 7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to note that you found the staff friendly and helpful. In the meantime your review will be discussedwithin the management time so as to help inprove our product and services.
I do hope that you will return to Malta and to Hotel Santana. Do let us know if we can be of assistance with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We (two friends in their mid-twenties) booked a week long stay at the Santana in early July as part of a bed and breakfast package. The hotel attracts mostly older couples, with the odd family with young kids and is in a definitively 'expat' area of town - think English pubs, restaurants serving roast dinners and cheap pints. We knew this before staying and booked the hotel as a base for exploring the island, which was comparatively quiet compared to where the 'younger crowd' might traditionally go, such as St. Julian's and Valetta and as it had a rooftop pool. The hotel is clean and tidy, and the lobby well presented. Our room was fine - again clean and tidy, however the 'balcony' was not a balcony at all, being in line with the raised roof from the first floor, and a dome from below completely obscuring any sunlight or views to the street below. We weren't too bothered about this as we didn't intend to spend too much time in the hotel, so didnt mention it to staff, but be aware that not all of their balconies have any view/sunlight at all! Apart from one housemaid and two or three of the reception staff, the staff were reasonably efficient, but far from friendly in most cases. Slightly irritating was the hotel policy of only issuing one swipe card per room - difficult when I wanted to go food shopping and my friend wanted to stay by the pool.

The breakfast was passable, but slightly vexing, as with a little effort it could actually be quite good. The breakfast obviously tries to cater for absolutely everyone, with a selection of hot food (including cheese quiche?!), cereals, ham, cheese, bread, cakes (?!) and also tinned fruit and yoghurt. The boiled eggs had been boiled to within an inch of their life and were decidedly grey, the sausages were a bit like saveloys and I think probably came out of a can. Bit of a shame there was only the occasional apple as fresh fruit, as we were in the Mediterranean with watermelons, oranges, peaches etc being sold on pretty much every street corner for just a few cents. The fruit juice came out of machines and was fruit 'squash' not juice. The coffee out of the machines was dire. All in all, you get what you pay for - which honestly for the breakfast for me, was not a lot as we got a good deal - but it could be so much better with very little effort.

The rooftop pool was clean in the pool - but people often left their rubbish around it - and no staff were ever present to give the area a quick once-over. The pool bar only offered very limited hours serving food (till 4pm) and closed completely at 6pm, which was a shame as the sun terrace and pool were nice areas to be in, especially in the evening when it was a bit cooler and views over the sea were lovely. Overall the stay was average, but there is a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Request one with an actual balcony not on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rkenyavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Rkenyavic,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I have noted your comments and will be sharing these with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.

Your sincerely
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from a few days stay at this hotel and I can honestly say the Hotel made the holiday. I had searched around trip advisor for hotels and this one did well although some didn't like it- a minority. The room we had was clean and well laid out with a beautiful en suite-this was a standard economy room and had a balcony which did not really have a view but for the money we were not too bothered and I know if we had asked they would have moved us--for what we needed it was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar staff went out of their way to help and the restaurant staff were efficient, friendly and put alot of hotels in the UK to shame at 4 star. The pool on the roof was lovely with a food bar there and different levels to lounge on. The pool on the lower floor was perfect for a quick swim after a hot day and before eating. A sauna and gym and beauty therapist just added to the place. Tours of Malta leave from outside the front door which was amazing negating any need to hire a car. Plenty of eating places locally if you don't fancy the excellent choice at the hotel and great deals which they do. Thanks for a very special holiday, way beyond our expectations-will recommend you. This is not their other hotel the sunflower btw just in case of any confusion.

Room Tip: Front facing higher up gets better views. Back looks over waste ground but still gets sun, quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kisilv02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Kisilv 02,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to note that our hotel made your holiday, that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and friendly. We are always striving to deliver a product and services that meet the expectations of our clients, ensuringt hat their stay with us is truly enjoyable.
Again, many thanks for your favourable comments on Hotel Santana. We hope that you will visit Malta and our hotel in the near future and remain at your service should you need any assistance with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsalforn, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Two Words here say it s all." Perfect Hotel " Wen i be back on Malta (live on Gozo) i stay in this Hotel. Clen nice staff nice rooms nice breakfeast (one of the best i ever eat.I recomemend this hotel to all my friends in Sweden.(and eaven my friends on Gozo. (70 yaers old Swedisch Milljonare !!!?? )

Room Tip: Verry god place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Jens H.,

I note with pleasure that you are a very satified repeat client of our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments about our hotel.
It is our commitment tht we seek to always offer a good product and good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to Hotel Santana in the near future. Do contact me in case you need any assistance withyour booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing