We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of Refurbishment (which is in progress)”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“In Need of Refurbishment (which is in progress)”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed in a suite on the 5th floor on B&B basis. The room was reasonably good size, reasonably comfortable beds, view from the verandah over the car park (not as bad as that sounds - it is split in areas with trees and then open field beyond).

In need of refurbishment - loose carpet by bed, drawer runners going, curtains needed rehanging. Cupboards and drawers smell in the kitchen area smell. Bathroom generally good though a little silicon could do with replacing.

Refurbishment in progress - and every morning at 07:30 the carpenter started hammering nearby - fortunately, we are early risers so not inconvenienced. The refurb is comprehensive and includes new lifts, new floor coverings, etc., etc. Outdoor roof top pool currently closed.

Staff - helpful. Cleaning variable - some days comprehensive, others not.

Finally breakfast - good choice for this type of hotel - let down a bit by very watery orange juice and abysmal coffee (lucky tea drinkers).

And is it 4 Star? Maybe when the refurbishment is finished.

(We visited Malta to see the Easter Processions and had a hire car to look round the less accessible parts of the island - for this purpose, the hotel provided a good base).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-A-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    513
    386
    144
    88
See reviews for
271
735
104
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crawley uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned (28th Mar ) from staying at the Santana hotel in Malta. The hotel is actually in the part of St Pauls Bay known as QAWRA, and is within easy walking distance from the promenade I have a problem walking long distances and I easily made the walk every day.
The bus terminus is 2 mins walk away as is the busy shopping area, lots of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance no matter what type of food you like you will find it here. I can recommend Josephs Car Hire and Taxi Service which is 50 metres from the hotel just next to the public car park, I have used them several times and found them to be helpful and easily the cheapest taxi in the area just in case you do not feel like driving however the hop-on ---hop-off open top bus stops outside the hotel every 30 minutes. OK that's the area now for the hotel.
I really have no negative comments to make about the hotel facilities or staff so I will give you the positives. I had a superior room with a large balcony at the front of the hotel which I recommend to all it even includes a small but functional kitchenette,I found the staff helpful and what is more knowledgeable about the area and transport systems. The reception staff need a special mention for patience when dealing with sometimes confused and difficult guests which I witnessed on more than one occasion. The staff in the Café/bar also need special praise, Sarah, David, Jamie, and Tracy all were friendly and helped me personally when I arrived and during my stay as I was in Malta to buy/rent a penthouse and wasa bit in the dark as to the local customs etc.
Thank.you all for a great stay and I hope the management pass on my thanks and comments to you. I will see you all again in on the 27th April when I will have my wife with me to see the property I got.
I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in the Qawra-St Pauls Bay area.

Room Tip: Get a Superior room or even a suite as these rooms all overlook the front of the hotel and are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kenkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice hotel. Room we had was pretty standard and probably next for refurbishment. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment but this did not affect us in any way. view from back is abysmal, but I believe that they are trying to deal with this. food was very good with plenty of choice and a good discount offer for evening meals if you are on a b&b basis. excellent position for bus station and a very good local service. Hop on Hop off buses also Leave for front of hotel.

Room Tip: Choose front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A reasonable Hotel, staff like most places in Malta are friendly and polite, the only down side is the rooms that are at the rear of the hotel, these overlook a wasteland, also when we were there in Feb they were constantly in shade of the building and never warmed up.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the front or east side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been to other hotels in the area of this hotel and this is by far the best, Clean, good room and very friendly staff, Very local for bus station and the Malta tour bus stops right outside. I did now eat eat the hotel as I was on a room only basis, the snack bar is very good and prices very reasonable. Rooms are clean and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Try the front of the hotel nearly all day sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thefatcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel reception area was very nice, as was the pools (especially the indigo pool)
The stay here would have been much better had it been in a better location (preferably not in Malta)

I guess the only advice i can give you is book a holiday elsewhere, I recommend Spain or Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Santana. This was our 3rd time at this Hotel. Great location. Sea 3 min's walk, Bus Station 2 min's. Yes they are doing up rooms, and there is sometimes a little noise, but nothing to worry about. The first room we were given was very small and smelt damp. We asked for a change and as we booked late we got a nice room at the back of the Hotel. Not a great outlook, no sunshine, but a nice up to date room. As we were only there for a week we were out and about, not sitting in our room.If you want the sun there is a nice sun terrace on the roof of this hotel and a swimming pool which is open in the summer. The bathroom was very modern with a walk in shower and plenty of hot water. Although it was kept clean, i feel it could have been better.I agree with others that one of the sheets was small, I complained and it was changed. The food was Ok. Plenty of choice for breakfast. and the Dinner had a different main meat every day. As for it not being hot, that was the fault of ignorant guests leaving the lids off the trays after taking their food. The entertainment was a quality I would excpect for this time of year, but there is a casino 5 min's away which is free to join (need to show passport) and if you are playing the slots you can get as much coffee and sandwiches as you like free.( I tipped the waitress 1 euro and she was happy)
Overall this hotel would be a 2/ 3 star in England. We had a very pleasant week and I think that most of the people that complain are the ones that want to pay 3 star prices and get 5 star treatment. If you are looking for a middle of the road Hotel in a great location, then I would recomend the Santana.
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR( and a little bit more)

Room Tip: Front of the Hotel are best and they cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing