We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK - But Needs A Serious Re-furb!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Bargoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK - But Needs A Serious Re-furb!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having stayed at the Santana many times over the the last fifteen years or so I thought that we'd give it a go after a four year absence. It was noticeable how tired and worn the place looked and it was obvious that no money had been spent on it for a while. However, our room was spacious, the beds comfortable, we have large balcony but above all it was splotlessly clean as a result of a daily maid service. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast adequate. We only paid £180 for the three of us for a week bed and breakfast and thought for the money it was excellent value. My only problem was the indoor pool and jacuzzi. They were freezing and recall in previous years they were warm and relaxing. I wouldn't say that the Santana was poor or excellent but I would say it was OK for what we pay. Would I stay here again? Probably yes if the price is just as good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RhianJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    489
    365
    139
    83
See reviews for
262
701
95
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arguineguin, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel Santana on two occasions and cannot fault the service here,however,i would rate this hotel as a 3 star because it is now looking rather tired and could do with an update to all areas.The view from the balcony looks more like a concrete jungle.The location is great,and is accessible to the local bus station,bars,restaurants and the beach.The maltese people are both welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Although the view is not brilliiant,choose a room to the front of the hotel and watch the world go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynne220555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and myself have thought for years that me may like to visit Malta. We had been lead to believe that folk mainly either love Malta or hate it. The Hotel Santana made our visit to Malta the best part of the holiday. The Maltese people, the old parts of Malta are worth seeing. However, it's been made into a concrete jungle. We couldn't fault this hotel though. The room, food, staff etc., were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menace54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our second visit to the Santana this year. The location is great, there is everything you need around the hotel. Lots of cafes, bars and restaurants and the Maltese people are so friendly. There are nice coastal walks and it's so convenient for the bus station to get around the Island. Also there is the open top bus which stops right outside, ideal for sight seeing.

Our room was very clean and the staff very polite and friendly. We were staying b and b and breakfast was good. Lots of the people we met come back year after year.

We thought it was great value for money and would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would advise upgrading to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Santana 16 to 23 October. We were in a superior room, by chance the same room we were allocated 2 years ago.. The staff were as helpful as previously and the hotel has the advantage of being 200 m from the bus station..This is important as the new bus company in Malta are providing a far worse service and if you don't get on at the start of the buses journey you won't get on at all!
However we were disappointed with the Santana. The whole place wants a complete makeover, Our room was exactly as before- a creaky bed, a worn carpet ,dim lighting and the towels were of the threadbare non-absorbent kind.The lifts are still unreliable and the provision of internet access does not provide a printing facility needed for on-line check-in for example. The breakfasts are good, if without variety.We ate dinner elsewhere as the Santana is near to a number of reasonable restaurants.
If the hotel were smartened up it might warrant a 4-star rating, but it certainly would not at the present .

Room Tip: Ask for a front room. the back looks on waste land and flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FernWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and i returned from Malta on the 16th October 2012 ,after 11night stay at the
SANTANA HOTEL in QAWRA.This was our 3rd time at this hotel.The 1st and 2nd time we
couldnt fault this Hotel in any way.After a 2 year break we returned to the Santana which
had been taken over by new management.Most of the old staff had gone and replaced by
untrained unpleasent people.The food at times was uneatable.This hotel is not a 4 star,its not even a 1 star.Never again will we return to the SANTANA HOTEL.
GORDON of BURY

Room Tip: Go to other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Santana Hotel for two weeks on a half board basis from 25/9/12 to 9/10/12. We have been to Malta many times but never stayed at this hotel before. We were not expecting it to be comparable to the UK's 4 star rating but were hoping it would at least be 3 star. I'm no expert on star ratings either in the UK or Malta but it doesn't take genius to fathom out a hotels good and bad points.

On the plus side we knew exactly where the Santana is in relation to the various amenities that's why we picked it. It is close to the shops, restaurants, coastline, bus station etc. All are within an easy level walk but if you did hire a car there is plenty of free car parking right outside.
The restaurant staff, understaffed and overworked, are marvellous, with the exception of one grumpy chef, were always friendly and helpful.

On the minus side we had requested, when we booked the holiday way back in May, a lower floor room that faced front. We got a lower floor (level 2) but at the side of the hotel. What we were told by the young man checking us in was that management generally ignored such requests unless the accommodation had been booked direct with the hotel, which we hadn't, and whilst there were no rooms available at the front at that time he would leave a note for the following days staff to see if there was then. Passing the buck? He wasn't exactly overrun with people checking in - we were the only ones! On checking the following day no note had been left and no alternative rooms were available. We had no choice but to stay put but the room itself wasn't too bad. However as we were to discover we were not in a good place but looking at the rear of the hotel it seemed a bit better.

Opposite our room was Alex's Bar which was very popular and noisy until about 2.00 a.m. each morning. Get off to sleep and the bin men would arrive at about 4.00 a.m. followed by the water tanker a couple of hours later, followed by the laundry wagon, followed by a food delivery wagon. We just happened to be above the service entrance! None of these services are exactly quiet.

The level of cleaning left a lot to be desired. The cleaners had vacuum cleaners but it appeared they weren't used much. In the whole of our two weeks there our balcony was not cleaned once. Towels were a disgrace - threadbare and not very clean. Fitted sheets would have been welcome as the sheets they used didn't fit the beds. On one occasion when our toilet roll had run out instead of getting a new one we were left with one that had been half used by someone else.

There is no help with luggage and the hotel is not disabled friendly. Yes there is a ramp from street level to the reception area but if you are disabled you're on your own. There are two lifts near the reception which take a maximum of four people and there wasn't a day went by when we were there that one or other of these lifts broke down and these were the only lifts that went to the lower ground floor where the restaurant and indoor pool is. When I brought this up with the hotel staff I was told it's because they get too much use!! What do they expect in a hotel?

If you wanted to use the outdoor pool on the roof and you had any difficulty with stairs it wasn't possible. The lift went to the 6th floor where the pool bar is plus sun loungers but the pool itself was up a flight of stairs where there more sun loungers none of which had mattresses or umbrellas.

Back in the restaurant, like all meals was self service, the breakfast was very good but more often than not if you wanted a fried breakfast all you got was a side plate. Occasionally if you were lucky you got a dinner plate and on one occasion when I asked for a larger plate the reply I got from this grumpy chef was "No. Small plate only" False economy as others, and myself, were then using two small plates to get their breakfasts and probably getting more than using one large plate.
Also no water was served with the evening meal. If you wanted water you have to pay for it. I was told by the Manager that water is too expensive to provide for nothing. Not exactly nothing as we had all paid a fair bit of money for this holiday and a glass of water doesn't cost that much.

The day before we left I had requested an alarm call as we were leaving early the next day before the restaurant opened for breakfast. We were told we would be provided with something plus a cup of tea before we left. We got the alarm call OK but was told there was no breakfast, not even a cup of tea but we could have an apple! This was changed about an hour later to say we could have a cup of coffee instead. We had neither.

All in all not a good experience but it won't put us off Malta but unless there's a radical improvement at the Santana we certainly won't be going back there as several others we spoke to won't either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zulu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,913 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing