We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Budget.”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Best of Budget.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My daughter and I had a last second booking (bed and breakfast) to celebrate her 30th Birthday and stayed at the Hotel Santana 20 to 29 June 2012.
The reception check-in was quick and easy (staff all spoke excellent English) and when we asked for a quiet room we were given a corner room (with a wrap-round balcony) on the 4th floor. This suited us very well as it was 2 floors down from the rooftop swimming pool which we enjoyed every evening after a hard day's sightseeing in the heat. We slept soundly even with the balcony doors open.
On arrival we were presented with a bowl of fruit and a bottle of local wine in the room which we thought was a nice touch.
The room was clean but bathroom had black hairs. We asked the Housekeeper designated for our floor (a Bulgarian lady who spoke enough English to have a conversation), to clean and she obliged very quickly. We gave her a small tip (2 euros) every day to ensure a clean room and regular change of towels.
The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful with a choice of fresh seasonal fruit (melons, bananas, etc), canned fruit, small cakes, croissants, eggs and various meats like bacon, sausages (ugh) , pink polony ham stuff, etc (not so nice!), tomatoes , olives (delicious), cucumbers , fresh bread. Coffee was Yucky and juice (choice of orange, grapefruit) made from concentrate and very sweet - so we stuck to our bottled water.
We had a few buffet meals in the evenings when they had good fresh fish on the menu very nice and again very reasonable priced. Some people may moan but we are very into fresh salads and there was plenty, so we were happy. In any case there was so much to choose from that there HAS to be something for everyone. Whilst not gourmet cuisine, it was good. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The aircon was on one setting only and went off when you left the room so we could not cool the room during the day whilst we were out, We just left the balcony door open and this seemed to do the trick.
The area is excellent for getting around as it is right near the bus terminus. We bought a 12 euros Arriva Maltabus pass for the week which was brilliant as it took us the length and breadth of the island and buses were air conditioned, regular and plentiful. The Valetta bus did get a bit full during rush hour but I guess that is to be expected.
We were so glad we did not buy an 'Open Top bus' or 'tour bus' option as these were very expensive and not as versatile. There was a very annoying (English) man who was touting these buses in your face every morning. He can get quite aggressive so best ignore him from the start.
One thing - we bought a bus transfer to and from the airport to our hotel on the flight to Malta, which cost us £20 when we could have used the Arriva Malta bus pass (12 euro for week going all over the island) but the people who sold the bus transfers on the plane did not tell us.
One downside of the hotel was that the gym was a joke and the only thing that kind of worked was the worn out cycle. We got our excercise by walking(sightseeing) and swimming in the pool upstairs and the sea at the little beach (not a beach really but rocks with a ladder going into the lovely sea) down the road.
We could not get wifi in the room but there are many cafes in the area offering free wifi (and interesting cocktails!)
We are regular travellers having stayed at some of the best and some of the worst hotels on the planet.
We rate this hotel 4 because it is unpretentious and a good BUDGET hotel. Good location, clean comfortable rooms, simple but adequate food and friendly and helpful staff especially in the restaurant.
If you want a 6* hotel then try the Burj al Arab in Dubai!

Room Tip: Corner suites are good. Tip staff (cleaning and restaurant) even if it just a couple of euros ever...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Alloverthershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    520
    397
    150
    91
See reviews for
278
754
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Old, tired, shabby barn. It`s right description of that "hotel". Standard room is very small -space hardly enough for beds and the way to the door. As i said before, furnitures are old and shabby. The room hasn`t fridge, but cooler - without minibar. Aircon`s sistem is too noisy and old, of course. I think, it`s main reason of bad smell inside the rooms. Bathtub has a small size glass and it can`t protect bathroom from a water of shower. So, after shower, you should be very careful with wet floor. The hotel knows the problem - in every bathroom you`ll find a tag with text: "ask special carpet for the wet bath`s floor on reception for free". 4 stars - ha-ha-ha! The stuff... O, they are friendly and smiling. But they are absolutely incompetent, useless and helpless. Only one (of many) example: at night of 02.09. was a very strong wind. My mother has left swimsuit on a balcony, so, it has been gone by the wind to another balcony of the hotel. I asked receptionist to take it, but he refused me, because: "Now is 10 p.m., room is occupied, you`ll take it tomorrow." Ok. Should i tell, that tomorrow nobody on reception know about my mother`s swimsuit? Ok, i explained once again. Room is occupied! But what the problem? My mother just wants to take swimsuit back! Ok, receptionist call to chambermaid to check the room. After 20 minutes!!, i recall to reception. "Wait a little more" - was answer. After that, we went to the chambermaid, took her to the room, opened the door and took the suit ourself. By the way, chambermaid said to me, the room wasn`t occupied all that time... 4 stars, aha-aha. The breakfast. Well, i have different feelings. On the one hand, it was classical english breakfast with porridge, eggs, sosiges and becon, yogurts and fruits. But, on other hand, the food was very low quality, food from a cesspit(except porridge, eggs, yogurts and bread - i can`t ate anything else). Fruits were old with sour taste. 4 stars - what a joke!

My opinion. 2 stars -max, i never back again and can`t advise this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: only superior room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

stopped here twice cant complain apart from the creaky sunbeds which is not really something to winge about but thats a good thing as thats my only complaint we had a standard room 1st time round and that was good but we had a studio room next time round and thats great if you want to go sc , but its that cheap theres no need you can get a 3 course meal for 11.50euro's and a pint of cisk for 2euro its 2min walk away from the main bus station and all the bars and restaurants are all around the hotel and the beach is afew minutes away also ...staff are excellent to very helpful and excelent english

Room Tip: pre book a studio room or an upgade when you get there for only 10 euro each a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

it's NOT 4 stars hotel!! The room we get was terrible and we had to pay 20 more euro to change to better room. The food was ok, not better than that. The personal was very nice and helpful. Air-conditioned working from 6 p.m.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataliya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at the santana a couple of weeks ago, i do not hold with the arguement that malta hotel star ratings mean nothing, if you advertise as a 4 star hotel and you are not, holiday makers are being deceived, that is how i feel in this instance, i booked with media travel, never again, got to gatwick and had to pay £50.00 extra to get one of the suitcases there, at the time of booking the agent stated 2 cases at 20kgs, you would think it could only get better, but no, the room was meant to be a upgrade which we paid for, the towels were dirty, had to get them replaced, carpet thread bare and stained, aircon and fan noisy, balcony dirty, slices of dried bread remained on the flat roof area above entrance the entire stay, bathroom sink took ages to drain away, i was told the hotel had been refurbed two years ago, total rubbish, breakfast okay, lunch tme dined out after one experience in the restaraunt, all inclusive does not include food at the pool side bar, evening meal okay, little choice, only two bars open during day, one at night, entertainment only 2-3 times a week in the evening, this is not as advertised on website, i can only echo all the other complaints that people have made about this hotel, would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was upgraded to this hotel as the Sunflower was fully booked and received a free bottle of wine a bowl of fruit. The hotel was clean and tidy and well situated for the beach and the Buggiba bus station. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The lobby and the bedrooms were air conditioned. There was a restaurant attached and quite a few places to eat nearby. Swimming pool surround could have done with some attention but otherwise an excellent basic hotel.

Room Tip: Very quiet location - suites on the 6th floor probably the best choice but all rooms perfectly adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The santanta,was a lovely hotel,bit tired,but clean,the staff were very friendly,the room was great and spacious with great aircon. Bedding was replaced every day always clean and fresh towels were aswell, the balcony was great with a nice view and very quiet at night and day. the food very nice always fresh,lots of choice,and the hotel is in a lovely area handy for everything,st pauls bay,is stunning,cant wait to go back,went in august 2012,be prepared for the heat,the santana has two pools whick are both clean and nice roof top pool has a great view of the bay. Whilst the inside is super clean super quiet super calming. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,981 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing