We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santana
Nearby Hotels
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
$152
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
San Pawl Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$129
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$182
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Azzurro(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porto del Sol(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveler rating
348
598
446
169
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
598
446
169
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcomfort roomthe busair conbuilding workplenty of choicecafe barbars and restaurantshalf boardvisiting maltahotel is in a great locationbed and breakfastwalk in showerbreakfast and dinnercold meatsbuffet stylesun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,050 - 1,055 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at the santana a couple of weeks ago, i do not hold with the arguement that malta hotel star ratings mean nothing, if you advertise as a 4 star hotel and you are not, holiday makers are being deceived, that is how i feel in this instance, i booked with media travel, never again, got to gatwick and had to pay £50.00 extra to get one of the suitcases there, at the time of booking the agent stated 2 cases at 20kgs, you would think it could only get better, but no, the room was meant to be a upgrade which we paid for, the towels were dirty, had to get them replaced, carpet thread bare and stained, aircon and fan noisy, balcony dirty, slices of dried bread remained on the flat roof area above entrance the entire stay, bathroom sink took ages to drain away, i was told the hotel had been refurbed two years ago, total rubbish, breakfast okay, lunch tme dined out after one experience in the restaraunt, all inclusive does not include food at the pool side bar, evening meal okay, little choice, only two bars open during day, one at night, entertainment only 2-3 times a week in the evening, this is not as advertised on website, i can only echo all the other complaints that people have made about this hotel, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gazaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was upgraded to this hotel as the Sunflower was fully booked and received a free bottle of wine a bowl of fruit. The hotel was clean and tidy and well situated for the beach and the Buggiba bus station. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The lobby and the bedrooms were air conditioned. There was a restaurant attached and quite a few places to eat nearby. Swimming pool surround could have done with some attention but otherwise an excellent basic hotel.

Room Tip: Very quiet location - suites on the 6th floor probably the best choice but all rooms perfectly adequate
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The santanta,was a lovely hotel,bit tired,but clean,the staff were very friendly,the room was great and spacious with great aircon. Bedding was replaced every day always clean and fresh towels were aswell, the balcony was great with a nice view and very quiet at night and day. the food very nice always fresh,lots of choice,and the hotel is in a lovely area handy for everything,st pauls bay,is stunning,cant wait to go back,went in august 2012,be prepared for the heat,the santana has two pools whick are both clean and nice roof top pool has a great view of the bay. Whilst the inside is super clean super quiet super calming. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Santana recently for two weeks having stayed there previously and enjoying a relatively good stay. We holiday in Malta every year and in our experience have found that for most hotels in Malta you ignore the star rating as it generally means nothing. The staff at this hotel are friendly, polite and accommodating as much as possible. we asked to change our room and they were most helpful with this. The hotel does need an overhaul- air conditioning needs to work a lot better as its very hot in August. We tried the pool on top of the hotel - the views are terrific but most of the sunbeds and parasols are broken. we were also besieged by a large party of Russian students who, after complaints being made about the noise and taking over the pool were allocated the indoor pool as the roof pool is nowhere near big enough to accommodate large parties of this size.The management dealt with this within minutes of complaints being made.The only problem with the pool on the roof are the pigeons especially around the eating area. One poor man was served his lunch and made the unfortunate choice of leaving it for a few seconds to get some ketchup. His lunch was descended upon by pigeons . The pool bar attendant quickly resolved the situation by beating the offending pigeon to death with a parasol in full view of dining residents eating their lunch! the bird problem on the roof obviously needs to be dealt with. In spit of all this the standard of breakfast & lunch was good although I dont think I,d stay at the Santana again. Overall, it seems that the Maltese dont bother generally with the upkeep of their hotels, once anything gets broken it doesnt seem to get repaired or updated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if possible - the view from the rear overlooks a shabby piece of wasteground with a rather unattractive waste skip placed in the centre.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diverdoll1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Santana for 2 wks in June at their busy time. Room was spacious and very comfortable with all expected ammenities, it was also cleaned everyday by friendly staff. Staff at reception through to house keeping were excellent, friendly and very helpful. Hotel is within minutes walk to bus, shops, restaurants and beach. McDonalds is walking distance also. I will definatley stay there again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews