We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Forget the 4 star rating and just enjoy the hotel”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A lot of the reviews on here seem hung up on the four star rating which is a bit unfair on the hotel. It's a Malta Tourism rating not an international four star but the room rates are incredibly good value. It's unrealistic for reviewers to pay so little and then expect Park Lane luxury . Hotel is clean. Downstairs pool is generally quiet and relaxing, roof-top pool is tremendous.

We found it a really neat, well run hotel in an excellent location and it has a great choice for breakfast. Qawra has some great local restaurants close to the hotel and the whole of Malta opens up from the bus-station just yards from the front door. Area is quiet and safe, with lots of sea and activities just a short stroll away.

Would definitely stay again. Just forget the four star rating and look at your bill instead. On that basis it is a great hotel and Malta is a beautiful place - and you can be on your way to all the main places, towns and attractions within minutes of leaving the Santana's doorstep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jezza Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our last trip to Santana was when Italy won the world cup. Cant remember the year, but do remember the celebrations and noise outside the Hotel after the final whistle. Enjoyed it then and enjoyed our 10 day all inclusive visit this time. We always go with Chevron and last time booked a superior room which was huge with every facility overlooking front of Hotel. We did the same this time, but were given a smaller "superior" room at the back of the hotel. It had all the facilities but not what we were expecting. Seems that hotel now has three types of rooms, basic, superior and suites. The suites are the old superior rooms now refurbished. This option was not offered to us when booking with Chevron. We could have upgraded on arrival, but the room allocated was still very good. It was newly decorated, clean and had a small extra single room attached with fridge and cooking facilities and separate entry to the balcony. The toilet and shower was brand new and in excellent condition. We found the room service good with everything in order and clean except for a few occasions when fresh towels were forgotten but no big problem. Even had the smell of insect repellant after room was done - - a real essential as mossys were around.
Meals no complaints and enjoyed lunches from the menu in the cafe. We hate to see unruly kids running around the dining room while people are carrying bowls of piping hot soup or hot beverages to their tables - -a recipe for an accident and its always the adult carrying the hot liquid who is to blame when a child runs into them causing it to spill. Have seen it so often in other All Inclusive holidays throughout the Med. Thankfully not a great problem this time except during Fathers Day lunch when the dining room was ruled by kids running wild and members of staff did nothing to stop it.
The waiting and bar staff did not seem to know which drinks were available for All Inclusive residents. Possibly due to few A/I customers or lack of training.
Beware of the dreaded TV remote. Hit the wrong button and you will be charged for a days premium television channels, even though you never watched them. I hit the wrong button by mistake in the dark. Next morning went to reception with remote and explained mistake. Staff very good and cleared my account. Watch out for overloading the lifts especially on the restaurant floor after a good meal. They will not work if overloaded for safety reasons and you may get stuck. 4 persons max or 2 if you are on the heavy side. Forget the comments about 4 or 3 star ratings. A 4 star award is made by an individual or group who have visited the Hotel in the past and is solely a subjective award. The hotel does not award itself a star rating. Check out the web for the definition of a 2, 3 or 4 star hotel and who awards them. I rate the Santana four and a half stars with room for improvement and would certainly return for an A/I holiday

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank b0bj0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This so called 4* hotel is more like a 2 to 3 * establishment. The housekeeping was abysmal and the housekeeping deplorable.We stayed in a so called junior suite which was very mediocre to say the least. The location is ok but the room views are very disappointing. I would expoect concierge and room service facilities to be standard for a 4* star rated hotel. Cleanliness is not a priority here!

Malcolm Southern

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the 'Santana' for 3 nights. We booked a triple room for us and our daughter.When we checked in we got a fairly small room (I couldn't figure out where they would put the extra bed), which looked pretty drab. They were also doing construction on the floor (third floor), which also included the room next door to us. There was dust which caused my husband's allergies to flare up. When we went back to the reception desk we were very pleasantly surprised by the manager, who after checking our room and its location, immediately upgraded us to the 5th floor to a superior room. The room was much larger, with a couch that opens up to a single bed, had a dining area and a small kitchenette. It was very clean and full of light. It had a porch and a nice view. The porch furniture need to go to the dump. It's also time to get rid of the TV.
The beds were comfortable (not so the couch that opened up to a single bed), and there were plenty of pillows and blankets (we didn't need the latter). The aircondition didn't cool off the room and needs to be replaced or fixed, but the ceiling fans helped. We were lucky as it was not too hot yet (the beginning of June).
The bathroom was clean, but the sink didn't really drain well, so there was always soap scup stuck to it. The towels were usually fine, but they need to get rid of the thin towels with some holes (we got one on the last day). The soaps (not enough) were small and didn't lather.
Breakfasts were good - there was a lot of choice and plenty of food. When we came to Malta we were told that all drinking water is desalienated and to always buy water. I wonder if that's the reason why no water was offered.
The swimming pool is on the roof and there is a beautiful view of the sea all around. There is more than one deck, so while it's windy on the one around the pool, it's probably less so on the lower deck. We liked the pool very much.
The hotel is in a good location, particularly since it's very very close to a central bus stop and the Arriva system is excellent. We actually booked three days on the hop/on hop/off buses and it was wonderful. The girl (sorry, I don't know her name, but she was lovely) who worked at the desk in the hotel where you can book tours was very helpful.They always picked us up and dropped us off right at the hotel. We used the regular bus to go to Mosta (25 minutes away) on Friday night and it was very convenient.
We found Malta to be beautiful with a lot to see. We stayed there for 4 days, but would have been glad to stay longer.
In spite of the several problems in the room, our stay there was comfortable and we found the reception stuff very nice and accomodating. While I think the 4 stars rating is an exaggeration I would recommend this hotel for good value for the price and the location.

Room Tip: Room 533 was good with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emlaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a trip of Malta this month and stayed in three hotels over 2 weeks.
This was the last place we chose and it was a last minute decision (booked the day we arrived) mainly based on the price, the fact it had a pool, and the close location to the bus terminal.
The hotel is in very good condition and the room was clean and tidy, although quite small. The carpet was worn in places but the bathroom and other fittings were all in good repair.
For our needs the room was ideal, there was enough space for 2 of us and our cases to fit comfortably and the wine glasses and fridge in the room were nice additions.
The pool on the roof had lovely views but seemed a small area for the amount of guests and may be a problem for sun-bathing space at a busier time of year. The roof top is very windy and I was aware my hat may blow over the railings which may explain my sunburn! It is also mighty chilly getting out of the pool in the breeze.
We didn't try any food or entertainment, but for out needs; a base close to the bus station- it was perfect.
Overall I really liked this hotel and would look to stay here again as long as I'm not laying by the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from 10 days at the Hotel Santana - Malta. Have to agree with another review regarding the evening meal. This was very poor and repetitive. Did not cater for vegetarians at all and the sweet menu also not very inspiring. Breakfast in general we had no complaints. Evening entertainment non existent, we went round to the Canifor which was very lively. Our room was quite ok as we had double aspect doors giving access to a balcony and also a terrace. If we returned we would only do so on a b&b basis. This seemed to be borne out by the number of people at breakfast to the number having the evening meal. During our stay it was very hot and the air con in the room just could not cope making sleep almost impossible. Having made all the points above, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and in general found the staff very helpful

Room Tip: always ask for a room at the front of the hotel - the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikeryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in Malta, we stayed at Hotel Santana, the hotel is in a great location and the facilities are good, but the food was not good, breakfast was alright, you could get enough to do you, but the evening meals were terrible. In the week that we where there we did not get a good evening meal, which was very dispointing, there was very little selection of starters, main course and very poor dessert options. we would advise other holiday makers not to go to this hotel on a half board option, bread and breakfast would be ok.

The hotel did not offer much in the way of entertainment, had nothing for children, so if travelling with children, maybe you should think of staying elsewhere.

We did enjoy our stay at the Hotel Santana, but were disappointed with the food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sonia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $38 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing