We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Qawra”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have just returned from two weeks in the Santana,its a hotel we have stayed at several times and always enjoyed,the staff are all very pleasant and helpful ,our rooms were cleaned daily and maybe they could do with updating but nothing I could complain about. We booked a superior room this time and it was well worth the extra money,my only complaint would be the tatty 14 inch telly in such a large room and even though we paid for a superior room if we wanted to watch any movies on it the charge would be nearly seven euros daily,this would add nearly one hundred euros for a 14 day holiday for a telly you couldnt give away in the UK. I think if you pay the extra for a superior room the tv should be included (it is in the Dolman Hotel) so take note Santana management. Other than that the hotel and its facilities are excellent.The food is very good with plenty of variety and we all enjoyed the meals.In the past we have stayed at most hotels in this area,but we always come back to the Santana and in future it will be the hotel for us

Room Tip: superior rooms are large and have a nice view to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tommyrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunroute, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed Malta and our hotel and hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Best regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Myself and my family, have stayed at the Santanna Hotel loads of time, August was are 3rd this year, and we palnning to stay there at Christmas. This hotel is value for money, the staff are fantastic, alway happy to help, yes the room are dated, but the are clean, and the hotel is slowly renovating the rooms, we have stayed B&B, Half Board, and we have never had a problem with the food they is alway something for you to eat we have stayed with up to 17 people and some were kids and they never has a problem with the food, If you don't like the food, Malta is a great place to eat out and is value for money. I can recommend personally Le Stella great food and a great Maltese menue, if you like chinese The Great Wall across the road id lovely and good value for money there are so many more. For a night out if you like to Sing try Little Waster, and Watson have a great Drag act, and then there is Incognito which has great entertainment. I have been coming to Malta for many years and have seen the changes but I still come back because I love the island and Mlatese people and the Santana Hotel is a great base for me to stay.

Room Tip: Up grade to a superior Room, so much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donnad247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunroute, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear Ms. Dawson,

Thanks for your comments. We are pleased to note that you enjoy comin to Malta and staying at Hotel Santana. We look forward to your forthcoming visit.

Best regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked an Easyjet holiday from Belfast on a Saturday to Saturday basis for my wife, daughter (31 years old) and booked the Santana Hotel as they offered superior rooms. These rooms or at least the one we were given are a double room with a dining room of the main bedroom consisting of an extra single bed, a small round table and an old wardrobe which holds a microwave and I suppose crockery and glasses plus cutlery (we never got the chance to inspect as it appeared to be kept locked). I presumed it was a wardrobe for the 3rd persons belongings and when we informed staff that we could not gain entrance into it, that was when we were told of the contents.. We all put our clothes into othe double bedroom wardrobe and chest of drawers.
Could I mention at this time that the Hotel Santana is a 3-star (just) and not 4-star as described on their web page. The bedrooms have seen better days and could do with a makeover though the rooms were reasonably clean. On one morning we tidied our beds before going out to find that the cleaning staff did not bother to do a further tidying up hence in future I shall not bother to try and help staff out. Also the 4 glasses in our room had been used the previous night and I was expecting the glasses to be changed over but instead they had been given a quick clean by the staff and I just hope they were not used with the old bath towels.
The hotel overall was not too bad and the bar was a nice place in the evening for a sing-a-long with visiting guest singers and the prices were as good as you would find in the main resort. An Irish coffee cost 3 Euros where outside it was closer to 5 Euros.
The room safe was less than 9 Euros for the week and we asked for a late checkout (can only be booked on the morning of departure) and this cost 9 Euros which was good value as we able able to get showers before heading to the airport.
Because we arrived just before 10:00pm on the Saturday evening therefore missing our evening dinner, we had a meal on the hotel corner in their outside restaurant with a 5 Euro reduction per person and on our departure day we had lunch in place of our first dinner night. Very good it was as we all ordered burgers with salad and fries. The plates were so big we had to move to a larger table to take all three of us.
The meals overall in the hotel are standard meals but my family seemed to enjoy them.
For tours, you have a choice of North, South or Gozo tour all priced at 15 Euros each. We took the North tour which took in Valetta and Silima areas and included in the price is a 2 hour boat trip around the harbours at Valetta (well worth it though ensure the day you go for your boat trip, it is a calm day as we had a rough ride getting between the harbours)
Also make use of the local buses which are an all new island fleet and a ticket will cost you 2.60 Euros for an all day island return. As we went at the end of October/beginning of November we saw that most of the visitors were from the British walking stick brigade or else they were ex-pats living in Malta. Most seem to know wre to go and what to pay so I can only presume they either live there or else stay in Malta over the winter months.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front as our room looked out onto a wasteland area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IrishDragoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

After booking for the Santana a few months ago the nearer the holiday got the more apprehensive we got due to some of the reports on trip advisor.

Firstly, four star in Malta is like four star in Egypt or Eastern Europe- do not expect the same as four star over here or in the Canaries etc.

For just over 300 quid each we got a very nice break in a hotel which was clean with friendly staff and acceptable food. We went all inclusive and found the food whilst certainly not michelin standard was pleasant enough and there was a choice of at least three meats, a fish dish and salad. The breakfast was also of a decent standard and at lunch time you could get a snack in the bar such as a cheese toastie. The bar included Carlsberg and Cisk lager on draught and all house spirits. I have noticed some criticism about this but having gone all inclusive all over the world this is the norm. My mother in law enjoyed a baileys in the evening which you wouldn't expect in the all inclusive and they charged four euros for a double which is hardly daylight robbery.

The rooms are clean and functional and whilst being slightly dated were comfortable. The Pay TV is a waste of money though. The location of the hotel is really good and Buggiba is a nice little town. There are a lot of bars and restaruants nearby and the bus station is only five minutes down the road.

Overrall, we had a lovely break at the Santana which offered good value for the money. The staff were very friendly and we will certainly return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: If possible request a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was my first time visiting Malta & will definitely be my last! We had an all inclusive package with an upgraded room. Firstly the room furniture was very old & poor quality, the bed was two singles pushed together, the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly with extensive staining at the rear of the w.c, The staff were generally unfriendly & the food was third rate. Because we were all inclusive we were offered inferior wines, water & general drinks to other guests who were paying for their's. I felt like they already had our money so didn't make any effort to please us. The food in the restaurants was awful & my partner got a meal in the cafe bar one lunchtime & the fried fish was still frozen when served! We ended up eating out for our meals If this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I dread to think what the lesser rated hotels are like. Definitely will never go back to Malta

Room Tip: If you really do want to stay at this hotel make sure you get a room at the front of the hotel for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Santana Hotel is not a four star, when arriving staff booked us in and gave us a key to the room, no introduction to the hotel or its facilities, location of pool etc. stayed in the studio suite which was good, nice size with kitchen facilies and balacony, the balacony over looked a car park and shops, not a pretty area. the cleaning service was poor, cleaner changed the towels daily and made the bed, and thats about it, floor was not cleaned for the whole week.
The roof pool was horrible to say the least, not look after or updated, not a nice area to sit. indoor pool was ok, but no towel service. had to buy towels as didnt pack any thinking all fours star hotels provided a towel service.
The breakfast was ok, but just ok, limited choice compared to other 4 star hotels i have stayed. the evening meal was really bad, tried it two evenings in a row and meat was horrible, first night it was ham/gammon, couldn't chew it, second night it was chicken or beef, chicken was soo dry you just couldn't eat it and the beef was like leather, complained to the hotel manager, said he would tell the chef, think he needs to change the chef! other guests said the evening food was horrible. we ate out the the rest of the week. I found it odd that the pizza place next door advertised at the hotel and the hotel recommended it, if you ate there you would get 4 euros off the bill per person for guest staying at the Santana, when we complained on Saturday night we were informed of this option, however they would not be opened until Wednesday! and to have this option available clearly know they have poor food.
the night before we were leaving the manager sent wine and fruit to our room, didnt drink or eat it as we were leaving for home early next day. dont know why they sent it, forgot to ask, but really didnt make up for the bad experience, we used the facilities at the Dolman Hotel a few minutes walk away (4 star) and it really was, paid 15 euros per day for me, husband and daughter to use pools etc, so much nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deborah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for four nights on a B&B basis from the 8th October. Our room was at the back of the hotel on the fifth floor. Room was quite dark, carpet had what looked like toe nail clippings on one side of the room and it looked as if it hadn't been vacuumed for a long time. The bathroom was in a very tired state and in desperate need of tiling and decoration, grout was missing from many of the joints and the floor tile grout looked as if it had been pointed with a blunt stick and the shower performance was very poor! The view at the back of the hotel was not very nice and I can only think that the balcony was put there for cleaning the outside of the patio sliding doors (which couldn't be locked because the lock was broken). Breakfast was 'adequate' and there was enough choice to suit all tastes although the quality was somewhat lacking I thought. The reception area was ok and the staff were efficient, not overly friendly though. The bar attched to the hotel was excellent, very good service, plenty of choice and not too expensive. Overalll the hotel was ok but not a four star in my estimation but if asked if I would stay there again then........ yes.... I would.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel get the sun all day and although the road is there it is still very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick-Chesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,956 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $37 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing