We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay on a fantastic island”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A great stay on a fantastic island”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My wife & I stayed at the San Pawlfor one week in June. A 30 minute drive from the airport, we arrived and were promptly seen by Sandra (who was short & sweet in her conversation). We went to room 321 and were happy to find a clean room, with clean towels and a ceiling fan (but no air con.) Bathroom was spotless as well and we had a balcony overlooking the pool. As for the rest of the hotel decor, we found it fine, clean throughout and the staff were always cleaning and tidying, so we cannot see how anyone can fault the hotel.
Food at the hotel was fine (breakfast had a choice of cereal, rolls, cheese, ham, toast, cooked breakfast, juice and hot drinks, dinner had a choice each night of 3 starters, main courses and deserts with salads as well) - excellent value, don't expect 5 star cuisine but food was fine nonetheless. Raymond the famous waiter is comical, loves you if you either drink wine or are a 20 year old girl. Slammed the receipt on the table if you choose water to drink but he was not offensive (as someone else wrote) but made us laugh in his manner. Other restaurant staff were fine, especially the staff member from Southend, very nice & helpful.
Reception staff (other than Sandra) were helpful, pleasant and couldn't be nicer.
The pool was great, really spotless, with plenty of sunbeds all day. The pool was a little cold (as was the indoor pool) but you soon got used to swimming in it. The gym area was also good if you wanted a short workout.
Entertainment was a little tacky (singers each night) but this was fine and fun and finished at 11.30 pm so this did not keep people awake all night.
The area around the hotel was a little shabby in terms of rubbish but once you walked the 5 minutes to the sea front, you were greeted with a beautiful view, a walk to the left took you to St Pauls Bay (absolutely stunning) , walk to the right took you into Bugibba and its square (which is actually round).
Restaurants for lunch along the sea front were great value (lunch including a drink in many restaurants (we went to George, Bognor & Villa Mare) cost approx 12 euros (£10)).
Drinks very reasonable (approx 1 euro for a soft drink and 1.5 euros for a lager). It's great not to get ripped off on holiday and this was throughout the island.
Trips we went on were to the Blue Grotto (stunning caves and blue waters), the local Festas (a religious festival where you join the locals for a brass band, eating and a mad fireworks display!), and to Marsaxlokk Market (ok but nothing special although the fishing village was lovely). These were all done with local tours rather than Thomas Cook (book across the road a Fabs mini market) for half the price.
We went to Valletta on the bus (approx 1 euro) then a ferry to Sliema (also 1 euro) - Valletta lovely (visited the war museum) but Sliema very commercial with british shops.
Another place to visit is the Sportaholic , a new pub near the hotel (next to Spaghetti Junction). This is a stylish sports bar with lovely owners. We watched the football there and had 11 mini portions of food brought out to us during the match!! (as is Maltese tradition). Definitely a bar to top your drinking list.
So all in all, a great hotel for a great price, the Maltese very friendly, the island beautiful and inexpensive. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    387
    381
    218
    262
See reviews for
356
591
128
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Enjoyed a very comfortable week here with my family. The children loved the outdoor and indoor pools and the hotel was well placed for getting out and about on the local buses. The staff were incredibly kind and helpful, especially Raymond, in the restaurant who was a bundle of fun. He went out of his way to make the children feel at home and there was much teasing and laughter!

It could have been a bit loud in the evenings with in-house entertainment laid on and we were grateful that we were allocated a room overlooking the street rather than the pool area where the singing and dancing took place. However, the window glazing was sufficiently robust to ensure that we got a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0177Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This was our first visit to Malta and if we had to judge the island from this hotel`s standards it would be our last! The hotel is in a back street of a grubby run down area, a disco was in full swing when we arrived, around 10.00 pm. What appeared to be "ladies of the night" were plying there trade at the front door. Reception staff tried to be funny but came over as offensive. Our room was small, badly decorated, as was the rest of the hotel, carpeting was frayed and dangerous. bed linen did not fit the beds. water pressure was feeble to say the least, taking a shower was a master class in patience, and to cap it all the room overlooked an Irish Bar that closed late, so an early night was out of the question. Breakfast, to be fair, was adequate but the dining room, like everywhere else could do with a major make over.
If value for money is important to you, go elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Stockport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I travelled as a family of 6, we've stayed in the san pawl hotel before, so we knew what to be expecting on arrival, helpful, cheerful staff. This was the same this time around, we had to wait a little while for our rooms but nothing a little walk around could'nt solve. Around a five minute walk takes you to the beautiful saint pauls bay, where you can take boat trip to Gozo, Valleta and many more places. Theres a few bars where drinks are relatively cheap, a further 5 minute walk down the road takes you to a few more selections of shops, bar and eat-in places. This is at Buggiba square where there is abit of shade underneath gorgeouse palm trees. Again another 5 minute walk there is a bingo hall close to a bus station, there is also a natwest bank in Buggiba square. Back at the hotel we went back in to be greeted by a lovely member of staff that we met last time we went there Sandra the receptonist. The rooms were a decent size, the only downside to our room is that we were positioned onto the road overlooking a bar the small amount of traffic underneath. They had a tv, wardrobe, cabinets. The bathrooms where hygienic however the view out of the window was'nt very nice it was the window of the person next to you and if you looked down there was rubbish bags. There is a indoor and outdoor pool both decent sizes the outdoor pool has a section for kids. Around the pool there is a reasonable amount of sun loungers, a bar and a games room. The food is nice with a variety of foods on offer each morning and night, whilst we was there it was a relatives birthday for a small fee the restaurant arranged a beautiful cake to be brought out during our evening meal, at night around Buggiba sqaure and on the weekend mainly there was a busiling night life, there is no trouble. There is entertainment on in the hotel mainly consists of a singer. This can be heard from the rooms above if you need an early night. There is plenty to do throughout the day like boat trips etc. down at the harbour. The locals are polite and helpful when they can be, altogether san pawls hotel is in a great location, helpful staff, people wanting a good view must request this when booking as you may be let down when you get to your rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool lancs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

The good news is the hotel is very nice indeed, bedrooms spacious and comfortable. Meals very good with a splendid dinning room. Stayed at this hotel several times finding it good value for money. Excellent hotel situation next to one of the most beautiful harbours on the island.
The bad news- Raymond the dinning room head waiter, does all he can to be as annoying as possible. He always tries to move you where you don't want to sit, overbearinglyshouts at your table whether you would like some wine or not, if you dare to refuse, he will then practically strip your table in a clattering temper.
He seems overwhelmingly nice to ladies on their own, but if you are a family or couple you'd better watch out. When you are having your breakfast or dinner you find it hard to have a conversation over his smashing and banging of pots from the central cutlery/plate station and then scuttling round the dinning roombumping into chairs and shouting.
When it gets to his day off it is absolutely bliss as the rest of the staff are very nice indeed!
Hotel very good.
Head waiter very rude and arrogant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank we4abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

because my grandad is maltese we often as a family like to travel to Malta, when we do we have always stayed in the San pawl. i am in my early twenties, and i learnt to swim at this hotel! the hotel is situated right in the heart of malta where night life, restaurants and bars are about 10minutes walk away. every year weve gone the bar staff are friendly the receptionists are helpful and the food is lovely. if i had to find any fault with this hotel it would probably be the coldness of the pool outside as it can be striking ! but when your sunbathing in a hot climate thats just what you want right?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookieportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Friendly and helpful staff, big rooms, low prices in winter time. Quiet, except friday nights very noisy because of night club loud music.

Outside swimming pool was turned off due to renovation

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juho-PekkaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing