We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time fantastic holiday to malta”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed August 10, 2009

we stayed at the san pawl on 21st july till 4th aug there were 8 of us 4 adults 4 children we wanted to come to malta as this is where my husbands mum lived .A fantastic holiday loved Ray Alfred and Charles thanks guys you were great so were other staff. We met friends there and have kept in touch by facebook.Food was great,plenty to eat.Loved it by the pool it was deep and i cant swim but was jumping in towards the end of the hol.Rooms were good we had air con ,which is a must.Found it clean and always had fresh towels.Would definitely go again.Look after the cats guys.My children enjoyed it there my daughter was like a fish in the pool.Loved the afternoon bacardis 3 for 2 great bar staff.Great everything .Missing you all wana go back ......xxx vanessa

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank babybean133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2009

I was travelling on my own to Malta and after reading the reviews for the San Pawl i was thinking to cancell my holiday, When i arrived how ever i changed my mind i was in room 3041 and it was clean with no carpets over looking the pool, i didn't have aircon but did have a fan. my room was cleaned every day i had clean towels every day and clean sheets 3 times during my week long stay. The pool was cleaned everyday i know this because i would sit and watch the guy clean it from my balcony at about 7:30am every day (he had not woken me up). The food was basic for breakfast it was bacon or sauage never both. they say its self service in the evening but the chefs serve you and are quite rude, the waiting staff are friendly especaliy Alfred he works long hours but is always smileing. The pool bar is friendly and clean the english bar man Pete is the most friendly always laughing and joking with the guests just being a good host. one thing that let the hotel down in my opinion was the evening entertatinment, in the evening they would let none guests in mainly Malties people and the entertainment was for them not the people staying in the hotel as hotel guests had to sit at the back and the malties got servied 1st at the bar. I met some lovely people while staying at the san pawl and spent most of my holiday with them, we went to a lovely beach a 20min bus ride away it was clean and safe. the area out side the hotel was pretty quiet but there were some bars Ziggys on the opersit side to the hotel was a small friendly bar cheaper than the hotel bar, The Irish bar just around the corner was cheaper still and the had entertainment everynight on the last day i went there for breakfast which was lovely and also cheaply priced. if you go down to the square thats where all the shops bars and resturants are its about a 10 min walk from the hotel and they all stay open late.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonetravellerDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

A few weeks ago we decided to spend a day by the pool of San Pawl Hotel. I'm sorry to say that the service was very disappointing... The food they gave us was extremly bad, a can of peas and some sort of meat, the icecream arrived at out table a bit late and melted, the waiter with the mustache took very long to come to our table to take orders. And not to mention the jacuzzi which was dirty and the water didnt change. I wouldn't rate your hotel a three star, I'm truly sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I booked the San Pawl only two weeks before we went, looking for a cheap deal.
On first glance at the reviews it seemed not too bad, with someone claiming that the Hotel had been refurbished.
We got their late at night, 2 a.m., and even though we were tired the carpet hit you when you walked into the room! It was full of ripples and dirty.
Thought we would have some sleep for a couple of hours, wrong again! Our room was on a busy side road, we did not sleep a wink.
On close inspection of the room it was dirty and even the bathroom had mould around it.
We went down to reception and asked to change room. We eventually got another room but the room was worse, it looked like something out of the arc! We decided to stay their as it was overlooking the pool and we thought it was better than looking at the apartments opposite the other room.
We got unpacked and eventually chilled out a bit, but it was so hot, at least, what we thought, it had air conditioning, wrong again! It was on the wall but did not work, we only had a ceiling fan.
We went down to ask about this and the receptionist said that all the standard rooms had no air conditioning in only the Superior Rooms, then she went on to say that we had moved out of the Superior Room to a standard room! We could not believe it. So for the whole week we did not sleep too well.
We got talking to a couple from the East Midlands and five days into our holiday we showed them our room and vice versa. We could not believe the difference. They had got one of the rooms that had been refurbished and what a difference. Marble, fitted wardrobes and Air conditioning. Then they could not believe it when they saw our room, i'm not surprised! Even the landings had carpet which were dirty and even the carpet on the stairs was thread-bare.
Apparantly the first block of the hotel has been refurbished, but that's it. Even the Superior Rooms, don't pay extra for this they are not worth it, were of sub-standard.
The pool area was, most days, was hosed down at 6. a.m. but only on the day we were going home did someone clean the pool out, it was disgusting. We saw a guy get on his hands and knees once and rub around the pool tiles, it looked like a scumy tide mark.
Needless to say we did not go in the pool once.
The hotel entertainment was chronic. Every evening it was like non-professionals singing 'karaoke-ish'. Then we got told that every Friday, Saturday and Sunday the locals came in and welcomed them with open arms, the people staying at the hotel were pushed to one side, and true to their word, we were.
The Hotel itself was about a five minute walk downhill to the harbour. The streets were very dirty and uneven. Looking at the harbour it looked lovely but on close inspection we have never seen such a disgusting harbour in all our lives. It looked like the local tip in the water.
There was one so- called beach in Bugibba and on finding it could not believe our eyes. It was a piece of rock flattened off and grit, yes grit put on the top of it.
Apart from that it was just rock with steps into the water.
We made the most of our week, like you do, chilling out and relaxing, but we would never come back to Malta. You either like it or love it, we did not. If you like walking a lot and site seeing this will be you, but don't expect the standards that you see in Spain.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

ok first things first, the hotel san pawl will never set the world on fire, it is however very clean in a good location if you wish to expore the island
Malta is not cheap so I would recommend you go half board, take it from a real food lover who is not easily pleased the food on offer for breakfast and lunch is actually surprisingly very good.
The rooms are functional and clean.
The satalite TV is 3 chanels, but you did not go to Malta to watch TV now did you?
For anyone worried about noise please read on.....There is poolside entertainment everynight which gets noisy for anyone with a room facing the pool, request a roadside room and you wont hear very much, even if you do its all over by 11pm so dont worry.
Ask before you boo if your room has WORKING air conditoning as it gets very hot even at night without it , we alas had a ceiling fan which did nothing except push around the warm air, the hotel has problem with the air con but I dont know the full story, but it does involve a law suit .
The staff are all very friendly and helpful as are the lunch/breakfast staff, all in all the San Pawl is a good base, Bugiba is fine if you want to spend your days exploring the island, its not a resort to spend a week at as the only thing that you will find is a concrete jungle.And teenagers will be bored to tears and small kids will roast in the heat.
Oh and do not miss the oportunity to visst scilly its 90 minutes away and worth the trip

One last things if you hire a car be warned you could spend hours trying to find somewhere to park as it gets very very busy during the evenings

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryCW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

From airport by taxi drivers could do with lessons,
Hotel very nice, clean and staff ready to help.
Room. Clean but could do with a refurd, balcony looked out over street and some time very busy.
Sauna nice but could do with a refurb along with the indoor pool. Sauna costs 2euros per person for 15 mins.
Food was fair on half boarde stay.
Lifts to all floors.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skydiveChatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

we have just returned home from the san pawl after 14 days stay there, my hubby, 2 teenagers and myself. Afetr reading the reviews we really panicked. however on arrival, we were met by some very pleasant reception staff, no problems, got to our room, and were pleasantly surprised. Being that there were 4 of us in the 1 room, we had enough space to store everything and be left with some room. The only complaint we had was that the balcony was far too small for a family of 4 to have, so I spoke with our rep who came back to me within the hour and offered me another room. This new room had a huge balcony but only 3 beds, if you put another bed in there you would not be able to move and the toilet was tiny. So we stayed where we were. The music was very loud and laughable, as my two were in hysterics everytime they heard some guy sing. Malta is a beautiful island and we would defo go back, the San Pawl is what it is, as for the restaurant manager, laugh and humour him, we had absolutely no problems with him, however, we did hear of people who felt the sharp end of his tongue.The food was nice enough and my two being fussy teenagers ate everynight withoiut complaint which was something in itself. Beware at the weekend, as the hotel is open to every 1 and there dog, (literally). The locals use the hotel for the pool and restaurant, and quite literally take over. No problem with the Maltese as most of them are friendly and polite, however, the pool is extremely noisy and although there is quite a few signs stating not to bring your own food or drink into the pool area, it is blatantly ignored by the locals who ordered pizza and brough there own picnic in. This we duly followed doing, and nothing was said to us. (well how could they). All in all we had a great holiday, we went out every night, to Bujibba square, or Dionne's Bar, or over to jesters, which is directly across the road fron the hotel. Please don;t go to the San Pawl and expect 5*. This is a 2* at best but we enjoyed it as we got exactly what we paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $17 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Otel, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing