We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel as a base to explore Malta”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel as a base to explore Malta”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good value and is as you'd expect of a 3 star hotel. The pool is good, clean and plenty of space to sit in sun or shade. The superior room was fine and clean (get a road view as opposed to pool view if you want peace and quiet, we did). Breakfast is buffet and plenty of choice for normal diets (if you have dietary needs take own supplies!) good quality food. However we stayed half board and evening choices and quality was significantly lower than breakfast. We only ate there in the evening twice as the food was pretty badly cooked and tasteless (meat particularly) - much better options in local restaurants. Overall a good choice hotel for bed and breakfast and close to bus stops and coast for exploring Malta. Also friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we much appreciate your comments, On a good note we have revamped our evening meal menus as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    407
    406
    230
    281
See reviews for
383
624
132
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Thankyou to everyone at the san pawl for a great stay .Max the manager realy helpfull and friendly , restaurant staff very friendly .room was ok could be cleaned a bit better overall we had a great holiday .every one had something to say about the lady on the reception desk .all though she comes a cross as a bull dog chewing on a bumble bee shes actually very nice and helpful .be kind to her and shell go out of her way to be nice back .thank you to the lady who helped us book a boat trip to gozo and comino lovely lady excellent experience .Will definitely be back to malta one day .thank you Karen, Max. X

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nothappyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review , I much appreciate it :) please send my regards to Max......from Max :) hoping to being able to host you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Arrived at hotel at 1am to be told that they were fully booked and we would not be staying there! We were then told that we were being transferred to another hotel, however would have to get there ourselves. Receptionist did not even know where the alternative hotel was! This was very concerning as we were two women who had never been to Malta before! Receptionist finally helped us to find a taxi to take us to alternative hotel, which cost us €10 to go down the road! (eventually claimed this back from San Pawl) On arrival at alternative hotel was completely shocked with the standard, the room stunk of petrol, no fridge, no entertainment which we had paid for! Looked liked a 1 star hotel. Swimming pool was on roof terrace, not one guest was there, I am guessing it was because it looked really unsafe and shabby! The next day we went to San Pawl to complain and at first they would not take blame and blamed other companies....Manager then admitted that he had over booked hotel but still could not careless!!! After refusing to stay at the alternative hotel and 30minutes later, the manager finally offered us a room on the third day of our holiday with an upgrade to HB as appose to B&B. However we still had to organise somewhere to stay until the 3rd day as they were totally booked up. We had to pay for this extra accommodation ourselves! Once in San Pawl the rest of the staff were very helpful and kind, the food and the rooms were ok. However lost 2 days of our holidays and a lot of stress thanks to the San Pawl Hotel. Would not stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Madam, I admit that we were overbooked I remember talking to you at reception and I do not think that I could not care less actually and I did my best to accommodate you the soonest possible. To be honest I did not like the Maltese woman that was with you that kept on grabbing at my arm which I deemed to be impolite on her behalf. You were my guest and although we were at fault we did our best and as a compensation to our mistake we also upgraded your room and your board basis. We paid for our mistake as the hotel we had placed you in was more costly then the San Pawl, we have given you a refund on your taxi which you omitted to mention and we upgraded your stay to HB at a cost of Euro 10.00 per day per person, In all fairness I think that we do care.

Thank you for your comments and I am happy that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay at the San Pawl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here half board for a week. Hotel from the outside and pool is beautiful. Reception fully air-con. We stayed in a family room with large balcony. Room 108 was reasonable clean but there was an awful smell coming from the bathroom which others say was coming from the sewage pipes. To use wifi u had to pay €9 for 3 hours, which was very expensive. We didn't pay to use wifi in hotel. However there is bars and restaurants near by that had free wifi if u buy a drink or food and they would provide you with a wifi code. Food in hotel was ok to nice. They had different variety of food cooked everyday. Breakfast was lovely with continental choice. Malta is a very beautiful place but shame about the locals as the people there are very miserable and rude. They need to learn some manners and hospitality. However I would say not all maltanese are rude but majority of them iv come across are not very friendly. Don't bother with paying for excursions as we made that mistake ( me and my friend was left behind on an excursion, they don't even bother to wait for u if your 10mins late. The reason was because of the communication of wrong timings.)Your better off with a weeks bus pass for €6 or €1.50 a day and you can travel to wherever you like around Malta. Valletta is a must go to visit. The weather in Malta was about 35*c everyday end of July. Would definitely come back to Malta despite the miserable people. Lol. But there are nice holiday people there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank yin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest, sorry to hear about your impression and that as you say we are not so friendly. To be honest with you this is the first time I heard this as usually we are deemed to be very friendly and outgoing with a few exceptions that are found in any country, I hope you get to visit Malta again and that you change your feeling about us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from San pawl hotel. We had to get our room changed as it was small and not very clean second room was more spacious but not a lot of wardrobe to hang clothes up in. air conditioning did not work. The fan on roof was very noisy. t.v had only one station that was in English (news). The food was not bad but with little choice if you had children they had to take same as adults. You were no sooner finished and they would whip your plate way. We went to get our desert after meal was away a matter of 2 min and they had cleard our table along with the bottle of water that we had got. They did replace the bottle of water but asked if there was much taken out the first one. Loved Malta but would not go back to this hotel. You were also asked to hand you room key in to reception if leaving the hotel but on return u go to desk ask for key number they give you it without checking I.d. Could have been easy for someone to come In and ask for key that was not theirs

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Joan,

Thank you for your review and I appreciate your comments. I am sorry about the restaurant and its probably due to eagerness from the staff to have tables available. We encourage guests to leave their room key on the table as we would not know if they are returning or not. As you stated we replaced the bottle of water that was on the table which is the least that we could have done , but please understand that quite a few people leave their water behind when they finish thei meal and we have no way of telling if you are finished or not. Times before people used to indicate that they ended their meal and ok to clear by making use of their fork and knife but today nobody does that anymore unfortunately. Regarding the key I will make sure that at reception they ask for your keycard as they should be doing.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Upon arrival the reception area looked lovely as did the pool, it was when we entered our room that things went downhill, very small and quite grubby, the curtains and bedspreads were filthy and the pillows were like bags of sprouts. The balcony was tiny and the view, well actually we did not have a view. However the main complaint is the location of the room, it was hot and noisy, how could the management put us in that room knowing we were booked in for 2 weeks, by the end of the second week we could have gladly thrown ourselves over the tiny balcony, how many Elvis songs can a person stand hearing murdered by the "Acts" Had we been put in a room at the other side of the hotel I think my review would be quite different. We had room 330 and used the lift nearest to it which led down to the staff corridor, this often stank of smoke and being ex smokers we found it horrible as did non smokers that we spoke to. This should really be addressed as it was awful, because of this we started using the other lift and that is when we found the other half of the hotel which was beautiful, we felt like the poor relations. We are quite easy going and not ones to complain so just got on with it and had a brilliant holiday, we are already looking to go back to Malta next year but not to this hotel.

On a positive note we thought the food was first class, not A' La Carte but plenty of choice and all well cooked, the staff for the most part were friendly and helpful (special mention to Freda in the restaurant) Although give Sandra the dragon on reception a wide berth if you don't want a tongue lashing for just breathing!!!!!

Pool was lovely always got a sunbed and the hotel was in a good location.

Room Tip: If Air con is a choice definitely take it and if you like a big balcony ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room , I wish I had changed it for you especially if you do not appreciate the entertainment which will also soon be moved to an inside location.

Regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Well i just come back from a fantstic stay at the san pawl hotel...i cant believe all the bad rieviews i been reading! I can not fault it one bit lovely food, nice room and pool staff are fab very nice people. The hotel is very clean and tidy and caters for everyone families/couples! I cant wait to book to go back next year xxx

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank RDAH6786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Cannot wait to have you back for another holiday. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing