We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay will return!”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week b+b got a great deal hotel is in a fabulous location just a short walk from Buggiba, room was clean and tidy and staff all pleasant! There was Entertainment every evening a little bit loud if your in room at night but no real complaint about it. On arrival few minor problems with our room reported to reception by the time we'd had breakfast and come back up to our room it had been fixed - brilliant! Breakfast had a wide variety of choice from cereal to hot buffet. Was really pleased after reading previous reviews would deffo return to Malta it's a lovely place to visit and I would use this hotel as my base again great value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments , we look forward to hosting you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our third visit to the San Pawl. This time we got a smaller room than usual but we cannot complain. We had got a good deal for a B&B basis and once its clean we do not mind. Fresh towels and linen everyday. Once again staff were friendly as always. Its a good hotel for us as we have good Maltesase friends living in the Bugibba area, so its perfect for us.

Even though our room wasnt what we expected or we are used to......we will most definately still return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Auds44Kier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

looking forward to your 4th visit now. Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First trip to Malta and booked 2 weeks, Room was basic but clean and and towels changed daily, nice big balcony we had inland view room 306, no AC but ceiling fan which is what we have in UK. Breakfast lots of choice but more fruit would have been nice and yogurt. The pool we didnt use as we prefer the sea. For what we paid we were happy, this is a budget hotel we slept in the room and showered it was the perfect base to see the sights of Malta. Bus stop 2 minutes walk away takes you to the main terminus, its a 5 minute walk downhill to St Pauls Bay. Local supermarkets are great value and there is a cash and carry 5 minutes walk away which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Divebuddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was really dubious about the San Pawl after having read some of the reviews on here. We have just returned from Malta (11/10/2013). I'm so glad that I booked at the San Pawl. Yes, the hotel is a bit tired in places, but it was spotlessly clean. All the hotel staff are really friendly and helpful and very welcoming (so different to some of the hotels we have stayed at where we got the impression that it was just too much trouble to bother with you). The food was well prepared, well presented and hot (what a bonus!!) I didn't see chips on the menu at all in the week we stayed - what a welcome change. I would recommend however that you book a room facing the road and not the pool. I found the entertainment quite loud (but that is only a personal opinion). We upgraded to a superior room facing the road - it was beautiful, and very very quiet. All in all, don't be afraid of booking at the San Pawl. I'm going back next year (that has NEVER happened before).

Room Tip: Choose a room with a road side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We thank you for your comments. Look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks on BB only when we arrived we were pleasently surprised to find that the hotel reception had been refurbished it was a big improvement on last year as it seemed a lot brighter, we found the staff a mixed bunch. There are no matteress covers on the beds and the matteresses are very old and worn as were the sheets they are paper thin so you can feel every bobble of nylon through them. The first week the restaurant tablecloths were dirty and cutlery was just thrown on as was the serviettes however the second week was greatly improved there was a new restaurant manager who knows his job, tables perfect with the knife and fork set nicely with logo of San Pawl Hotel up the right way . We found the fried eggs were always either raw or burnt ,bread however was excellent lots of choice. On our last breakfast day the restaurant seemed very calm and well organised.

Room Tip: ask the hotel if your room has A/C also nett curtains as the hotel over the road can see straight in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your review.

It is a pity that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We do value the comments made by our clients and will be taking them on board in an effort to improve our services.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very good value for money. We checked in very late due to flight times but didn't have to wait at all, check in is 24hr. The room was basic, but clean and very quiet always, we never had any difficulties sleeping due to noise disturbance. The ceiling fan was also extremely useful for night times as it kept us cool and wasn't too loud either.

Our room had a balcony with table and chairs (which was a lovely place to sit and read) and twin beds. We had requested a double, but the situation actually worked out quite well as my partner enjoys wrapping himself up in the covers so he enjoyed having his own duvet! We just pushed the beds together. The hairdryer didn't dry and the TV was very dated, but we didn't come on holiday to watch TV and the lovely temperatures and sunshine soon dried our hair!

The beds were re-made every day and the room was cleaned with fresh towels provided. This was always lovely to come back to! The staff were all pleasant and professional. The housekeepers perhaps should have knocked more loudly and waited for a response as they walked in on us sleeping/in a state of undress on more than one occasion!

In terms of facilities the WiFi could be purchased for a fee with computers free to use and the pool was lovely, though closed far too early at 5:30pm. That would be the main downside to our stay, as we rarely made it back to the hotel in time to enjoy a nice long swim. We enjoyed the retro racing arcade game in the games room and the drinks at the bar were reasonably priced.

There are shops less than a minutes walk away and the pub directly opposite sells double spirits with mixers for two euros! To get to the beach turn right out of the hotel then keep looking right and you'll see the sea at the end of one of the roads. Snorkelling is good, but beware, the sea can be rougher than expected! For shops and bus stops also turn right and walk straight, you'll get there.

Thank you to the San Pawl Hotel for looking after us during our stay in Malta!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a much better balcony view, rooms facing outside are slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Eleanor,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your recent with to our beautiful Island.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that it met your expectations.

We do hope you will stay with us again should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just come back .We stayed at San Pawl the room was small ,the beds very noisie every time you turned over, the sheets only just fitted the bed , the fan was a bit noisie too <the rooms and all around the hotel was very clean . staff were friendly . the pool was nice and area around was good and the entertainment was good Towels were chaged every day even if you didnt use them .one day new towels were not bought back so had to chase them up for them

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We do apologise that the towels were not left in your room on one day. The hotel will be going on with its refurbishment programme and is presently finalising orders for new bed spreads and curtains in the bedrooms.

We hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
487 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,817 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $21 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing