We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed at hotel from 24sept for 2 weeks, arrived and was given the dreaded 318 room next to the lift. Paid for upgrade,180 euros. Nice pool and pool bar(Chris was great) as were most of the staff. Very easy to get a sunbed, no stress. Food was very good for what we paid. All in all a very nice relaxed hotel. We will be coming back to Malta as we loved it.

Room Tip: go for a superior room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Shaun,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your recent visit to our lovely Island.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with the service provided by our staff and with the standard of food.

We do hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
There are newer reviews for San Pawl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Another great holiday in Malta in September & our 5/6th stay at the fabulous San Pawl Hotel. This hotel has nice rooms, many of which we have stayed in! Maid service everyday with fresh towels & bed sheets changed frequently. Lovely food, great pool & sunbed area, plus pool bar with night time entertainment. Hotel management are friendly & approachable - should you have the need to, plus staff are nice & friendly too. We have recommended this hotel to our friends....Looking forward to our next stay!! :-D Pat & Mike G

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Pat & Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the San Pawl.

I am pleased to note that the hotel has once again lived up to your expectations. I would like to thank you for recommending the San Pawl to your friends.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

First time in malta so not sure what expect.

This hotel was lovely, in a prime location and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food is plenty and there's lots of choice and the dining hours are long, to accommodate everyone.
I don't think it matters which room you have, either outside or inside, the rhythm going to get you, it's Malta and there is entertainment 20 hours per day, just go with it! I was humming 'Spanish eyes' or some thing similar on the way home......and still doing so.

Beware, the ladies who steal toast. Breakfast can be a wicked time. Little 'ol ladies who won't strive (wait) for toast (they have truthfully entered the toast chamber) will steal yours, it's only when they realise yours is wholemeal they fess up! This hotel is full of them,......... or is it just the breakfast dames. San pawl is lovely, shame about the guests (toast ladies).

My only gripe was the flies, but obviously the were just being flies.

Lots to see, turn right out of the hotel and walk 2 mins to the bus stop and which ever comes first jump on it. Beaches to the right history to the left. But beware the big fella who herds his family in the coach before you, don't be british and queue or you will be there all day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jook1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel for your first visit to Malta and taking the time to post a review.

We are very pleased that the San Pawl Hotel met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at the san pawl , our room was very nice large a/c spotless the food was very good , lovely pool some other guests complained that the standard room were very small no air con so I would suggest to book a superior room the jester bar and ziggys opposite were very good and champagne bar with entertain ment twice a week was very friendly. Itis just a 10 minuite walk to the sqaure with a good choice of bars and restaurents trips are cheap to book in the shop opposite hotel malta by night with the malta experience was very good and the buses are easy to use with an all day ticket for 2.60 euros overall a very enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Book superior room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine_blethyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Christine,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel and for your review. We are pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

my husband and I went back for the 3rd time and travelled with my sister and her husband.the hotel had been revamped and looked very fresh and light. The staff were helpful and polite. Food was value for money and there was always a table vacant. cleaners refreshed towels everyday and freshened bathroom etc.
We will go back.

Sheila/ Tony Carter

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are great. The main street side is very noisy.Corner shop full of anythin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Sheila and Tony,

Thank you for your review.We are very happy to note that the hotel once again lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you at the San Pawl Hotel on your next visit to Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was with some trepidation after reading a mixed bag of reviews that we decided to stay at the San Pawl Hotel. For the money we paid we got a good deal. The superior rooms were a good size especially the three bedded room which turned out to have a double and twin beds. Yes the bathrooms could have a little TLC and the creaking beds some attention but for the money we paid we were delighted with the accommodation. If you are a light sleeper opt for the landside rooms because the poolside entertainment is very loud and we could still hear this despite having rooms on the other side of the hotel. In the end we switched on the air-conditioning at night and this did mask the noise very well. Breakfasts also good value. Minor irritation was that the hotel literature does state that you can hire a kettle but unfortunately they don't seem to have many of these and all were already in use during our stay. Also take your own pool towels. The hotel does charge a deposit for these and also does charge for washing them which might mount up. They also do charge a deposit for the TV remote control which I did think was a little strange Everywhere was very clean and most of the staff were friendly. Checking out was a bit of a muddle and did definitely lack the personal touch which was a shame after such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Choose a superior landside room if a lght sleeper
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylorfam_006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you chose to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your recent visit to Malta and we would like to thank you for your review.

We are very happy that the hotel lived up to your expectations and you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly.

We certainly hope to see you again should you decide to re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel san pawl three times now and every time weve loved it, great rooms,friendly staff value for money and cracking outdoor bar and entertainment.
Loved the food too very high quality inded and restaurant staff are very accomodating..well done to you all.
Bill.

Room Tip: rooms at the front over the hotel entrance have big balconies.. brilliant
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Bill,

Thank you for choosing to stay once again at the San Pawl Hotel and I gives us great pleasure to note that you have always found the hotel to be excellent and good value.

We certainly look forward to having you back for many years to come.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $24 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing