We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week in the San Pawl Hotel. As you walk in, the reception area is lovely, very modern and up to date. We checked in and were given our room key for 212. The second floor was boiling, we entered our room and straight away went to the air con, it wouldn't work so we phoned the reception and they said we needed to pay for a superior room to have air con, we said we had already paid for a superior room, the man said no and went to check, he came back and said oh yes and then the air con came on, air con must be operated from reception. We looked at the prices for air con and it was 15 euro a night or if you pay an extra £10 for a superior room online it works out cheaper.
The bathroom wasn't too bad apart from the sink that leaked a little when the taps were on. The toilet only had one flush an hour unless you filled it back up with water and the shower was a bit of a battle as it squirted out at all directions.
The bed, when going to bed we pulled back the first sheet and just before we got in we both saw something. We pulled one and it was a long thick black hair, these were all over the sheets. We spent awhile removing them and putting them in a little pile on the floor before getting into bed. We both did not sleep well that night. We were freezing during the night as the air con was on full blast and directed at our heads on the bed. We tried to lower the temperature but none of the buttons on the air con panel would work.
Next morning my boyfriend had a terrible cold which lasted the week, we think its resulted from the air con and mainly walking from the boiling corridor to a freezing room and back.
Breakfast wasn't too bad, you either get sausages one day or bacon, never both on the same day.
View from the room was great, we had a pool room as well which is advised or you'll get a street view.
Cleaning staff, not great. The pile of black hairs on the floor were never removed. Our towels were stained and not changed but just folded on our beds to look like they were. We asked for our sheets to be changed and they said they change them every other day, we asked again and they didn't seem very happy about this. Then the next day our hand towels and bath mat were taken away so we only had bath towels. We had to ask again for towels. We left an empty plastic bag on the side from when we bought something and the cleaner used it as a bin liner. Not impressed with that as still needed to use that bag. We got the impression that if you complain the cleaners do an even worse job.
Apart from all that Malta was lovely. I would advisor hiring a car as the bus service is not good, there was an accident with a bus not long ago so they have taken half the buses off. If your looking for beaches Malta is not the place to go. It is mainly surrounded by rock to much of our disappointment. But there is one lovely beach called the Golden bay but you can only get to it by coach or bus.

Room Tip: Superior Pool view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss-Spartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel.

Its a pity that you did not bring the couple of problems in the bathroom to our attention as our maintenance team would have been more than happy to sort them out.

I am afraid your assumption about our room attendants is not quite correct. We do get many guests complimenting them and their work.

We are pleased that you found the breakfast good and that you liked Malta.

We hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a week here from the 17th to the 24th September 2013. The Reception Area is very clean and bright and the Staff very welcoming. Our Room overlooked the Pool and entertainment area and in a sunny position on the Second Floor. The Rooms are cleaned daily with a fresh supply of Towels. We had a technical problem with the Fridge in the room, but this was dealt with promptly and it was good to be able to keep bottles of drink cool. The food was cooked to a very high standard with many choices to choose from to cater for all Nationalities. Meals are on a Half Board Basis, no Self Catering which some families may prefer if they have young children. It is only a short walk into Bugibba where there are many shops, Restaurants, Cafe's even a McDonalds!

We took advantage of the excursions by the Tour Operator and one of the Highlights for us was 'Malta by Night'. This is taken on an open top bus, and a Commentary of the Architecture and History of Malta is given by a Guide on the bus. We stopped off at Mdina and Valletta. In Valletta you also visit Malta5D an experience not to be missed!!!

A visit to the Mediterraneo Marine Park is a lovely day out and you can have the opportunity to swim with the Dolphins but book before you go. Just one more thing the Entertainment goes on till 11.30-12midnight so if you have young children this could be a problem.

Room Tip: Try and secure a Room above the Dining Area if the noise from the Entertainment Area may cause you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your visit to Malta.

We are pleased to note that from your review you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you were satisfied with the service, cleanliness and food.

We will certainly pass on your nice comments to our staff.

We do hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Malta is a really nice place to visit loads to do and see,The hotel looks quite impressive on first sight esp when entering ,The rooms could do with updating but generally clean and we didn't spend much time in the room as so much to do. a nice pool overlooked by hotel rooms but entertainment every night till about 11-30 so if that's not your cup of tea you may want to see if you can move to the front overlooking the road. Food is a self service with plenty of choice no complaints on this at all. We can recommend the Hornblower cruise to the blue lagoon, really excellent staff on board very welcoming , we paid extra to go on the oki-ko-ki speed boat , well worth it was brilliant, The buses good value to can go everywhere on them , just be prepared as lots of people use the bus service and they do tend to squash people on but good value and you can add it to your experience of malta, overall good value and a thoroughly enjoyable holiday , we would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THESTREET42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel on your recent visit to Malta.

It gives us great pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the cleanliness and the food were both good.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again at the San Pawl Hotel.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I thought the hotel was very good, The staff were very helpful, the room were cleaned every day, The food was very good The hotel is walking distance to Bugibba. We had a great holiday, The only downfall was the lifts broke down a few times, and when your on the 5th floor its a long way up.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is quite, if the lifts are working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishop56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your stay in Malta.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel clean and the food very nice and more importantly that you had a wonderful holiday in Malta.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the San Pawl Hotel.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

gaynor holloway. people said do not go to malta glad we did not take their advice. we stayed from sept 6th to sept 20 half board. our room was on the first floor street view large balcony.aircon.ceiling fan,nice clean bathroom.comfy bed.room cleaned daily clean towels .maid was nice told us good bus routes .the breakfast was good plenty of choice.the evening meal was very good three main choices every night.always hot and tasty.the friday bbq is excellent three courses cooked good as much as you can eat,not to be missed. the pool area was cleaned daily plenty of comfy loungers. nice bar for drinks and lunch time tasty snacks .evening entertainment all the staff were friendly and enjoyed a chat and worked hard. the hotel could not have been any better for us. we had a wonderful holiday.we will be back next year same room .a big thankyou to all the staff at san pawl hotel .

Room Tip: corner suites are large sunny with large balcony and quiet room 1065 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Ms. Holloway,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

We are pleased to note that you had a lovely stay with us and you found the hotel clean, staff and service very good and the food excellent.

We will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We liked the location of this hotel as it was only a short walk to the front and also Bugibba square.
There are a couple of nice bars which also do fast food very nearby, for football fans right by the hotel is Chris's snack bar which has a big outdoor screen and serves good beers.
The room, balcony and bedding was all clean and maid came in every day to clean which is important as it was hot in the room with no air con, but the ceiling fan was great when combined with opening the balcony door.
Staff at reception were either very nice or very grumpy, but being polite to them helped resolve minor issues such as not getting towels replaced and getting local information. The one problem that I found difficult to overlook was a problem with the shower in the room which was so weak it was virtually useless. When I asked at reception if something could be done I was told "it is old shower what can we do"! Also as their was no extractor fan in there or window it was like a sauna as soon as you used hot water if the door was shut.
Breakfast was a buffet which was quite good and there were plenty of tables even when at its busiest.
What may be an issue to some guests is the evening entertainment which is very loud and goes on late, we never had problems sleeping though as we the days out in the sea air sent us to sleep quite easily.
The pool area was always clean as was the pool itself and the bar area was a pleasant place to have a drink before heading off. The take out Pizza at the hotel was highly rated by several guests.
They have recently spent a lot of money on the reception area, I think it would have been better spent on upgrading some of the very dated looking rooms to be honest. But all things considered for what we paid it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazaroburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel good value for money.

We value the comments regarding the couple of points you brought up regarding the reception service and the shower and would like to assure you that we will be looking into these to improve.

We hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel on your next visit to Malta.

Kind regards,
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Having travelled to Malta for many years, we always wanted to stay in the San Pawl and we certainly did that, 3 times in one year now that should speaks volumes.

We stayed from 1st September to 15th September this year and had a fantastic time as we did last year. We stayed b & b, and the breakfast is nice, lots of choice for everyone and the food is well cooked. The coffee machine is amazing!

The rooms are basic but adequate for what you need, when travelling to Malta you have to go with an open mind, it's not like it is in England. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels which is great.

The pool area is cleaned everyday and there is always plenty of sun loungers for everyone. The salt pool is a delight to get into. You can purchase food at the pool bar at lunchtime, it's reasonably priced and very nice.

Evening entertainment is good and on a weekend the Maltese come along for the entertainment, sit with the locals and enjoy it, believe me, you will have a great time. I know they like there line dancing and so they should, they are great at it! The Maltese are lovely people, again have an open mind and you will really enjoy it.

Finally the credit of this hotel goes to the General Manager Carol and his staff. Any issues are sorted out straight away if any and the staff are very helpful and friendly from the bar staff, reception and dining room.

The San Pawl is a very good 3 star, try it and im sure you will like it, one of the best in the area.

Keep up the good work San Pawl and we will see you again in December for our 4th stay.

Kelly & Jason

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly300780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Kelly and Jason,

Thank you for posting this review regarding your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and staff met up to your expectations.

I will certainly pass you wonderful comments to all concerned and we look forward to seeing you again in December.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $19 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing