We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would never stop here again”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i did not want to write a review of this hotel ,as it has bad memorys for me.after11 months i now can.my wife and i stayed there november 2011-till december 2011.the hotel room was dirty.mould all the way up the curtains,the shower curtains were the same.beds hard .very cold hotel when complained told the heating was to early to be turned on november december when do you think the time should be ? after long talk was given heater but told not to tell anyone else.when we arrived 11 am told room not ready which is understandabl told to come back 1 - 2pm which we did and was given one room smaller and dirtier than the one we finaly got.
the resturaunt was ok that is all and same for food.i got a bout of caughthing and could not get my breath,tried to get help off head waiter and kitchen staff for water and my wife was given a reciept for it to sign before i could have it.people there at the time thought it was disgusting the way we were treated forgot to tell you we are 68 years old.i could have died.the only good thing about san pawl was the people we met a man called ronnie and four other people who said they would not stop there again .pity malta is a lovely island the hotel with right management staff refurnished warmer in winter with the heating on .more pillows was given two extra after asking to be taken of us next day because of shortage of pillows in hotel .do not get side view if you are still going as all you will see is two emty boarded up hotels with cats.and the ones in hotel mess all around the pool.sorry to go on but that is the san paul hotel after we even paid for a upgrade before we went.must add the irish bar on the corner is not to be missed especialy the quize night just fun and manageress makes you very welcome

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnvval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is no longer a 3 star but now a 2 star hotel, hence my award of just 2 points in our rating. It does have some positives, like being just 200m from major bus routes and a short walk from the town centre with an abundance of restaurants, bars & shops. However, it is in dire need of up-dating which they have planned between November 2012 and March 2013.

The food was acceptable and always served hot if you went early within the sitting you were allocated. There was a hot soup and a choice of three hot dishes every night, supported by salads. Dessert was a little disappointing with just water melon every night we were there, but a choice of lovely cakes which many enjoyed - shame they did not vary the fruit a little.

Their mattresses are the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on, and may well have bed bugs as mentioned by another reviewer, because we suffered 'overnight bites' most nights - maybe we went to bed too early! Also, cleanliness was a little lacking in certain areas, and this may account for the predominance of flies everywhere. We also had mosquitoes in our bedroom and had to buy a plug-in repellant which helped kill those hiding in dark places.

Non-smokers be warned that the hotel provides ashtrays in the bedroom and has NO signs whatsoever to encourage smokers to use the balconies. We always carry a spray to clear the smell of tobacco in hotel bedrooms for this precise reason, because many guests ignore non-smoking signs even if they do exist - very annoying to those who do not smoke and have to suffer the smell!

Talking to other guests at this hotel and others staying at nearby hotels, we got the impression that we did not receive 'value for money' at this hotel. As they say, 'you only get what you pay for', but we have stayed in better hotels for less money than we paid for this holiday, and are therefore disappointed.

Malta is a charming place with friendly people who make a holiday very enjoyable, so we do hope the hotel owners make the crucial improvements that this one needs, paying particular attention to those things that really matter to people on holiday. Namely; security, comfort, cleanliness, location, price and most important of all good service as this hotel has the potential to offer all of this - but should not do it as 'optional extras' to be paid for!

Room Tip: Although the rooms overlooking the pool appear nicer, the open-air entertainment in the evening can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Lady at reception was very abrupt young girl at reception also abrupt your bar girl kerry just lovely knew how to treat guests and up sell in both food and beverage
Bedroom was awful room 3047 bed broke gave 50voucher off our next holiday
Rep calum lovely rep good guy went that extra mile and more for guests thomas cook rep he was. Couldnt meet a nicer guy
Food not bad less ham please more for guests who dont eat ham or bacon
Would we stay again yes in a better room and no fixed singers and dancers please

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ok so it's allegedly closing for a refit and it shows. Hotel is very tired, towels are threadbare and hardly ever changed unless you ask. Caters for large groups of students and often ran out of meal choices in the evening, food choices are limited and repetitive think everyone will struggle to eat in for seven nights if on half board, we managed two which I think was two to many. Would only recommend B&B basis. Pool area was basic but very dirty all the time, ashtrays never cleaned patio areas never hosed down. Bar stocks very limited. Staff couldn't seem to bother, guess there on count down till closure. All the above said we booked on laterooms and paid £13.00 a night half board that's less than a value bucket from KFC. Room was basic and clean enough, water cold on most days. Not in the best location. If you want a cheap base and do not intend on spending too much time in the hotel as we did then its ok, but would recommend the extra couple of pounds a night for somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank justaskbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

To people intending to go here don't be put off by the negative reviews, go with an open mind and form you're own opinion. My wife, our son, his partner and myself stayed at the San Pawl Hotel 27th Sept to the 4th Oct 2012 and after reading some of the reviews slagging it off we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was big (5067) and sons (5066) both cleaned daily, towels changed as often as you wanted. The food was good and unlike a lot of european hotels it was hot, we had a choice of 4 or five main dishes every night and found them all great, During our stay there was pork chops, various fish dishes Pork carvery , beef stew, curry, chicken. Food wise the only thing I can complain about was the veg, often watery and tasteless and not much choice. There was one female I spoke to that "wanted a Mc Donalds". Now there,s really bad tastein food. One man complained that it was the first hotel he,d stayed in were the food was served to you at the counter rather than helping yourself. If you wanted more you asked and received more, simple as. The breakfast was repetative but there,s only so much you can do with bacon etc, There was also continental breakfast. What on earth do you expect for what you paid. Believe me I,ve paid a lot more and received a lot worse food. All the moaners pay 5* prices if you want 5* facilities, To the people that complained about the staff, I find in my experience that you reap what you sow. If you treat the staff like you would like to be treated then usually you get a good response. If your rude to people the they respond in a similar manner. Yes the hotel needs updating but overall we were all happy with what we got for the price we paid.
There are a few bars nearby but I think they probably depends on your age group non have pounding music,if you're young it,s livelier on the front. The local bars include, Jesters (right opposite hotel entrance) was ok but no happy hour, the food we were told was good. The street opposite 40/50 yd walk Spagetti junction had quizes and bingo,so we avoided it.Turn right out of hotel and you' ll pass Ziggy,s Happy hour till a strict 9 pm. bit further down if you like a bit of chatter then try the Shoebox bar . Friendly owners and customers. Our favourite though was turn right out of hotel past the previous 2 bars at the end of the street turn right and about 20yds on left is the George and Dragon. Not a posh pub but once you've been in a couple of times Crazy John will start telling you jokes and he had us in stiches every time, he just wanders out and looks serious bot straight away you know he,s going to have you crying with laughter. well worth a few visits, a big THANK YOU TO JOHN. Next door is a bakery were they do some terrific food, pizza squares, pasties,mini chicken kievs and lots more again well worth a visit.
We would go back to the hotel, to the moaners, if you want better pay more for your holidays, you get what you pay for. Give it a go you might even enjoy it .

Room Tip: 5065 a corner room is on the streetside and has a large balcony ,5067 (our room ) was big with a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What can I say?? Room was filthy - bed sheets never changed, same with towels, well they were changed the day before I left as the maid saw my case half packed and must have thought I was leaving! The shower cubicle was broken and dirty, no water pressure as such and had to run shower for 15mins before anything like warm water in the morning.
Took staff 3 days and eight requests to fix TV then could only get BBC World news service or an Italian channel. Air conditioning, well I could pay 15 Euros a day if I wanted to risk the old filthy looking unit in my room, stuck to the noisy ceiling fan which helped block out the noise from the late night bar across the street from my room, when a room move was requested, shrug of shoulders and told no rooms free.
Some staff helpful though, the english night porter and one young girl on reception, the rest I came across were indifferent or downright rude. The food in the restuarant was not very good. Not much choice and lukewarm at best. I would put this hotel as a 1 1/2 star not the 3 star as advertised BUT on saying all this I heard rumours that the hotel is closing for a refit which it really does need and if true all the above maybe addressed but I will be looking elsewhere for my next visit to Malta.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su-Boo2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Location is ok but that is about it, the food is by far the worst I have ever tasted.
They charge you for everything half board doesn't include any water with your meal etc.
Hasn't been developed in about 30 years.
The staff are rude and genuinely don't care about guests.
For a 4 bed room for a week we got two single beds and two camps beds.
I would not allow my pet to stay in this hotel avoid it like the plague !!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesD0489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,704 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,405 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $21 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing