We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as expected”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having read reports about this hotel was a bit concerned about going however did not find it as bad as reports suggested. Just back from a weeks holiday half board. Food was basic but always found something to eat and hot. Dining in evening when we arrived was between 6-9,30 however on the Friday we were there changed to first sitting 5.45 and second sitting 7.45. Times were allocated by room number and we were given second sitting which would not have been the time we wanted to go as we like to eat just after seven not told when we can eat. Staff serving food in restaurant, pool bar and reception gave impression they would rather be somewhere else.
Had ant infestation in bathroom which was reported to reception was handed fly and wasp killer to spray it ourselves. Dead ants remained after maid had been.
Entertainment outside at night was good apart from one night but maybe we are easily pleased.
Our room was overlooking pool and quiet for sleeping. Pool opened at nine closed at five thirty with cushions being removed from vacant loungers from quarter to five onwards which I thought was a bit early especially if you were not eating til quarter to eight.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Arrived back home on 21 September after spending 10 days. I was worried about the reviews that I had read concerning this 3* hotel. Staff very helpful, smiling and friendly. The manager dealt with an issue immediately that involved a group of people being asked to leave the hotel, how efficient is that! Rooms are basic but are in need of a little rejuvenation, if you like a cuppa first thing on a morning then take your own kettle. Our beds were absolutely lovely and I slept like a log (I did not have any springs sticking up). Always clean towels and our room tidy. Breakfast was good but would have liked to have seen fruit as an option and not just half oranges. Around and in the pool was clean with good 'pool snacks' and drinks. We found the prices reasonable. We didn't pay for air con but did leave our patio door open and the fan on was sufficient for us. We didn't have a pool view (was back street view) but was glad as the entertainment did not finish until 11.330pm. St Pawls Hotel is ideally located with a short walk to the front and Bugibba where there are plenty of restaurants for evening meals. Buses were at the end of the street but be warned it is hectic trying to get on the buses they are usually full to the door (we waited 1 hour to go to Valletta and every bus was full, we gave up in the end). If you want to go to the beach then go to Melliha (spelling?) was beautiful and finished off with an evening meal here. Can thoroughly recommend the Malta Sightseeing Hop on Hop Off to go round the island but was not impressed with the Gozo setup we felt that everything was rushed and not enough time but this is due to being picked up at hotel for the ferry to Gozo then on the tour bus over there and being taken back for return to Malta. On the whole we had a fantastic holiday and would if we had to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiritevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn’t expect much................. but did expect friendly staff .........missed any that were in fact several were quite rude, Rooms ......... standard room is very basic (223) but adequate although first night shower head fell off and the tap would not switch off phoned down to reception and was told that it would have to wait until the maintenance man came in in the morning ........I argued that we could not sleep in a room with water running all night. Someone came and switched them off !!, Shower head was fixed next morning. Our room was cleaned (well sort of cleaned) but we had fresh towels every day, the sheets well you could have shot peas through them I wouldn’t use them as dusters never mind bed sheets. When we asked about the Air con unit in the room we were told that we would have to move to another room with an upgrade cost of £150 or use the fan in the room as that ac unit was broken, we did find the fan adequate and not too noisy. The pool area cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, the pool was only cleaned once in our 7 days, and the terraced are around it was jet washed but not swept first so all the muck was just moved around. There are many broken mosaic tiles round the edge of the pool, and a broken white grill was ignored for days until a little boy fell down it and hurt his leg, within minutes this was fixed, it should not have been necessary for this to happen. The area is brilliant easy access to harbour area, buggiba, buses. We only did B&B and found this to be good cannot comment on the evening meal.
Find it hard to believe in this day and age that even for a cheap hotel that you have to hire a kettle and there was no fridge, drinking warm water and Sangria is not nice.
I visited this hotel about 20 years ago remember it as a much friendlier and cleaner place has definitely gone downhill. The evening entertainment leaves a lot to be desired different names same music virtually every night however sitting on our balcony it gave us a laugh. I have heard that it is due to be refurbished, the powers that be need to make not only structural changes to upgrade the rooms to an acceptable standard even at the cheap end but they need to do some customer service training, a smile costs nothing. None of the above dampened our holiday and we enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura125-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

my wife and i stayed in this hotel, just arrived back in uk on the 24th september.we arrived about 11am on a monday morning, we were fortunate enough to be given a room at 12.15pm.
our room was at the rear of the building overlooking the road,there was one plastic chair on the balcony,and a plastic table about 14 inches high,there was nowhere at all to hang out any washing,you could not even attach a washing line.the sliding patio door would not lock,and there was a six inch rip in the curtain.there was even a hole in the glass on the patio door about one inch in diameter,the water in the shower was a trickle no matter what time of day you used it,although it was hot.there was a bulb either side of the mirror,one did not work,the fan on the ceiling was noisy,the maid came in once while we were there,as we put up the do not disturb sign we took it off halfway through our holiday to have our room cleaned the maid came and all she did was change the towels and empty the waste paper bin she did not sweep the room or the balcony,and did not change the sheets. the pool area was ok although the water was salty sea water i think. the pool bar was expensive compared to outside 3 euros 40 for a pint of local beer,from 2 euros outside the hotel. some decent nights at the pool bar area although friday ,saturday,and sunday the locals take most of the tables,so you have to get there early.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squidgeSquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

went to this hotel last year and it was run down then even more so now but for the money we payed it was a great base could do with a good face lift pool side is good a bar that servers great snacks and meals

Room Tip: pool view is a must all rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and i stayed in the san pawl hotel for 1 week half board and found it to be very good we found a good choice of food and if you couldnt find something to please you (as i am very fussy) the staff were very friendly and helpfull and would always rustle up something for you. the rooms were clean and well looked after . it is vey central for seeing malta and the bus stop is just at the end of the street.the hotel would need a bit of upgradeing but we would def stay here again. to those that are finding lots of faults it is a 3 star hotel cheap and cheerfull.... if you want 5 star then pay for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tameoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Firstly, I have to say that we booked room only, and it was cheap, so our expectations were low to begin with. However, our "standard room" was worse than even the basic Soviet stye "hotels" we have stayed in around the Eastern Bloc!

However cheap, we would expect that hotels to be comfortable enough to sleep in and relatively hygienic:

Our initial room consisted of three single beds with mattresses so worn, the springs jabbed into your whole body, these were on a wooden base that creaked so loud that if you managed to find a position where the springs didnt torture you, the slightest movement would cause a creak loud enough to wake yourself and your partner.

The ceiling fan was so noisy and ineffective, it wobbled and screached so much you feared it might fall off. This noise of course rendered it useless as one couldnt consider sleeping with it on. The fan incidentally was coated with dust, that seemed to be stuck by a greasy film?

The room smelt strongly of tobacco smoke.

After one night we had no option than to pay the 200 Euro ransom for a "Superior Room":

To be fair his upgraded room was much better; equally tired looking and well in need of a refit. but relatively clean and smoke free. It also had some kind of version of A/C which if left on continually on its optimum setting, made the room less hot (not cold) so one could sleep.

Staff; I really can`t understand people who said they found staff here friendly, as even though I always smiled and spoke in "Pigeon Maltese" to say good morning etc. the majority of staff couldn`t seem too bothered!

Admittedly we went at the end of the season, and we excused that the staff were probably a little tired and jaded at the end of a long, hot season (just like the hotel which is due to close for a much-needed Major refit).

Bar Staff generally verged on being rude, who clearly didnt want to be there half the time.

Cleaners, did call every day, and did seem to try their best with the scant resources they had to work with; very threadbare and holey towels etc.

After two weeks we got tired of the dust on top of the counter high tv and wrote "Please Clean Me" which they duly obliged.

Sheets were not changed after nearly 2 weeks,until we threw them in the bath together with the dirty towels.

I found the management here was probably the worse I have ever come across, with a can`t care less/can`t do anything about it attitude, either shrugging their shoulders or ignoring you. The only time they seem to come alive is when you are offering them extra money; (ie; 200E for room upgrade, 28E for Safe, 10E for TV remote control etc.)

After the bad start, and the obvious lack of cleanliness here, we decided against trying the food here. Although to be fair, guests we spoke with generally seemed fairly happy with the food, and the menus for Dinner did appear to be quite varied. The restaurant did look quite nice and clean from the outside.

We used the pool only on one occasion, but found that the pool had large amounts of hair and muck at the bottom, and found sunbeds were smeared with the muddy deposits of peoples feet, as the patio area was constantly stained with sandy/muddy debris. and sticky with spilt drinks etc.

On the positive side; The hotel was cheap, even after paying for the extras, the upgraded room was wholly better, and we could sleep (beds still uncomfortable and very creaky - sorry for those below us). The handyman was a real star, and did a stirling job, in keeping this ageing and obviously under-resourced hotel going, always with a smile. The showers were powerful and plentiful hot water.

Location is good for getting to St Pauls Bay/Bugibba/Qawra and buses and shops.

Malta and its people are generally wonderful!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel! If you do want to brave this place, don`t even consider having a "standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pablo_Sulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $17 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing