We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, fantastic people in a "tired hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at Gilleru Harbour Hotel for a week and was amazed at the lovely setting. The hotel is really on the seafront of St. Paul's Bay with all facilities in walking distance. The staff was absolutely fantastic with advises, help and assistance. The hotel, however, was worn and probably hadn't been improved for the 30 years of existence. Understand that a major refurbishment is planned for the end of the year and it is needed. Wouldn't have a problem to go beck after the upgrading. Malta is like an endless walk in history.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaleGil52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 735 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

well what to say an a lovely spot of malta, we met people who had gone year after year.
we would like to be part of that it has amazing potential.
but the food was not great the air conditioning not great, although be believe its up for a refurb in nov and we are hopeful it may open next year with a few minor changes to make it a perfect venue for us to visit we would even take the family as its a safe part of the world as is malta

Room Tip: ask for a sea view it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

this hotel but in a nutshell.....dreadful breakfast but the loveliest view ever! had to eat out all the time . the hotel needs livening up bit of personality warmth and a good breakfast.,
not great cleaning , stale smelling room and distinct lack of anyone really giving a damn!
could be a little gem if in the right hands.
met lovely guests though who were there to chill as I was

Room Tip: must be a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soozienorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

very disapointed with the standard of the hotel
the whole hotel looks as if it hasn't been refurbished in 30 years
bathrooms where clean but held together with mastic sealant and the fixed shower head was at 4 foot so most impractical
when we pointed out that the fridge didn't work we were told it just insuated cold items, but when i mentioned it a 2nd time the problem was sorted, it was a faulty plug.
Because of this attitude we didnt even mention the 12 inch T.V. with the front panel off so you had to put your finger to make it in work and when we did get it working reception was awful the bracket on the wall obviously held a better T.V. at some time
It is such a shame as the location was great but the only thing 4 star about this hotel at the moment is the plaque on the door
Please spend some money and refurbish this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were a little apprehensive after reading reviews but the hotel was fine. It was clean and roomy enough. The beds were really good and the housekeeping was excellent. On the whole, the front of house staff were pleasant and relatively informative although the mood of one lady seemed to change from very cheerful and friendly and helpful to dour and disagreeable over the course of the week. If you want a quiet hotel to rest your head and hang your clothes without paying through the nose, then the Gillieru Harbour will suit. The pool is lovely, but check the calculations of the pool bar...maths not a strong point! Book a sea view for the quiet and the spectacular harbour views. Room 317 is smallish but perfectly situated. BEWARE THE LIFTS!!!! Four stuck between floors in six days! Refurbishment will be worthwhile if the hotel is shutting in November but I am not sure how thorough it will be as I heard room costs for January being offered over the telephone. We would go back there.

Room Tip: sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laldi0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very quite relaxing week at this Hotel, really wonderful setting at St Pauls Bay harbour. Plenty to watch from the well placed balcony, room basic but alright would have been nice to have kettle to make tea and coffee. Towels changed daily along with room cleaned to normal standard, could do with a little up dating. Staff very friendly and helpful. We only booked bed and breakfast which I was pleased about as breakfast was very poor, only tinned fruit no fresh, took ages for toast to do perhaps a new toaster would help. Also not really into hard boiled eggs with bacon and tomato's. Very easy access to bus stop to get to bus station so that you could change for any bus to get all over the Ireland, cheap weekly or daily bus tickets. Would use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Room over looking Harbour is really excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Commanding the best view on the island of Malta, the owners need to consider what else is fundamentally important to guests. Having stayed here many times, it is disappointing to note that it looks very tired and needs new life injected to revitalise to what once it was! Rooms are not up to 4* standard and although the restaurant staff are all excellent ( a credit) the food sometimes lacks imagination and is too often run of the mill. In sum, potentially a jewel in Malta's crown that needs to take a good look at the scathing reviews that undermines its much needed credibility. A great shame that it has come to this.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,682 reviews
1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,957 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,585 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3256, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $43 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing