We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Mares Still........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was also sent to Hotel Management Via Email..
Would like to pass on my review of your Hotel, this might get things moving for the better , so other guests might have a better stay…..

On arriving early hours on the Friday Morning, No Air-conditioning in Room, none for 4 Days, Slept on Balcony, 2 nights due to temperature in room, gave us a fan to use in room that was being used in hallway, Late Monday afternoon offered another room, as I requested this on the first day, asked to complete Maintenance requests, would only except verbal, continually told that the Manager would contact me, I asked several times but he could not be contacted,
T V very old, had to put finger into holes to change channels, volume etc. Lucky to receive 2, 3 station that could be watched, no remote controls as where damaged, no Batteries, not compatible with TV.
Towels, stained, Had to request to be changed, Pillows had holes, linen poorly washed, lack of Maintenance throughout room / Building, stains on floor leaking pipes, Drink machine in Reception area, not working on the first day, and still not fixed on day 7 so to buy a water you had to walk to the shops,, or get from a restaurant close by.
we were so stressed, we didn't enjoy what we thought was one of the best accommodation in St Paul’s as we booked and paid 3 months in advance, had a safe but you had to pay 15 Euro, List for bar fridge but none, yes the view was great from room (Sea view), several times asked the staff at reception for information on the Restaurant, or made enquiries there was lack of knowledge and any sort of Management leadership on decision making.. …. “Photos Taken” Still having night mares……………

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Gillieru Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 704 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Got a nice room with a lovely view on the fifth floor where we stayed for a week. Most things allright but we had some problems with the refrigerator who turned off if You took out the key and left the room and the television-set (from the 80:th?) where just 4-5 channels worked.
We were pleased with most things but must admit we overheard lot of complaints from other guests. Aircondition that didn´t work was obviously a common problem. So watch it :-)

Room Tip: Nice views on the 4:th and 5:th floor. Try to get a room with a balcony on the seaside.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well where to start, when we booked the holiday in early June the catering had a good write up, on arrival when we went for a pre dinner drink we were warned not to expect what we had read in trip advisor earlier in the year.
The Dinner showed typical signs of re heated, or pre cooked food and then re heated, the staff had no idea of catering, presentation of food and customer service this was reflected not only at dinner but also at breakfast
It got to the point that when new arrivals booked in they were asked if on half board, they advised that the standard of catering had deteriorated and would advise guests to change onto bed and breakfast.
Overall the hotel looks tired and the staff have no leadership a lovely location but if there are no changes we would not ever consider in going back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

room very basic but clean,no tea making facility in rooms,no mini bar.food not up to 4* standard,selection very poor the bar not fully stocked.reception staff were not always helpful with the exception of Mary Rose who was always cheerful and very helpful, certainly not 4*hotel although good location

Room Tip: room with sea view a must
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is pretty much ideal, with stunning views and only a short walk from shops, restaurants and bars. The harbour offers a stunning backdrop and the pool, situated on the second floor, overlooks the harbour and is a very pleasant place to relax in.
The bus service is only yards away from the hotel and offers a regular service to the capital, though it does take an hour and can sometimes be very busy, so choose your times to travel carefully.
The hotel itself is rather quiet with a pleasant shaded pool bar and a resturant attached specialising in sea food. The bar is generally quiet and offers some lovely peaceful views while enjoying a wine.
The rooms are pretty basic and offer little by way of luxury but all appliances worked though the choice of TV stations was quite basic. The corridors leading to the rooms are very dated and rather shabby and in need if new decor and carpets as they sometimes smell, probably due to the number of people staying involved in water sports (water polo nearby) and diving (diving school underneath the hotel) and those people leaving wet gear on the carpets. A good clean would do the job nicely i think.
The views from the balcony did make up for the basic nature of the room and served as a lovely viewing platform for the entire bay.Rooms tidied and cleaned regularly though some days the new towels arrived late in the day due to delayed outside laundry service.
The staff were generally nice and helpful and did try their best to help whenever required.
As a basic holiday I can recommend it in terms of value, location and resort amenities and resort atmosphere. The rooms and corridors are basic and could do with updating but are upstaged by the stunning views and location. Free Wi Fi in the reception and bar is also a plus. I would go back again. Lovely weather also, 30th July - 6th August 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axelf 1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Review written July 2013. This hotel provides a dark airless foyer with equally dark grumpy reception staff. The dining room is equally dark and airless and both breakfast and dinner are terrible. My wife and I have never had such bad food. The cook (not a chef) has no idea of what foods complement each other and indeed has no idea how to cook. The management of the hotel take no interest and continually pass the buck. Many of the guests asked for refunds and received them from holiday company reps. The hotel appears to prefer mass students and possibly the food is OK for them. However, the students (which probably make up the main group of guests) are surely, make a lot of noise and have little respect for other guests. The fabric of the hotel requires considerable updating. The one point of interest is that the hotel has a good position on the beach. Change the management and some members of staff plus update the whole building and it might be OK. We would not go there again.

Room Tip: At present I would suggest you do not go to this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I will start with the positives; as many people have mentioned the location is fantastic! Its right by the harbour and lovely and quite but at the same time it is a little short walk to the busier part with shops, food establishments etc. The rooms with the sea views are out of this world and such a lovely sight to wake up to! For views and location, this hotel would be 10/10 – it is just everything else that let it down!
Staff: One word – the two ladies on reception were rude and not at all helpful! When we first entered the hotel we were given our key and then that was it – not a welcome, hope you enjoy your stay, a visit to our room – nothing! During our stay, when we needed help, whenever we asked, we mostly got a rude reply with a simple ‘I don’t know’ and then they would just get on with their business! I really do not understand how the face of the hotel can lack so much in customer service skills! The cleaners were also very rude and would often ignore you when you said hello. On a more positive note, the staff at breakfast seemed helpful and very friendly!
Breakfast: It was ‘Ok’ – I would not say it was bad, but at the same time, very basic food but not at all terrible!
Cleaning: Cleaning was basic but ok. Our bed was not changed after 4 nights and we had to complain. The towels were horrible! Rough and very old looking!
Rooms: The sea views were amazing but apart from that, the room was basic. The air con was half falling off the wall and VERY noisy! Impossible to sleep with at night! Could also hear the very noisy lift from our room all night.
Pool: The pool is nice but very small compared to other hotels. No one keeps an eye on the pool so guests do take advantage by reserving most seats with towels and also taking drinks into the pool etc.
Overall: The staff let it down for me. If it was not for the staff, I think I would come back, Ok not perfect but it was ok for the price but the staff are just rude, unhelpful and do not seem to care at all about the guests!

Room Tip: It is all about the sea views!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $51 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing