We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saying Sorry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Saying Sorry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This time last i wrote a great review on the Gillieru Harbour Hotel that is the last time in this review i will call it a hotel it is more like a Youth Hostel ,Training Camp for the Water Polo players of Malta .
I gave this place a really good review but how can a place change so much in a year so i must say sorry to anyone who took my advice and went there on my report.
This was my third visit to the Gillieru Hostel i did expect to be going to the same standard if not a bit better but wrong gone back to a nill rating .
number one hit over the head by door fram collapsing manager gave me bottle red wine for that one,Miss grumpy Mary Rose did not resopond until i asked for the manager.
Breakfast gone back to cheese & ham and horrible sausages boiled eggs hard and overcooked,in fourteen days fried eggs once,some sort of scrambled egg the wierdest omelette that i have ever seen not a bean or tomato mushroom in sight ,
i did manage to have a little talk to the manager about my feelings and he said could i give the another chance ,great for the day he was there then back to transport food .
Next saving tip PLASTIC TABLE COVERS JOES cafe guest removed them in protest
still kids running amok most of the night ,
i go on holiday to relax not having to moan about things that should never happen
this place is a place to avoid if you can .
in the two weeks towels shabby stained ripped sheets the same,the entrance never cleaned Brass work that use to shine and door never cleaned best to find another hotel until this hostel is sorted ,lovely views and some of the staff okay but avoid Mary Rose.John and the manager
Alan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flash419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    227
    172
    78
    58
See reviews for
85
385
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is NOT a 5 Star hotel. Yes the view is awesome, but that is not enough. I just stayed in June, 2013 and I was very disappointed. It was over 35C during my entire stay. I arrived at 2 pm and was overheated. The hotel lobby was so hot and uncomfortable. When I went to my room, the air conditioner just put out warm air. I called the reception and they said that the A/C was on a timer. So from about 8 am to 4 pm there is no air conditioning! I spoke with a few other guests and the air didn't even work in their room. When the A/C was off you had to open the patio door and the room door to get air flow. Nothing like having everyone walking by able to see in your room!

I can't believe the owners would be that cheap! The guest's comfort should come first. You cannot expect your guests to be out of the hotel from 8 -4. Yes, there is a beautiful pool to cool off in, but sometimes you just need to rest in your room. I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: A/C on a timer. Be careful of which time of year you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 950DonnaK950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is ready for a referb and will be having one in November. We were there last week in June and the restaurant staff was changing to outside caterers so the changers are starting to happen. the towels are old and stained,the TV a waste of time,and no tea/coffee in the room.That said the rooms are clean the hotel all round is clean. pay extra and get a seaview you get a fantastic view of the harbour,but don't get a room near the lift as it bangs day and night.We went B+B so don't know what the food was like. The breakfast was continental with 2 hot dishes, hard boiled eggs with, hard fried eggs with, hard poached eggs with, so we had continental. we found 2 realy good restaurants .1st the Portobello turn left out of the hotel and take the high road at the back of the church 200mt up the road on the right hand side.The food is top class the view of the bay and the sunset is fantastic.2nd the Tarragon, turn right out the hotel 100mt up the road again top end food need a thick wallet at this one but worth it.Would we stay at this hotel again yes we would,best view in Malta

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview not near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGW1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Gillieru Harbour Hotel twice, (each stay for 2 weeks) the last time being October/November 2012, and both times really enjoyed my holidays. Both visits I booked a sea view room and can say it is well worth the extra money.
Having just read the last review "Times are changing" when considering booking my next holiday, I must say how sorry I am to hear the restaurant staff are leaving. I have found all the staff in the hotel really helpful and considerate, so if I visit again will be sorry not to see the usual smiley faces at breakfast and dinner. My best wishes to you all (kind regards to Raymond and Charles) and good luck finding other work.
Yes the hotel does need some refurbishing, hopefully the noisy lifts will be sorted, never have a room near the lifts!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, well worth extra money, request room away from lifts and take a travel kettle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Once again at the Guilleru, this will be our third visit. Things are about to change at the Guilleru,, and some of the changes in my opinion are not going to be appreciated by guests who frequently return simply because of the superb staff employed here. For instance the restaurant is going to be transferred over to outside caterers. The current restaurant staff consisting of Head Waiters Raymond who has loyally served for 19 years along with Charles 17 years, waiting staff Joanne, Gertrude time served unknown, all lose their jobs within the hotel. The current Owners/Management clearly do not understand the important roles the aforementioned people play in keeping all clients happy, in my opinion using an outside catering company is a recipe for disaster. The only positives from this! Apparently the hotel closes in November for long overdue refurbishment, hopefully they will heed my previous comments relating to disabled facilities, ie disabled toilets in the lobby/bar area, disabled access to the pool area, and finally at least 2 rooms adapted for disabled use, I could go on, but my sympathies lie with the aforementioned members of staff who were only told on the 26th June that their futures did not include the hotel, and they will all be gone within the next few days. If I have got any facts wrong hopefully Management will comment on this.

Room Tip: Always ask for a side room or room at the back with views to St Paul's Island.if you like the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had seaview room on 3rd floor, fantastic vista over st Paul's bay. We went half board on our first trip to Malta, with hindsight we should have opted for B+B as some food not good. Ensuite toilet+shower in need of serious modification, some of bedding+towels stained, but overall all the staff were very friendly and helpfull. If you don't want to drive then bus service (Arriva) is very good although driving standards a little erratic. If room modernisation was implemented and tea+coffee introduced to rooms, we would definitely go back to the Gillieru.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xwoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June , the location of the hotel is great very relaxing the pool area is very clean with plenty of sunbeds and plenty of areas of shade if need be as we did as the temp were very high ,the pool is a nice size very clean but very salty so most of the time we went swimming in the bay , Reception staff gave you a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble very helpful . Breakfast was good .Room cleaned every day fresh towels .And just a short stroll around the bay to the many bars and restaurants . All the major boat trips are just around the bay about a 5 min walk so so much cheaper than booking with the rep . The air con in the room is ok not brillant but that might have been because we were there in a heatwave and I do not think anything would have cooled the room ... One of the best excursions was the Malta by night tour and 5D show so much fun , but if you just want to explore your self just use the buses 2euro65 for a day ticket and you can go around the hole island . All in all the hotel and staff were very good if you wanted to pick fault with some things you could but you go on holiday to enjoy yourself not to moan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarksSeaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Property: Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing