We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC THE BEST ON THE ISLAND”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Qawra Palace best in malta fantastic Ive been going to malta for 42 years My children family and friends love it they go evcery year twice a year,,, The staff are fantastic wonderful and friendly in every department,From the management to the cleaning and maintainence..The food is fantastic and caters for all needs, entertainment is second to none no expense spired the best on the island and caters for everyones likes.. it suits every age group., So if you have any sense dont listen to the rif raf on here ive been going to this holel every 6 months since it was built and the people like this are only after free holidays as compensation we see them all the time there. The QP hotel has regular facelifls every 3-5 years this and last year has had 5 full floors referbished to all rooms to high speck, new reception area, new air condition system, new dining room, new indoor heated pool with 2 spar pools (which the 20-30yr olds trashed within 5 weeks of opening so had to be closed to be redone) this has all been done in 2years.. so while all you who moan are getting a cheap holiday just tane time to think about the damage YOU holiday makers make and the hotel NOT YOU!!! have to pay for the damage YOU make so think about their lively hood your damaging...you live with it on your consciences...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maltesetopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,777)
There are newer reviews for Qawra Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,221 - 2,227 of 2,777 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

4 star is a joke, more like 2 (not that I've ever stayed in one) room clean but still in the 80s. Food couldn't eat it, tried the first night, oil soaked fish, and salty potatoes, dessert tasted like soap (disguised as mousse). Bar was like a workings men club in the 70s. you have to pay a deposit on the remote control for the 20 year old portable tv in your room, and pay approx 4 euros a day to hire a kettle for your room, unbelievable!!!
dining room is like a school dinner hall all sat in rows, and if your section is full up you are told to come back in 10mins or so. saving grace lovely coffee shop attached, open very late, great coffee and cakes. most of tthe clientel were over 70, with zimmer frames,
we have at least 4 to 5 holidays a years, and this is the worst hotel we have stayed in, Beware!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolinewhite04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

having arrived at the qawra pigsty on the 28th of sept and returned on the 5th of oct its the only holiday that i can say i was so glad to be going back to the rain and wind in the uk.we arrived at the hotel having booked a low floor and pool view,of which we got none we were put on the 8th floor and it wasnt a pool view.on arriving at the room the room was dirty and smelt of smoke which went back down to the desk where we came in to complain and was told by the very rude receptionist there wasnt any rooms till the following day.I spent till one oclock in the morning arguing with peter the manager and was told still couldnt have another room .So the following morning goes to the desk to change my room and was told i could pick another room which was on another floor.great i thought room wasnt bad settled in to my new room we went out in the night came back to my room to fin a huge cockroach running across the floor.So here i am back down to the desk complaining again along with lots of other people.But the rude receptionist didnt find having cockroaches in the room a problem,in fact she told me they had a infestation of them,the room was sprayed with stuff to kill them and i didnt see anymore.The bathroom had all black mould on the tiles ,the shaver plug was hanging off the wall,there was no light by the wardrobe so it was dark for u to use the mirror.the food was the worst all inclusive i have known the same old rubbish every day not once did they do chips for the kid it was potatoes every nite.the bar service was rubbish and the drink was like water.the entertainment was like scarbourough on a saturday night old time dancing i have never seen so many oap in all my life there was nothing there for the kids to do at all yet in the hotel right ups it says it is child friendly ,no not at all is it child friendly.overall the hotel was very dissapointing and wont reccomend it to anyone other than pensioners .on the las day of the holl going down to the beach the ramp going down to the beach was very slippery and my hubby fell and broke his toe as did several other people fall.also beware if you book this hotel dirty old men hang around the toilets which my son seen one flashing but they dont put things like that in the hotel write up.the only good thing that we had out of the holiday was the nice trips we done just to get out of the qawra pigsty

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bengiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Don't see what all the fuss is about surrounding the issue of cleanliness, our room was cleaned everyday. My family and I enjoyed the coffee bar ALOT! Great service and very nice drinks! Having been to Malta the previous year, we where a bit worried about entertainment as my dad and I intended to do our PADI open water diving qualification and where going to need our sleep, but where very happy when the entertainment was by the pool which is a sufficient distance away from the rooms so those who need it can get a good night's sleep! Don't worry if you are staying there...I enjoyed it very muchly indeedy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportybex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

we stayed at the qawra palace hotel on a half board basis. We were a little concerned about negative reviews and are so glad we didn't change our hotel ..... I really don't understand what people are looking for when booking into a large hotel ..... you can't expect a one-to-one service! We upgraded to a sea view room, worth every penny! Towels changed daily, room cleaned daily. Food was really good, lots of choice ..... can't think of anything that wasn't available, there was always 4 hot dishes to choose from, salads, cold meats, cheeses, soup, pasta .......location is spot on, few minutes from the bus station. Entertainment every night was excellent, good bar service. Not ideal for children, although I don't think Malta in general is ideal for children. Would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Diane0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We chose this Hotel because of its closeness to the facilities such as the Bus station, as we have visited Malta before and decided to get around on our own as the organised trips are too long and expensive. We were pleased with the value for money, the food was typical of a large hotel that has to try and please everyone whilst feedind a lot of people at once. I am a fussy eater, but could always find something to suit. The breakfasts were very good, with a choice of english or continental. The prices of drinks were equivelent to British pub prices, the entertainment was a singer or band every night suitable for dancing. There was nothing for children to do, but maybe it is different in the summer. The staff were very friendly, as we have always found,and this was our 6th visit to Malta.To sum up,you get what you pay for, and a little bit more.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 665ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We spent one night at Qawra Palace before moving to Dolmen Resort Hotel. As requested we were given a room with a partial sea view. The room was very basic but clean. The restaurant was very dark, gloomy with a very scarce variety of food. However, we were presently surprised by the indoor pool, which was very nice and clean. I would say it is not as bad as described in some reviews. I believe most of the hotels in Malta are overrated with no exception for Qawra palace. I would only come back to this hotel for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvanEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $52 - $1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing