We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“now impressed”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
southport .england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“now impressed”
Reviewed July 4, 2007

was very aprenensive after booking i read several bad reviews.i went with my wife , son and granddaughter.i would say the bed rooms are 3 star but the rest of hotel 4 star i went for the all inclusive option.3 meals aday with usualy about 4 choices.the bar and snacks were open from 11 am to 11pm.the beer was german and shorts were also available.the food was good the swimming facilites good.the staff i found very friendly.i would recomend this hotel and holiday to anyone after reading so many negative reports

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — lifts had a few problems
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happypunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    897
    782
    345
    263
See reviews for
746
1,291
98
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

After reading reports on here I was very apprehensive about going to this hotel. However I have to say I was very impressed with the place, in fact I have to question whether some reviewers visited the same hotel as I did? OK its not the Bellagio or Wynn.... but its perfectly fine for a package holiday. The rooms may not be the best furnished (extras are available from reception)... but they are clean and I only want to use the room to sleep in. The reception area and facilities where kept immaculate and it always appeared that someone was polishing the brasswork. The food was very good.... with numerous main courses every night including swordfish in a local sauce, grouper, beef, chicken, pastas, salads etc. The beer was good.... Lowenbrau and always served well chilled. Also worth mentioning that the staff where fantastic and looked after myself and my 3 y.o daughter very well.
The position of the hotel is good, the pool area is fine, and the evening entertainment was ok. I would have no hesitation going back there.
By the way I have stayed in 4* plus Vegas hotels plus some 5* UK hotels and so I feel I am qualified to make a reasonable judgement. Plus I questionned several other guests whilst there and all seemed satisfied.... maybe they have turned over a new leaf?

  • Liked — Good staff, clean and everything worked
  • Disliked — Rooms was a bit basic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thedonk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Just returned from a weeks holiday really glad it wasn't 2 weeks Our room was on the top floor, the lifts didnt work properly and you had to wait ages to go up and down. we sometimes resorted to walking down. The food was like very bad canteen food, the breakfasts were ok, but the lunches and evening meals were bad we only had 2 lunches in the hotel and 3 evening meals, the rest of the time we ate out. We were all inclusive and the local wine was undrinkable so again we ended up having to pay for a better wine. The pool was small and was made even more crowded by people using lilo's even though there was a
notice saying no lilos in the pool.

The drinks measurers were very small, you had to have a double to make it worth while. For an all inclusive holiday it was not worth the money. The holiday is not 4 star it is a very poor 3 star

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Gingakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

barnsley,england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2007

would like to meet the person who rated it a 4 star i would lay them out its only just made 1 star in our minds.The food is bland and awful we stayed a week twice at dinner we cleared our own table the servers really dont want to be there.The first room felt like we were in a pigeon hut so we complained they moved us to another room bit better at least had air con but we had to put up with mould on the walls and paint peeling off the bathroom you cant move in it the floor is very slippy mould on walls cracked sink and tiles.Sorry have to stop its bringing back really bad memories DONT STAY here you will be very disappointed

  • Liked — balcony
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2007

I have recently returned from the Qwara Palace, like a lot of people after reading the comments I was not sure what to expect. Unfortunately the negative comments I have read were true in a number of cases. Food I would say was the biggest negative, poor quality and not up to normal good holiday hotel standards. The hotel in general is more of a two star and while the rooms are OK they are not very modern (smallest bathroom I have ever had), we also had inward facing room our balcony was that small one person at a time could only sit on it ! The positives are the staff of friendly and helpful, and in general if you are not paying full brochure price it is reasonable value for money and it is in a good area. However I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

well where to start , first impression was this looks ok, not a 4* as was sold as, staff in lobby acceptable but not exceptional, room :- 3 single beds two of the beds had torn sheets on them, the shower plug hole was blocked and as you were showering things were coming up the plug hole, can say once i reported this it was fixed imediatly, we were with a large party of 20 or so and not one of us were happy, for starters they caterd for italian school kids who screaming and banging on doors and jumping the balconys till gone 3 in the morning, there teachers had no control over them, and when we complained just as 80% of the hotel guest's did there was nothing done. i felt so sorry for the older couples they were so intimadated by them,
The Food well it was very poor not much choice most of the food you served yourself except the meat or the main part of the meal, it was served to you most likly so you couldnt take too much, the waiters who served the food were always talking to each other with there backs to the guests so que's were forming at every meal, no chips nothing for the kids unless you orderd it and then it was a choice of fish fingers or sausage thats it all week and by the time it was ready you had all eaten it was a sham, you were only allowed to sit in certain seats depending on what floor you were on, never seen anything like that,
entertainment well wouldn't have bothered ,
i have been in 3* self catering to 5* all inclusive and to b honest i think this hotel would be lucky to be given a 3* rating was not happy at all with this hotel would go back to malta but not this hotel. Warning your paying for a 4* and getting the standerds of a 2*

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — food,
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I booked one week for myself and my partner, 2 weeks before we were due to leave I read a report advising that most of the rooms overlooked each other and the only ones that didn't were the ones with a sea view. I rang the hotel direct and booked a sea view I offered to pay the additional 70Maltese Lira over the phone but was told this wasn't necessary as I could pay on arrival. I asked if the sea view was booked and was informed that it definitely was.On arrival I was told there was no record of my conversation and that our room was a room overlooking the others. we went to check it out and was horrified to see it was almost possible to shake hands with the people on the opposite balcony. We were offered another room overlooking the road at the side but this was unclean. I rang the mytravel rep Darren who was brilliant and had us installed at the Hotel Bella Vista where we had stayed last year and we had a brilliant week many thanks Darren you are a star !

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank cappyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing