We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Poor hotel definitely not 4 star by any rating standard. First room we were allocated was a dormitory with 4 single beds. Whilst the hotel agreed to remove to remove 2 of them and make the other 2 into a double the standard of the rest of the room was such that we requested a transfer to a room with a sea view for an extra £14 a night. This was slightly better but still dated. Don't expect to have any tea or coffee making facilities or even a remote for the TV or key for the safety deposit box without paying extra. Also don't expect a seat in the cafe on a Saturday or Sunday night as the locals take over. Food is reasonable but the buffet style breakfast and dinner makes it feel a bit like being back at school and over strict adherence to their system of allocating you a section to sit in for the duration of your stay could see you left standing waiting for a table to be cleared while there are empty tables in other sections.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,388 - 2,394 of 2,855 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

Good food. Clean rooms and hotel. Pleasant staff. Excellent location. Good indoor swimming pool.
What more could we have wanted?
Only that the charge of 23.50 Euros for use of the room safe is exorbitant and surely cannot be justified!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

we had read the reviews,and were supprised how good it was all the staff were helpfull.
the food was good breakfast and dinner very clean everywhere did not try the pool looked to cold near the shops and 5 mins walk to the buses beware the many people offering you the chance of a free holiday there is no such thing we booked all our trips near the bus station all the althougth the holiday rep was not pushy wolld go back

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboyhertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I was very disappointed with this hotel.

Room was on the ground floor overlooking the small gardens and the rest of the blocks. When you looked out of the balcony it was like looking out at a prison block! Not much privacy!

The room was dark and and the wall above my daughter's bed was damp and the plaster and mildew was falling away onto her camp bed. We asked to be moved but were told that the hotel was fully booked.

Don't bother trying to get a lounger by the pool unless you want to start joining the queues that start at dawn by the doors to the pool. Honest! We went on a day trip to Sicilly which meant leaving the hotel at 6:30am and so we went for a very early breakfast and to pick up our packed lunch and at 6am there were families already sitting on the stairs waiting for the pool doors to open at 8am!!

Because the pool was so crowded we started going up the road and swimming in the sea, at least you had some space even though it was very rocky. It was nice to get away from the hotel which was very crowded.

The food is just about edible although very bland and you are allocated to a block where you must eat for the duration of your stay! Some residents were on all inclusive so you often had to queue for ages to get a drink as often the bars were woefully understaffed.

For the evening meal there was no drinks waiter service - you had to queue to buy your drinks at the bar and then take them in with you, it all became a bit of a log jam to the entrance to the dining room as the queue for drinks oftern blocked the entrance!

For a decent cup of tea we used to go to the cafe which was lovely and air conditioned and sold some fantastic cakes!

An average hotel - overpriced for what it is

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel was advertised as 4 Star and we selected it with All Inclusive board Basis. The overall standard was 2 Star. The room we were initially allocated was that terrible we had to pay for a sea view upgrade. The room had very basic furniture and in our case one of the wardrobe doors was completely broken and could not be opened. The outlook was onto a rear courtyard. There was no mention in the advertising literature that if you wanted to watch the small wall mounted TV you had to hire a remote control. There was also a charge for the use of the room safe of 23 Euros for 2 weeks (non returnable ) If you wanted tea making facilities in your room that was another charge per day of 3 Euros. You also had to pay for the use of the ironing room.

The food was quite awful especially breakfast. Do not expect a full English breakfast you get bacon and fried eggs one day and then small suasages and scrambled egg the next. The beans were watered down and tasted terrible. The evening meals lacked any kind of imagination and in the main were very bland with everything tasting the same. There was a sald counter but once it started to be used they were slow in refilling and sometimes had to be asked to do so. It was also concerning that there was no form of cooling for the salad counter.. During our stay there was an influx of locals for a weekend and it was obvious that over that period the food standard did rise but dropped back when they left. If you are all inclusive the choice of snacks etc is very limited and only supplied between 11 am and 11 pm. The bars you have to use are not attractive and sparsley furnished. There is a very good Cafe/Coffee bar off the foyer but that is not included for all inclusive use. The extra for all inclusive was not good value.

To be fair the staff were good and the charges for internet use were reasonable. The hotel is well situated for all the local services and bus station to other parts of Malta.

I do not feel we received what we expected in view of the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

After reading the reviews of this hotel,I was thinking have I done the right thing but when we arrived we very pleasantly pleased.
The hotel itself was excellent,The service was superb,Plenty of things to do.
The entertainment was quite good.ie sky sports etc
Rooms i could not fault and extremly good lifts.
The food was very good,Plenty off,Good selections
Good Bars with average prices and very good service
On the whole would go back as had a extremly good holiday.
Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susans65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We choose this hotel specifically for the evening dancing which we thoroughly enjoyed. However we investigated other hotels within walking distance for future reference.
We booked half board for 11 nights with Chevron holidays at a rate probably less than the cost of a decent dinner in the town. With that in mind we had no complaints.
On arriving after travelling for 2 weeks at quiet and beautiful hotels in Italy and enjoying lovely food the Qawra Palace came as a shock to the system :-
a) masses of people
b) the motability scooters parked by the lifts
c) bland food
d) the noisy double television lounge

We actually found the hotel and particularly the ballroom warm compared to previous reviewer.
We were fortunate to be on the 8th floor which meant that our inside room seemed light, we deliberatelty did not want to pay the extra for a sea view as we did not spend much time in th eroom. However being on the 8th floor meant we had to endure the chronically slow and tedious lifts !

If after reading the many reviews you, like us, decide to stay at the hotel, just remember how cheap it is.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Ulverston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $48 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing