We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 4 star i think not more of a 2”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
brig
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a 4 star i think not more of a 2”
Reviewed February 4, 2010

went to this hotel for xmas and new year with my wife and 4 friends what a mistake it was like a care home for elderly i have nothing agenst oap,s but when they are messing about with the food then throwing it back on the hot plate and spiling it down there cloths is off putting . we went all inc which was a waste of time the bar closed at 11pm on xmas eve and new years eve if you wanted a drink after that time you had to pay for it so much for all inc when you could get a drink you could only get 2 halfs of beer or 2 very small shorts and i mean small you could not see it in the bottom of your glass the glass collectors were taking glasses away which had not been finished they were that small the food was not much better same day in day out no choise at all and cold most of the time .it sounds good a ballroom and a night club belive me you would not like to be in eather of them it was line dancing night after night nothing to do during the day unless you wanted to play bowls with the oap,s the staff was ok but had to do what they were told by the management we went to this hotel 7 years ago and it was great cant belive it has gone down hill so much its all about making money now not caring for the hoilday maker i wont ever be going back to this hotel it is noy good belive me

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billythekid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    897
    780
    345
    263
See reviews for
744
1,291
98
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

August 2009 was our second stay at the qawra palace,really nice hotel very friendly staff.The choice of meals were also very good.The enterytainment was great,best night is wednesdays,country and western night,Johnnie Gee is a really good singer and entertainer. Going again this year in august.Looking forward to another really good holiday at the qawra palace.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We booked our New Year's holiday well inadvance (April 09) to ensure a great room and good deal. With our booking we made initial requests for our party, including 2 sets of grandparents, ourselves and our 11 month old daughter to be located close to each other and near a lift. The hotel granted this wish but located our elderly family and young daughter on the 8th floor of the hotel. The 8th floor internal balconies being unsuitable and unsafe for both our 11 month old and her elderly grandparents. Our room was located beneath the HVAC equipment located on the roof. It was extremely noisy and the floor and walls vibrated. After just one sleepless night we asked for our room to be relocated. Initially the staff weren't very obliging. We were shown an alternative internal room which was also unsuitable because it was also noisy and stunk of smoke! Eventually, we decided to pay an upgrade for a seaview room. This room was great, no noise, no smells and a fabulous view of the bay. Sadly we had non alternative but to leave the grandparents on the 8th floor as we settled into our 4th floor room. Our recommendation is to enjoy a stay at the Qawara Palace is to book a seaview room, not just because of the fabulous seaview but the rooms are much quieter and more up to date than the internal rooms. You can hear the HVAC equipment in the inner court yard - if your ok with humming noises then you'll be ok. Ask for a lower level room if you have children/elderly people with your group. The food was really good and the staff were great too.........just the noise and the high level rooms spoilt it for us. Will we go back to Qawra Palace? No. Maybe back to Malta though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Food average. Plates were too hot for selve service. Both of my sons burnt their hands on the first night (no warning signs were posted). They were more cautious thereafter. Watered down orange juice. No rreal butter - just some horible soft marg. I did think the red house wine in the caraef seemed a bit watered down too. Meals generally good and catered well for vegetarians and other dietry requirements.
Room clean (No unwanted insect visits as described in some reviews I've read). Bathroom small. Room cleaned and fresh towels every day. Beds poor. Too small. Thin sheets annoying as they don't stay in place. Cover sheet is used as duvet (Why no proper duvet?) You could also hear every movement when the other members of the family were moving due to the mattress material. I have to say they are the worst beds I have ever had at a hotel.
Thin walls - I was woken up by cleaners doinh their duties in other rooms at 8:30 in the morning.
Pool area pleaseant and washed down every night.
Drinks at the pool: Why they don't just have one queue at the pool for both full and paying guests when only one person serving is baffling. They have created a rod for their own back by treating half and full borad differently (Creates a bit of 'us and them' between guests too).
Hotel staff - some very friendly, others had a bit of an attitude and not willing to help.
Inner courtyard was dark and dingy with no sunshine entering during the day.
No room service.
No kettle unless you wanted to pay for it (3 to 4 euro per day)
No sea view for family size rooms (Or so we were told).
Cafe at the front of the hotel is very pleasant.
Indoor pool appeared to be clean.
Genrally the place had more of a holiday camp feel to it rather than a hotel. Would rate at 2 to 3 star.
Generally dissapointed with Malta ... OK if you like visitting churches. Roads very poor and signage poor. St Pauls Bay is a mess. Gozo much nicer (Less built up and more scenic).
Good job the weather was good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

First room given was damp and not clean. We requested a change and the next one was a bit better. Bathroom was like a shoe box and not what was shown on internet. Even in 1 star hotels you get tea and coffee facilities in your room free but not here you had to hire them. We were on bed and breakfast and was not too bad. Will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCrumlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We had a very good 2 week holiday at the Qawra Palace. The hotel is in a superb position overlooking the bay and just a short walk to Bugibba and transport to anywhere on the island. Our bedroom was kept clean, towels changed everyday, sheets every 2nd day. The buffet served good food with lots of choices. If you want fish & chips etc, stay at home, this is a foreign country dear. We are sick of Brits abroad whining about the food. There is a nice coffee shop. John & Heather an English couple, run the entertainment side and work hard, something for everybody, morning, afternoon and evening. There is a large ballroom with live music for dancing and a nightclub.
There is a large pool area with ample sunloungers which is swept and hosed down every evening, plus an indoor heated pool. We had an enjoyable sunny holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beesting1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Furnishings nothing like pictures on website.
We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor looking out to the street but, at pavement level.The room smelt, the floor was in terrible condition,the bedding and curtains were disgraceful, lighting was poor and the bathroom shocking. My initial impression was 2 star rather than 4star. We immediately returned to reception and requested another room. We were then sent to the 6th floor with a street view again (but at least it got the sun) , and it was as if we had entered a different Hotel. However I would still only class it as 3 star.
We opted for fully-inclusive and the food was good whether we opted for lunch or dinner.However we still had to queue for tea and coffee as this did not entitle us to facilities in the room. Food from the bar was limited to sandwiches, crisps and a single type of icecream. Service outside consisted of 2 queues, 1 for cash 1 for fully-inclusive, with only 1 member of staff priority was given to those paying. If fully inclisive is paid in advance why should they be treated as 2nd rate customers?
The pool area was good but I only noticed them cleaning the area on the 7th day and never saw the astro turf swept .Rubbish (windblown or left by customers) remained there all week. Sunbeds were free but mattresses and towels had to be paid for.
The Lounge area had no 'relaxing' furniture just tables and chairs with 2 TV's constantly on.The Reception area had better furniture but gaming machines rattling out.
Whatever they could charge extra for they did!! including TV remote controls, Tennis courts etc etc.
The position of the Hotel is excellent but they need to improve so much to maintain 4star grading.
The holiday was excellent but only because of the weather, the group I was with and the group organiser doing an excellent job.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsSharexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing